We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, beautiful building” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Chiostro del Carmine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Ranked #25 of 119 Siena B&B and Inns
hull
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great location, beautiful building”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed here as a couple for 4 nights in April. The location is great for exploring Siena and is within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. The building and courtyard are beautiful. The rooms are all different and ours was a good size and very quaint. We slept well each night and the shutters kept out all the light. There is a complementary "mini bar" with water and coke in the room and also free use of a safety deposit box. The wi fi signal was good in our room and easy to connect to with no need for a password. The breakfast was lovely and there is amazing views over the Tuscan countryside. Cannot think of anything bad to say about the place the staff were very friendly and helpful too. This place is however not for people who like modern style rooms as everything is in keeping with the rest of the building.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saira2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    188
    92
    41
    18
See reviews for
82
301
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

My wife and I spent a week at this hotel in early March and found it to be a perfect base for our exploration of both Siena and the surrounding Tuscan countryside. It is a converted monastery with a nice courtyard, good-sized rooms, and a tasty complimentary breakfast served each day in an attractive room on the ground level with great views of the hills nearby. We found the hotel staff to be particularly helpful with our questions, issues, and needs. In particular, Victoria was very knowledgeable of the region and helped us arrange several activities which greatly enhanced our vacation experience. Wi-Fi was free and reliable. There were two parking areas for a reasonable daily rate. The location is convenient for walking to Piazza del Campo and the Duomo. Their website images accurately reflect the hotel's upkeep & decor. All things considered, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the ground level, they seem to be larger and have a strong Wi-Fi signal. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in March and were glad we did. There was a small gated parking lot for an additional price just around the corner and the hotel was convenient to good restaurants and the Piazza del Campo.

The restoration of the convent in the public areas is lovely and we thought the rooms were fine. If people are talking in the hallway, you can hear them, but luckily that only happened once. Our room had a small terrace (too cold to use) and breakfast in the courtyard would be lovely in nice weather.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Not the first time in Siena; when compared with the other hotels I' been, just average... Too cold-hearted, specially considering its historical aspect.
Most of the rooms are upstairs and there are no elevators, just a lifter; annoying.
Go for Palazzo Ravizza, excelent!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neurologista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

I just loved there!
This hotel is kind of a charming place.
The local was an old convent, and this also makes the place special.
They have a lovely decoration and rooms are very clean.
Localization is very good! It's close to good restaurants and the touristics points.
It's not a luxury hotel, how you can imagine looking the price. Price, by the way, is quite fair! Perfct!
Rooms can have a beautiful view! I stayed at the second floor, and I could see a part of the city and the montain. Stunning!
They also have a tasty breakfast, free wifi and a paying parking, which is necessary, because you can't drive or park in the city if you don't live there.
Staff is very, very kind and helpfull!
That was a nice surprise!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dri_turista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of last July when we celebrated our 10 year anniversary and I was 8 months pregnant. For this reason we wanted to stay central so that when needed we could take a break and head back to rest and this fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel is in a converted cloister with great character in a quiet neighborhood (contrada of the snail). The stairs were tiring but all the walking I did in Siena also likely contributed to that. The double room located on the first floor was on the small side and faced a small parking area, not the main courtyard. There was a closet and place to put our suitcase right behind the door (underneath was a small fridge where I kept some water and fruit). The bathroom had everything you needed, although space in front of the toilet was limited for anyone with long femurs (see picture). We made use of the excellent A/C they had. Definitely think depending on the type of room you have you'll get a different experience... the area we were in definitely seemed to belong to the small rooms you'd expect in a cloister (small spaces) - we weren't in the deluxe rooms for sure.

Staff was friendly at check in and check out, we saw very little of them since we didn't have to pass by the reception to get to the rooms. Breakfast was a buffet with a little bit of everything (savory and sweet) but since there was only one lady making coffee/serving warm beverages, some mornings there was a bit of a wait before we could "start" breakfast.

Overall, I'd recommend it as a good base from which to visit Siena, which I highly recommend staying in at least 1-2 nights. It was quieter in the evenings with less crowds, despite it being summer. Love Siena!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lourdes_Flores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed a week here, and were well satisfied. The location is great, just outside the main core of central Siena, in a quiet neigbourood (the Contrada of the Snail). There is genuine character to the hotel because of the building's history. The cloistered entrance area is attractive and must be really handy in summer. he staircase is grand but defintely hard work. The breakfast room has interesting frescoes and beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. Our room (no 12) was big and high but always warm despite freezing weather, the bed was large and comfortable, bathroom excellent - it soes seem to matter which room you get. Staff were quiet, friendly and efficient - fitting in with the generally subdued atmosphere of the hotel. As you do not go through reception to get the rooms and use a card key, you see little of the staff anyway. Wifi (from the lounge not the rooms) was straightforward. Altogether a good choice of hotel base for us. There are plenty of eating opportunities in Siena, but if you do not want to go far, the Due Archi trattoria, a few yards away from the hotel, is as good as any similar place we tried.

Room Tip: There are no bedrooms on the ground floor. Our room, 12, was on the first floor, and was fine. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#3 of 119 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Pantaneto Palazzo Bulgarini
0.4 mi away
Villa del Sole Siena
Villa del Sole Siena
#5 of 119 in Siena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Property: Il Chiostro del Carmine
Address: Via della Diana 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing