We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Stay in a Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Elda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Elda
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Stay in a Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a lovely 9-day stay at Villa Elda in mid September. Interestingly, the building and interior is in the Art Nouveau style – in contrast to the prevailing medieval architecture of old Siena, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. We were very impressed by the level of comfort afforded by this small hotel and the hospitality extended by the owner - Elda, and her dedicated team, including Barbara and Erica. Our large room was located on the ground floor overlooking the garden, where we had continental breakfast most mornings accompanied by the friendly neighbourhood cat - Romina. We also recommend a visit to the roof terrace to appreciate the view of old Siena over a fine glass of Chianti wine.

We used Villa Elda as our base in Central Tuscany from which we drove into the Chianti Region, Montepulciano, Montalcino and parts of neighbouring Umbria – Cortona, Perugia etc. We definitely recommend Villa Elda if you intend to do something similar, as there is on-street car parking available in the vicinity of the hotel. Altogether, one of our best holidays and worthy of a top ranking amongst hotels in Siena.

Room Tip: Front ground floor room overlooking the garden is large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDrechsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    117
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
58
311
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We enjoyed a comfortable three night stay at the Villa Elda in early October. We asked for and received a lovely spacious second floor room with a view to the city centre and the Duomo. We paid just over $280 CAD a night but believe we received value for money. The room was clean, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. True there is no elevator and we did not see portering staff, but reasonably fit seniors can still manage the stairs. The Villa is in a fairly quiet suburb and within a easy ten to fifteen minute walk of the central city. It is an oasis from the otherwise bustling and crowded city. The breakfast room was on the small side but one can spill out to a lovely side garden on a nice day; unfortunately that experience may be ruined by smokers. Breakfasts were more than ample. Worth springing for a superior view room to hear the bells of Siena and watch sunrise and sunset on the Duomo.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor front view if it is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank activeseniorsKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakville
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We spent 2 nights here. The hotel is located just outside the walls We were told we had a panoramic view of the city for which we paid an additional 20 euros a night. The view from one window was pretty good but hardly panoramic. The second window looked out onto a bunch of parked cars and homes on a small street. Definitely not panoramic. The room was clean (although quite small) as was the hotel. The location was excellent. Having stayed in 5 different hotels during our 10 day trip through Tuscany we felt this was not good vaur for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank likestoeat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Perfect location, best for driver as you can find enough street parking near the place. A very short walk to the old town area; approximately 5 minutes to the old town boundary, 10 minutes to the main plaza. Room is very clean and nicely prepared. There’s no elevator, so if you’re staying at 3rd floor or above and have heavy luggage, you’ll gonna need some help:-). Also, the place is located in a very quiet and calm neighborhood, so you’ll meet a very peaceful morning here. Breakfast; well prepared with fresh ingredients. All staffs were kind and accommodating to our requests.

Highly recommended for your stay at Siena.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunhyuk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Villa Elda and were very pleased.
The hotel is located in a very quiet area about a 5 to 10 minute walk from Il Campo and about 3 to 5 minutes from the main bus station.
The hotel was immaculate as was the room and en-suite bathroom, all the bedding, towels etc were good quality and also like new. The room was a good size for our stay with plenty of storage and a personal safe.
The staff were all very helpful and thankfully, having very limited Italian, their English was more than adequate to make up for my shortfall!
The only downside we found to the hotel was that there was no lounge or terrace etc to relax in after a day exploring beautiful Siena or the surrounding countryside. There are a few chairs outside but they weren't suitable for the evening, although they were great for having a bit of lunch brought back from one of Siena's plentiful food shops.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2011

What a beautiful city, it exceeded our expectations in every way! Villa Elda was in a perfect location and only a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. My husband and I arrived in Siena by train from Rome and it was an easy, fast taxi ride from the station (~12 euros). Our room, #23, was on the second floor and was spacious, clean, had a lovely bathroom and a fabulous view of the Cathedral and surrounding countryside. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was fresh and delicious. We really couldn't have chosen a better location and would highly recommend this hotel! BTW if you go, visit the Antica Osteria da Divo restaurant recommended by the staff. It was amazing and very unique!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor, at the front have the best views of the city. Although our room was on the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowena Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We just came back from one of our best trips so far and really enjoyed our 7 nights at Villa Elda.

We had brought our own bicycles and Carlo was kind enough to pick us up at the bus station (which is not far btw) with a large car.

We were also able to leave the bicycles in the garden during the night - and to store the bulky luggage in the attic which was most convenient.

The location was perfect for us - a short walk from city center yet outside the walls so a bit quieter.

All the staff was helpful and responsive to our needs. The room was very comfortable with a great view on the Duomo. Breakfast and coffee were excellent and conveniently offered from 8:00 to 10:00am.

The day trips were nothing short of spectacular - with 4 days on the bike (about 375km in total) and 2 days on foot to visit Siena and Florence (90 min bus ride).

Thanks to Elda, Carlo and all the staff at Villa Elda for going the extra mile and making our stay so enjoyable !!

Philippe & Anne

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#12 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Elda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Elda

Property: Hotel Villa Elda
Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Elda 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful XIX century building has always belonged to the same family who manage it. Recently restored, Villa Elda has maintained its liberty style in every single detail whose colours, create a serene and comfortable atmosphere.. The hotel position permits a wide panoramic view on the old town centre. Either from the windows of many rooms, or from the magnificent attic terrace it is possible to enjoy a 360 degree scenery of the town and the surrounding country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Elda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Boutique Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing