We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh Siena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Chiostro del Carmine
Ranked #24 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

l have just returned from a 3 night stay here and it was wonderful. The staff were fabulous and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room (number 15) was light and airy and it was handy to have the use of a fridge. The only downside was that I could hear people on the floor above walking about, which disturbed my sleep slightly.It also would have been nice if the hotel had a bar area, but they were quite happy for drinks to be purchased outside and brought in to consume in the courtyard area, even offering to uncork the wine if required! The location however was perfect, it was only 10 mins walk away from the main Piazza del Campo. The hotel was a super retreat and would definitely be on my list for when I return to Siena.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Il Chiostro del Carmine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed four nights here in March and were very pleased with our visit to this quaint hotel set in an old convent.
We had a decent sized room on the first floor with a settee and armchair as well as a super kingsized bed and TV. There were no coffee and tea making facilities so take a kettle ! There was a small fridge and a small supermarket just round the corner for some milk. The bathroom had a powerful shower and we managed to get the water under the bathroom door and into the vestibule but no harm was done ! The toilet was set strangely high on the wall but that was just a detail ! Our only problem with the room was the wi-fi ran slowly if at all on the i-pad - it worked very well in the reception lounge though so we just went there.
The staff were very helpful with maps and information and the courtyard must be lovely to sit out in when the weather is warmer.
Breakfast was taken in a room with a lovely view of the countryside and had a good choice of cold meats, cheese, bread, biscuits, cake, yogurt, cereal and fruit. A good jug of coffee was very welcome and there was tea or fruit juice too.
Siena is very pretty with an impressive duomo and campo. Get an all inclusive ticket to visit the cathedral complex and a climb to the top of the Torre del Mangia is worth it for the view! There are many places to eat - we liked the Osteria Baccon de Prete near the art gallery ( this is impressive too ) or one fifty feet from the Il Chiortro del Carmine - I think it translates as "Two Arches". Wander round the different contrades and spot the emblems everywhere - snails, eagles and tortoises and owls. Eat pici (thick spaghetti), wild boar and a thick vegetable soup called ribolita and finish with an ice cream.
A map is essential as is a decent pair of shoes for the steep twisting streets ! A visit to this charming hotel in this wonderful medieval city you will never forget.

Room Tip: There's no lift so choose a lower floor if you struggle to climb stairs. The rooms above the bre...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

No elevator, squeeking ceilings but this makes a unique place.

In a wing of an old church you can sleep and breathe the medieval charm of the city of Siena. Welcoming staff, 3 mins walking from the cathedral.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcomassarotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we find this hotel by chance after having a bad night in an other one. With a last minute offer, the value we obtained was much more than we paid. Nice rest and very good location for visiting this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

We came for one night as a Siena stop-off, en route from Rome to Florence. It was the unexpected highlight of our awesome trip. Chiostro retains the calm, airy feeling of peace from it's monastery days, even the staircases are beautiful. Opening the bedroom shutters to the sunrise over Tuscany is a memory I will keep forever, as it felt like heaven on earth, an absolute paradise, prompting us both to speculate about moving to Siena as soon as possible. And I think only £65 for one night. We stayed at posher places but none as beautiful as this. Reading other people's reviews about modernising, I think they have no heart, as it would ruin the history and beauty of this place, entirely. I hope they don't install a lift, don't modernise, don't listen to every trip advisor whinge. And Francesco, we hope to stay with you again someday, thank you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

It might not be everybody's idea of luxury, but the Chiostro del Carmine is a very pleasant place to stay. It has been renovated without loosing its cloister characteristics. It is like going bach in time. The adjoining church, accessible through the Chiostro, could not be visited because of works in progress, but still adds charm to the complex. The rooms are big but spartan, except for the bathroom which is modern with all amenities available.The staff are very helpful, forthcoming and professional. Breakfast is above average for Italy. The place is clean, tastefully decorated and well kept. The views from the room window was superb. There is no lift, as one would expect in such a historic structure, but there is a chair-lift for those who require it. The rooms are very well heated in the winter.
Essentially all important sites in Siena are within waling distance, and this is the method to use to tour this delightful city which presents new delightful picturesque views as one progresses a few steps.
We would strongly recommend both a visit to Siena (allocate at least three days to appreciate the attractions decently) and also staying at the Chiostro del Carmine. We would surely repeat the experience ourselves

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Fabulous stay in fantastic historical hotel in the heart of old Siena! We gave enjoined every minute spending here! We have beautiful big room with comfortable bed, nice bathroom and veiw. Breakfast was good; parking convenient. The staff was extremely friendly and helpfull. For us it was perfect location to enjoy Siena!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Innochek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duomo
Hotel Duomo
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#3 of 40 in Siena
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#16 of 40 in Siena
1,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chiusarelli
Hotel Chiusarelli
#15 of 40 in Siena
1,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Chiostro del Carmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Chiostro del Carmine

Address: Via della Diana 4, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £52 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Chiostro del Carmine 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Il Chiostro del Carmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Chiostro Del Carmine Residence Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing