We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, breakfast, and attention to details”
Review of Campo Regio Relais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campo Regio Relais
Ranked #12 of 120 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, breakfast, and attention to details”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a great hotel! Very small... but it is quiet, perfectly located within the walls of Siena and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The breakfast was amazing - especially the pink grapefruit juice. Bed was great and the shower was the largest one that we had on our trip to Italy. Based on what our friends were paying at the Intercontinental we were more than pleased. If we ever go back to Siena we will stay here again!!

Room Tip: I understand that the rooms are similar. We stayed in room 4. There is an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    20
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
166
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I never felt so disappointed with hotel accommodation as I did when I stayed at Campo Regio Relais in Siena for 2 days in late September 2011. My expectations about the hotel were so high, to find out that it was nothing like the pitures you see in the internet.

The room I stayed in was one supposedly one of the best in the hotel. At Eur400 a night you expect nothing but the best but it was not to be. The room was right on top of a restaurant which made it far too noisy to try and sleep at night. The only good thing about the hotel is the view from the breakfast room. My room had a view of the duomo, but if you cannot open the window or shutter because of the noise, what's the point of paying for a view.

Siena, is beautiful and I hope to revisit it again but certainly not staying at Campo Regio Relais. A big thank you to Marie Louise, Dennis and the lady from Sri Lanka (sorry I forgot the name) they were all most helpful.

Room Tip: I was in Room 6, try and prevent staying in that room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiara64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We were lucky enough to stay for 7 nights and it was the most wonderful hotel. Not because it is very grand or the last word in chic, it was the incredible service and the attention to detail. The hotel itself is small and very old, set within the Walls. Our bedroom (number 2) was delightful, well planned and presented with lovely linen and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was on the Terrace each morning overlooking the rooftops and Duomo. The tables had lovely linen and china teacups etc and the food was excellent and varied.
But, as stated by other reviewers, what makes it SO special is the attitude, the willingness and the pleasantness of the staff. Dennis was wonderful but so was Maria Luisa and the wonderful housekeeper, Sha. It was like a family and the guests who came and went were welcomed in to share their lovely place. What joy!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great views fro balcony and room, excellent breakfast room with outside balcony, wonderful location and good decor.

For a 2-3 day stay it could not be better.

Dennis was very helpful and pleasant.

Very romantic setting.

Room Tip: Room with balcony looking at church, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glassopwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Our time in Siena here was magical due in part to where we stayed. The hotel breakfast room and our room was wonderful with a stunning view of Siena. But nothing compared to the extraordinary service and attention to detail that Dennis provided us. He couldn't have been more gracious (we got lost and he got into our car with us to get us to the hotel front door), better in providing a guide of Siena for us on short notice (try 1/2 hr.), and in general attending to our needs. I don't know what Campo Regio Relais would do without him!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 651APfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

It would be very difficult not to enjoy a stay at the Campo Regio, unless perhaps you were mislead as to the type of place it represents. This is an upscale lodging, more of a "bed/breakfast" than a hotel, but with hotel touches such as friendly and helpful staff. Some of the rooms (ours included) have a stunning view of the incredible Duomo in Siena. Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace or just inside, and offers a wide variety of options typical for a European breakfast. Please note that the hotel is not in a busy nightlife area or anything like that, making it very quiet and relaxing. Free internet worked well. Enjoy your visit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drkunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is the perfect hotel for adults visiting Sienna. There are six quiet rooms in the hotel and its location is fantastic. The breakfast food was fantastic but the view from the balcony where we ate it was breathtaking. We enjoyed a late afternoon bottle of wine on that balcony as well. Dennis who I assume was the manager, was the most eager to please gentlemen I have ever met. He was constantly at the ready to improve our stay in any way he could. His suggestions for sights and restaurants was spot on and as was his sincerity and kind manner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
0.4 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Relais degli Angeli
Relais degli Angeli
#7 of 40 in Siena
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campo Regio Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campo Regio Relais

Property: Campo Regio Relais
Address: Via della Sapienza 25, 53100, Siena, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 120 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Campo Regio Relais 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campo Regio Relais is a historic hotel in a building called Bastone del Pappagallo (16th Century), located in one of the ancient buildings within the historical centre of Siena. It can be found on Via della Sapienza, one of the main streets of medieval Siena, hosting both the University of Siena and the Academy of the Intronati. Its distinction is that it opens up to one of the most breathtaking views of the city in which the windows and the terraces reflect the ambient surroundings. The central position of the Relais allows guests to easily reach the most important monuments of the city; the main square, Piazza del Campo, the Duomo, and the museums that house the masterpieces of Siennese art. Campo Regio Relais is also perfect as a base from which you can discover the medieval towns and villages that surround Siena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Campo Regio Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campo Regio Relais Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing