We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in my trip to Italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Elda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Elda
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best stay in my trip to Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

Great place, great staff, great location. Short walk to historic center. Nice and comfy rooms with good bathroom. Nice decoration and beautiful in every detail. Erica was amazing to us, giving us good advice about Siena, always with a smile on her face. Good breakfast too. I must say the the price was higher than we were willing to pay, but it was worth the price. Actually in gerenal hotels in Siena are much more expensive compared to other places we visited. Quiet place and nice neighborhood. It was a real previlegde to find them with one last room available because he had not booked in advance. The room was not big but I got the last one available.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicardoJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    115
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
57
307
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I spent a weekend night at Villa Elda and would recommend this to anyone traveling to Siena who is looking to stay near the action but not in it and wants a truly personal experience. Elda and her staff really went to all lengths to make sure I was well-oriented to the city, comfortable with my room and had any questions answered. They were also great to talk with. And my room! I lucked out and had a room facing the city -- stunning at dusk. Also noteworthy: I've never seen such a clean bathroom and room, or such crisp sheets. It really was a treat. Villa Elda is a really nice 5-10 min. walk to major highlights, so it's close without being in the center, which I heard can get louder at night on the weekends. It's also great for anyone traveling by themselves. Villa Elda is one of the more expensive hotels in the area, but after staying there, I can see why. It's a true find.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

The Villa Elda is a small hotel in a residential area just a short walk from the city walls. First impressions were good; when we arrived the front door was wide open, and inviting us into a fresh, bright, sunlit entrance hall with an elegant black and white chequer floor and plenty of leaflets/local information etc. plus a very friendly receptionist.

The bedrooms are bright, airy, unfussy in style and beautifully clean. The beds are large and comfortable, the en-suites well-fitted with shower and bidet (but no bath) and with a wall-mounted hairdryer, again all scrupulously clean.

There are wooden shutters at the windows to keep out the sun and prevent the room from over-heating, and when open reveal wonderful views of the beautiful city of Siena.

There is local on-street parking at 1.60 euros/hour and we had no difficulty in finding a space nearby.

The reception staff were charming, friendly, efficient and helpful and had good local knowledge.

Breakfast - a limited but fresh selection of food - was served in the lovely little garden, but could be taken in the small ground floor dining area if preferred. The only negative comments I can make about this hotel is that the coffee was rather bitter/stewed.

The hotel is fantastic value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone who could manage the stairs (there is no lift).

Do make sure to take the opportunity to have dinner at Osteria Divo (I'd recommend booking in advance via their website) where we had what we all agreed to be the best meal we have ever had in Italy. It certainly deserves the reputation that it has gained on TA, and I can't begin to describe how good the lasagne is!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We had two wonderful days at this lovely hotel. Five minutes walking to the center, this house have a quiet neighborhood, and a rooftop with a nice view. The two lovely front desks, Erica and Veronica help us in everything we needed, including the local to park the car in the street. We are from Brazil and spent 17 days in Italy and they have for sure the best croissant we taste. Ride a bike in the morning was a very nice idea.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvanasylvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

We love this hotel property; the villa was nicely manicured and well located just outside the town walls. Rooms were large and well equipped with modern amenities. What made the stay special was the service and advice from the two receptionists: Veronica and Erica. Both went out of their way to accommodate our needs and answer our questions.
The only cons are you must be lucky with street parking, and there is no lift.
When in Siena, don't miss dining at Da Mugulone, the best restaurant (we ordered a huge Florentine Steak) in all of Italy, and great value too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjoobn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

Villa Elda is a great place to stay! With a charming outdoor area, beautiful terrace views, and extremely helpful and friendly staff, my husband and I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay in Siena. It's just outside the city walls and a short stroll to any place within. Thanks for your contribution to a wonderful experience and memory of Siena!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teametwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

My parents and I stayed at this hotel for one night on our way from Florence to Rome with a day trip in Siena. It was a lovely hotel with a welcoming staff who did all they could to make sure we had a pleasant stay, even carrying our three suitcases up the 3 flights of stairs for us! The breakfast was really good and the location is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Ravizza
Palazzo Ravizza
#4 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#11 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Elda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Elda

Property: Hotel Villa Elda
Address: Via Ventiquattro Maggio 10, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Siena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Elda 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful XIX century building has always belonged to the same family who manage it. Recently restored, Villa Elda has maintained its liberty style in every single detail whose colours, create a serene and comfortable atmosphere.. The hotel position permits a wide panoramic view on the old town centre. Either from the windows of many rooms, or from the magnificent attic terrace it is possible to enjoy a 360 degree scenery of the town and the surrounding country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Elda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Hotel Siena
Elda Boutique Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing