We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit shambolic - but just about ok if you have no choice.”
Review of Casa Laura

Casa Laura
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Laura
Ranked #68 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 October 2009

we also booked through the tourist office - so we didnt know what we were letting ourselves in for. The older woman booked us in (the mother?) who didnt speak any english so couldnt explain anything, so we didnt know where things were, what was included, if we could use the kitchen (we did - for tea/coffee - though probably shouldnt).
She scanned my credit card into the reader and obviously didnt know how to work it. She tried to get me to key in my PIN when the machine wasnt asking for it. (and had to cancel the transaction - the lord knows what will appear on my statement)

It wasnt explained that there was no breakfast. and heres the biggie.
DO NOT TRY TO SLEEP IN THE FRONT ROOM.
Every scooter in siena passes by under the window between 6.30 and 9.00. (and there are thousands) Its terrible. Tried earplugs on 2nd night but why should we have to.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amassa_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2009

My wife and I absolutely loved Casa Laura. We arrived in Siena without a reservation and couldn't find anywhere to stay. Luckily there was room here. The owner's mother (who doesn't speak English) showed us to our room - a big room even by American standards. It was clean and we liked it, although there were no "fancy" touches.

The next morning we met Laura and she was about the nicest person we have met on our travels. She really helped us with recommendations - Laura even phoned a friend to arrange a couple of special events for us. We liked her so much that we send her Christmas cards every year!

Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
Thank politicsandfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

We were gently received by the owner's mother in this "Miniresidence" that consists of a very centrally located historical building which is shared between the hotel and family apartments.

Unfortunately everything is a bit too informal, the cleaning only focused on making the beds, the bathrroms was never clean before or during our stay and reservations were merely verbal. On the other hands rooms were cheap and spacious which probably makes the "Laura" a good choice maybe just for groups on a budget. They however showed us a small apartment with kitchen that looked better that cost only a little bit more than the double rooms which I thought would be nice for a family or small group.

This eventually be a good place to stay but it first needs some serious, extensive changes.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NunoOliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

Casa Laura is a residence located at the Bencini family building, in the centre of Siena.

In this house, you'll find different rooms, with different conditions and prices. That means that this is one of those places where you don't know what kind of room you'll be getting, until you see it.

Our room was big, but it smelled like it hadn't been cleaned for a long time.
The bathroom had not been cleaned prior to our arrival and was not cleaned during our stay (2 nights), everything was just too dirty.
Our beds were made, but we can't understand why the bathroom wasn't cleaned and the towels changed.

You need to understand that this place is runned by the family, and is too informal in the way they treat their customers.
When we arrived we had to call someone to show us our room, because there was nobody there, and throughout our stay, we never encountered anybody from the management, which made it very difficult to ask for things like fresh towels and a clean bathroom.
Also, I think that the price is a bit high, considering the conditions and the fact that they don't serve breakfast (we knew about this before booking it).

The building is very well located, but I would find another place to better enjoy Siena.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chaverde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

This was our 4th time to stay in Laura's mini residence in Siena. As always, it is a great place in which to stay. It is so central for exploring beautiful Siena. Laura is such a lovely person, as is her Mother, Sgr Valentini. Even though our Italian is very poor, we had a great laugh with her trying to understand what she was saying. She is very entertaining and would cheer you up no end! The rooms are very spacious and spotlessly clean. The only disadavantage is, if you are a light sleeper, the rooms at the front of the house can be quite noisy with traffic. Ask for a room at the back of the house if you prefer a quieter night's sleep. The rooms at the back of the house don't have any view but my advice is: have a few glasses of vino rosso and you'll sleep no problem at the front of the house! After staying with Laura in Siena, we then moved out to her country residence: IL Canto del Sole. It is a fantastic place. See separate review!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaoWicklow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

Ths is a 500 or year old buidling that has been in this family for 150 years. The entrance was very intimidating as it was dark and damp with one dull bulb lit. The rail going upstairs was held together with packing tape....but that was the worst of it and the room was pristine. The one t hing that really threw me was the toilet, bidet and shower were in the ....shower. I know it sounds weird but I guess with this old building this is what they had to do. As we were staying only one night it didn't prove to be a problem, but it is something I think you need to be aware of.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mardock4432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,403 reviews
3 mi away
Borgo Villa Certano
Borgo Villa Certano
#1 of 3 in Costalpino
38 reviews
4.5 mi away
Affittacamere II Pozzo
Affittacamere II Pozzo
#1 of 1 in Isola d'Arbia
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Donzelle
Hotel Tre Donzelle
#27 of 40 in Siena
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
778 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Laura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Laura

Address: Via Roma 3, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £69 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Laura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing