We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Ranked #27 of 122 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel provides you with a unique Italian experience staying in what originally was a monastry. Our room was very large with a large bathroom and we only booked the cheapest room available!! So we were pleasantly surprised :) Our window view also looked out towards some of Siena together with the Tuscan countryside! Staff were fantastic, they could not be more friendly and helpful. We also used their parking facility which was easy to locate and enter and exit during our stay. Breakfast was very good in Italian standards - toast, cheeses, cold meats, crossaints, cereal, fruit, spreads, juice, tea and any coffee you like. Also, the location could not be better - you are 5 minutes walk to the main street, but you leave the hustle and bustle behind you when you return to this hotel at the end of your day, meaning peace and quiet! We would most definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    195
    94
    43
    19
See reviews for
86
310
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I agree with the other reviewers. Nice, quiet,clean and spacious rooms. Close to the downtown and great views of the Tuscan hills. Breakfast was good, not extensive but adequate. Too bad they don't take advantage of the lovely little courtyard at reception. It would make a great little spot for a morning coffee or an afternoon drink. Several great little restaurants close by.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

As a former monastery," il chiostro del carmine" offered an perfect spot in Tuscany to spend Easter 2011 relaxing, and quieting down. Typical italian atmosphere with everything in this beautiful ancient city within walking distance, churches, reataurants, beautiful views to narrow streets and ancient houses. Really spectacular.
We, two adult couples, spent few days in this hotel, and enjoyed, all the rooms were different, the history of the old monastery was still preserved, you could still almost feel the devotedness of people staying there in those old buildings when you listened the bells still calling people to prayer. So atmosphere, not modern technology or facilities are the attractions of this hotel in addition to very friendly personnel always ready to help. The bathrooms were clean and had modern Italian equipment. Additionally, breakfast was very good and was included in quite reasonable room price.
If You can take car parking on a too tiny yard only possible with help of other people as an adventure, or experience, this hotel is just for You. If You are disabled,wouldn't recoommend. If You are looking for a Hilton, go there....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finlandese49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

The hotel is part of an old Carmelite monastery set just within the city walls.The location is superb just minutes walk from The Duoumo and the Campo yet quiet and peaceful.Our room had view of Tuscan hills in the distance and was quite a decent size with high beamed ceiling.It was spotlessly clean,comfortable bed with crisp white linen.New marble tiled bathroom with powerful shower.Breakfast was very good.Usual continental style -bread,jams,,meat,cheese,yogurts,fresh fruit ,cereals,plus fresh Italian sweet pastries.Tables are attractively set in the old quad and cloisters.An appropriate setting from which to begin your exploration of an amazingly beautiful city.Friendly helpful staff made our stay very enjoyable.Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicoutimi, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We loved the room, spacious and clean. The staff is really helpful, the atmosphere is quiet and the building is really beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georges_Payne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

From the moment you enter the hotel property it will take your breath away. From the inner courtyard and bell tower; to the grand marble stairs and views overlooking Tuscany...you'll be amazed. We were so glad we booked this hotel for celebrating our 30th anniversary. The bathroom was very large and modern; a delightful surprise. The location of the hotel was perfect; only a 5min. walk to the Duomo and the centre of Siena. The breakfast was very good and the staff were very professional and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlovingit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have just read other reviews, and I believe that the complaints about the staff have helped the management retool. We arrived to a charming young man, who ran with my husband around the corner to show him the private parking space which we paid an extra 6 or 7 euros, and worth every penny. Then this same young man told us we were fortunate to get the splendid "room with a view", and a view it had, of the Tuscan countryside, just outside of the old wall of Siena.

Yes, the walls are thin. We kept our voices down out of consideration, and were not bothered by others. We were there the week before the Palio and there was much hoopla in the streets. But with the AC running, the windows closed, and the fact that we were always exhausted from our daily escapades, we had no trouble getting to sleep.

The breakfast must have changed as well. There was always a big bowl of fresh fruit, ham, salami and cheese, wonderful warm regular, almond and chocolate croissants, and a young wait staff person to make individual cappucinos, as many as we wanted.

We had a great time. We were told how to go everywhere in town, given terrific restaurant suggestions, and were treated extremely well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karmanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#4 of 122 in Siena
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Piazza Paradiso Accomodation
0.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Property: Il Chiostro del Carmine
Address: Via della Diana 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 122 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing