We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Alex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alex
Ranked #101 of 121 Siena B&B and Inns
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have just returned from a terrific week long stay in Siena, where we stayed at Hotel Alex. As highlighted by other reviewers the hotel is just outside the city walls near Porta Pispina, no more than a 10 minute wall into the city centre. Our room was kept really clean, with clean sheets & towels every day. A good continental breakfast is offered & wonderful fresh coffee. Through this review I also wanted to highlight how lovely the people are who run this small hotel. They couldn't have been more helpful. Special mention goes to Sara, the receptionist, who was simply brilliant! The only things that have stopped me giving this a 5 star rating is that wifi isn't freely available & there were no tea/coffee making facilities available in the room. That said, would we return? Absolutely!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an-old-pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    38
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
25
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

great location just outside the walls of Siena. Best breakfast with fresh, well made cappucino and hot "cornettos". Luck of the draw with room size. Best, biggest rooms upstairs near reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolcunningham35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Nice hotel, nice people. We liked the patio with a good view of Tuscan countryside where you can sit, drink wine and enjoy Siena. Also like the garage parking since parking around Siana is a huge pain. Finally, the breakfast was better than most B&Bs.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valorentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
031397
Level Contributor
261 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We were a family of 4. The room was large and the a/c worked well. The room was spotless. The breakfast included was good. We were happy to be able to park our car in a secure parking lot under the hotel. There are many stairs to the hotel and it is outside the walls of Siena. It is a good value hotel for 4. It's a basic 2-3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpocampo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

great Value and location just outside the city wall of Siena. Car park beneath the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Hotel Alex isn't particularly personal, but offers very good value for money with clean and spacious rooms, very good location and nice staff (although not all of them speak very good English). The breakfast is ok _by Italian standards_.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik_hki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Czech republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Good location, own garage in the basement with a "bit complicated entry" and navigation.
Rooms spatious, clean ... not really charming but ...
Breakfast not really special but OK.
Staff helpful, some speak English, some really do not.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonzaCi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Giardino
Hotel Il Giardino
#24 of 40 in Siena
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Porta Romana Hotel
Porta Romana Hotel
#21 of 40 in Siena
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
747 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#17 of 40 in Siena
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alex

Property: Hotel Alex
Address: Via Girolamo Gigli 5, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 121 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alex 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing