We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our trip!”
Review of Hotel Villa Elda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Elda
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We booked a room with a panoramic view and we weren't disappointed. The church bells ringing added to the ambience of this lovely hotel. Breakfast in the garden was lovely - they make a great cappuccino! Take your GPS if you are driving as it was a bit tricky getting in and out of the immediate area.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

Lovely two night stay in this very comfortable, clean, friendly hotel. Wonderful views from some of the rooms and the terrace. Perfectly placed in a residential neighbourhood close to Fortezza but with nearby parking. It could have been difficult to find without satnav! Excellent breakfast and although the price is a little high, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The Villa Elda was a quiet, elegant hotel about a 10 minute walk to the center of Siena. Parking was not a problem, we just used the public parking until the day tourists were leaving and moved our car on the road next to the hotel. We booked a room with a view of Siena. The room was a good size and very welcoming. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy, we actually had eggs!!! It was served in a lovely garden area. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the rooftop terrace, it had great views of Siena and the countryside. The service was wonderful.
Siena is a lovely town. The Piazza de Campo was a beautiful piazza, probably the best of our trip. We were lucky enough to enjoy a barbeque hosted by one of the seventeen wards (contrada). We were made to feel very welcome there, ordering food was quite a comical experience. It was a great time!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indtraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

This place was really good. We had one of the garden rooms which was big, comfortable and good value.

The location was great for us, 10 mins walk to the centre, although not ideal if you want to be on top of everything.

The only slight negative was the 10€ each for breakfast, which was ok rather than good.

I would definitely stay there again if I were to go back to Siena.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn76M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I stayed at the Villa Elda for two nights with my wife and three children (ages 1, 11 and 23). We loved everything about this charming hotel. From the moment we arrived and were greeted warmly by the owner, we felt welcome. Our room was ready early, the wonderful staff helped with our bags, and our rooms were spotless. The hotel was conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood, but just minutes away from the heart of the medieval city. We reserved a Junior Panoramic room with a view of the city of Siena (really worth it for adults) and our two older children stayed in regular "classic" room. Both rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were large by Italy standards and had nice shampoos and soaps. The mini-bar was well stocked. A lovely breakfast is served outside in a garden courtyard. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay in Siena. Don't miss this gem!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We loved Villa Elda both for the hotel itself and the staff. We had a beautiful room (12) with a fantastic view of the city and a small balcony. My parents could have had the room next door (11) with an equal view but did not want to climb the stairs so chose to stay in the garden room instead. The garden room is outside of the main building and has a traditional a/c. It was like the garden was an extension of their room. The rooms have free wifi and an excellent signal. The non-traditional a/c inside threw us at first as we were hot from our train journey and did not feel cold air blowing on us, but we soon learned that the room was always cool, even in the heat of August. I think it's just that we're used to having air blowing on us and their system isn't like that. Giorgia, Stephanie and Cinzia made sure our stay was special. They recommended some great restaurants a short walk away. Giorgia arranged for us to go on a wine tour and she was able to help us hire a car and driver (from Enjoy Tuscany-Tomas was great!) to take us to a town in Chianti where we wanted to have dinner. Breakfast is served in the garden and Giorgia makes the best cappucino! We also bought our own food at the market and had our lunches in the garden where Giorgia happily lent us silverware and dishes. The garden is shady and stayed very cool in the summer heat. There's even a neighboring cat that visits and was very friendly. Giorgia's little dog Dina greeets guests inside and keeps an eye on things. The location of the hotel is residential but the stores and restaurants are just a short stroll away. The bus station is a 5 minute walk. It probably took us 15 minutes to get to the campo but we went different ways each time and often stopped at stores or for gelato. We can't wait to return to Siena and Villa Elda!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Villa Elda is a nice hotel, and the 'panoramic' rooms have a wonderful view of Siena. The service is excellent and friendly, and breakfast in the garden is a treat.
The room was not bad, but not as comfortable as we could have wished for the price. For airconditioning they have a system which cools the floors; it works but not enough in the summer heat in Tuscany. The hotel knows that and has added arconditioning machines, which are very noisy and one night ours broke down and started leaking a lot of water.
According to their website the hotel is ' situated a few steps from the Piazza del Campo', but in reality it takes about 20-25 minutes to walk there if your are not an athlete. On the other hand, if you are any closer to the Piazza you can't reach your hotel by car; Villa Elda is just outside the no-traffic-zone and there is ample free parking in the street.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NetherlandsSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
773 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#18 of 40 in Siena
1,401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Elda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Elda

Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range: £89 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Elda 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful XIX century building has always belonged to the same family who manage it. Recently restored, Villa Elda has maintained its liberty style in every single detail whose colours, create a serene and comfortable atmosphere.. The hotel position permits a wide panoramic view on the old town centre. Either from the windows of many rooms, or from the magnificent attic terrace it is possible to enjoy a 360 degree scenery of the town and the surrounding country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa Elda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Boutique Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing