We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot in Siena”
Review of Palazzo Masi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Palazzo Masi
Ranked #57 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect spot in Siena”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Daniela and Alizzardo are wonderful hosts of this old family home and go the extra mile to make you feel welcome. Our room was quite large and very comfortable. Just a 2 minute walk to Il Campo you are staying in the heart of Siena, the location is perfect. Daniela was also very helpful in recommending a neighborhood restaurant just down the street that was fantastic for dinner. We loved our time in Siena and can't wait to go back, we would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    37
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mount, NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Located on the second and third floors of a private building, this hotel/B&B is well situated, only a two-minute walk from Il Campo. The room was large and comfortable and the host Alizzardo was very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast however was not included in the price. We would stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank msoz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roveredo in Piano, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

What a great experience! Great location (if you are ok with the party atmosphere :) ! Daniela and Alizzandro are just fantastic hosts. They got us oriented and really helped us get into the festivities of Le Palio. Siena truly comes to life during that time and Palazzo Masi in it all. -- WARNING if you want a quiet place during Le Palio this is not it. -- The Sienese really party hard until early hours in the morning (we loved it). The room we had a view to the street where active parades take place thru the day. I am sure it is a lot quieter during other times of the year. We spend 4 days here and never needed the car. The room was spacious and well appointed with antique furniture. We were initially concerned about the place not having a/c but these medieval structures proved to confortable even in the middle of the summer. Just make sure you follow Daniela's instructions on how to keep the rm cool. All and all Siena is a great place to visit and Palazzo Masi a great way to get into the experience. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Lower rms are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed in the La Staffa (Superior) room at Palazzo Masi for three nights in June 2013. We found the hosts, Daniela and Alizzardo very friendly. Upon arrival we enjoyed a welcome drink of Vin Santo with biscuits and Daniela even carried one of our suit cases up the stairs! As they mention on their website, they try to make you feel like a Sienese and not just a tourist.

The building has a lot of family history, with plenty of original furniture and items that belonged to the family for a long time. It made us feel like we had been welcomed into their home.

Another big plus is the proximity to the Campo - literally just around the corner.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable, the only draw back being that their is no air conditioning, so we needed to keep the window open at night to cool the room down. This meant that we got a bit of noise from the street keeping us awake. The room could probably also do with a safe to keep passports etc.

Room Tip: We can only recommend the La Staffa room which was a superior room with an ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al_riddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The Palazzo Masi is in a perfect location for Siena - just a block from Il Campo Square. Room was very nice and clean. Most of all, we loved Daniela. She was so bubbly and warm. Plus, she was very helpful in arranging a wine tour, taxis, restaurant recommendations, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel was the last stop on our Italian honeymoon. Siena was a great city filled with wonderful people. Daniela and her husband were the best hosts! They greeted us with some "saint's wine" and biscotti when we arrived. They also had breakfast available for an additional fee, but we chose to go on our own. Daniela was more than happy to address any questions we had about Siena. She told us about a local restaurant (Il gallo parlante vinaio)(amazing) that served local dishes and even helped me with some Italian tipping advice. Stay at this B&B!

Room Tip: We got the superior room that had its own bathroom. Only downside was that the restroom was down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kashot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We just spent two nights at Palazzo Masi. There are so many positives about this facility! Very good location, nice comfortable bed...but there are a few things which would have made our stay so much nicer. You must know, this is not a B&B. There is no coffee or pot for hot water. There is only one small water glass located in the shared bathroom. My husband was nice enough to let me use the glass and he (believe it or not) drank wine straight from the bottle. A few (even plastic) glasses would have been so welcome. The shower was nice, but the towels were worse than sandpaper. Also, know that you are sharing a bath with 2 other rooms. Not fun to have the knock at the bathroom door, we won't do the shared bath again. Siena is beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.0 mi away
Al Mercato B&B
Al Mercato B&B
#23 of 120 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Campane B&B
Le Campane B&B
#111 of 120 in Siena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Il Battistero Siena
Il Battistero Siena
#10 of 120 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casacenti
Casacenti
#7 of 120 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Il Corso
B&B Il Corso
#4 of 120 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.2 mi away
I Terzi di Siena
I Terzi di Siena
#63 of 120 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Masi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Masi

Property: Palazzo Masi
Address: Localita Casato di Sotto 29, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Palazzo Masi 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medieval building completely restored in Siena's heart, adjacent to the Piazza del Campo and very close to the Duomo. Two different kinds of rooms, superior and standard, all equipped with antique furniture and modern amenities, in an historical building surrounded by the most important attractions in Siena, guested by a real sienese couple happy in sharing tips and things to do with guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Masi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Masi Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing