We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5-Star Experience!”
Review of B&B Gli Archi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Gli Archi
Ranked #21 of 125 Siena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Recently, we spent 5 nights at the B&B Gli Archi. Sylvia & her staff hosted us at this special Tuscan gem situated just outside the city center. We chose Gli Archi because we were renting a car in Sienna & needed parking that provided secure overnight parking. Upon arrival, Silvia who speaks excellent English, oriented us about how to use the nearby bus, provided a written schedule & bus tickets were available from her, & a good map identifies close-by restaurants and shopping. We stayed in the apartment that gave us flexibility to eat in if we wanted. The first night we picked up local food specialties at the nearby Coop market & tried the family-made red wine for an excellent “eat in” meal. The views from the B&B are the picturesque hill sides around Sienna. The historic center of the city was easily accessible. We were able to easily get to the main auto routes around the city for trips to surrounding wine areas. The breakfast buffet is excellent with various expresso coffees freshly made-to-order-we had cafe latte & cappuccino each morning. There are fresh baked goods, several kinds of local meats, hard boiled eggs, & cereal available on the breakfast buffet. We would stay here again & will recommend to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thanks Paul so much for your wonderful review, it was really a pleasure for us to meet you and welcome.
Best regards from Silvia and Marinella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for B&B Gli Archi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at Gli Archi. It is a perfect base to visit Siena from if you are driving, as parking is safe, gated and free. A five minute drive would take you to the historical centre of Siena. Yet the B&B is unique in that it overlooks the countryside, the vineyard and the rolling hills. As the night was clear, we walked slightly away from the property towards the vineyard and looked up at the stars.

We had the attic room, which was spacious, clean and had a very comfortable bed. The breakfast buffet spread had every thing you could ask for - eggs, hams, croissants, juices, yoghurt and so on. The house wine is also very good, and is a must-try. Silvia was a wonderful and enthusiastic host who saw to our every need. We were charmed by her hospitality, and will definitely stay here when we return to Siena!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalaball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I am really so happy that you spent a nice stay here in my B & B.
This makes me very happy.
I hope to see you soon
Best regards Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I was there recently as part as a long trip around north and central Italy and simply love this place!!!. The views of the uncomparable Tuscan scenery are unbelievable... plus you are in the countryside but only 3 km from the old city!!!
We walk every day to the city for dinner . The place is very clean very well decorated and the service is extraordinary. Very few high stars hotels serve this breakfast with completely personalized service. Before living Italy we went back to this lovely place. Do not forget to visit this place if you plan to go to Tuscany. Plus Siena is the best pace in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Cecilia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Cecilia, it is with joy that I read your review, I'm really glad you had a very pleasant stay with us.Thanks so much for recommending to all foreign readers our B & B, is for us a beautiful advertising.
I hope that if you return to Italy come to visit us
Best regards Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Sylvia and Marinella, the owners, are wonderful hosts of this serene, lovely hotel. We couldn't have been more pleased with our recent stay. Yes, it is slightly outside of the walls of Siena, but we purposely selected this for a more quiet atmosphere to relax. This was just the place! Close enough that we walked to Siena every day, sometimes twice and never chose to take the bus. Beautiful setting with olive trees and grapevines adjacent to the hotel, just what one imagines in Tuscany. The breakfasts were incredible with a wide assortment to meet many tastes, plus their cappucinos were " Oh, SO good!". Our large room had a beautiful view onto the countyside and the common covered patio was ideal for sipping wine, writing a postcard home and completely relaxing. The bed was comfy, towels soft and the fan in our room was sufficient cooling for the warm September nights. It was a very lovely stay and the hosts and staff (Laura) were so kind to us. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting accommodations that aren't right in the heart of Siena, but want to enjoy the close proximity to the city, while basking in the beauty of the countryside. Thank you Sylvia and Marinella for such a WONDERFUL stay in Tuscany! We hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTLColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are really happy that you spent with us a wonderful holiday,this is really important for us.
Hope to see you soon
Greetings from Silvia, Marinella and all the staff (Laura e Valentina)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Beautiful hotel in a lovely area. We had problems getting there so were very late but Sylvia was very kind & waited for us. She was very friendly & helpful (even though she was probably exhausted!) and gave us a warm welcome. The room we stayed in was very nice & spotlessly clean. I have absolutely no complaint. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikstar1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

A big thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for me to expect you , I hope to see you again our guests.
Best regards
Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This was our first visit to Siena. Gli Archi was a delightful find. Sylvia and her staff made it very comfortable and pleasant. They were so helpful with all our needs. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Hello Marilyn,

thanks so much for the great review!we're glad you enjoyed your stay here and your first visit to Siena! It was a pleasure for us to help you out with all of your needs... we hope we were able to help you get around without getting too lost!Please come visit us again on your next trip in Tuscany!!

All the best,

Silvia, Marinella and Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed at B&B Gli Archi for one night.
The B&B wad easy to find (with directions) but the host offered to meet us at a point if we had difficulty finding it. The B&B is located just 5 minutes drive from the centre of Siena and parking is available at the town walls. A car would definately be of benefit if staying at the B&B. Parking is secure and plentiful.
The room was very large, clean and comfortable with a pretty view of the countryside. Some reviews have noted the noise but our room was to the front of the building and although there was traffic outside we had no difficulty with this.
The buffet breakfast was very good. An assortment of cakes, meat, cheese, and cereals were on offer and very pleantiful. Pasteries were fresh and delicious and there was also a variety of juices.
The host was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fragolina67, Proprietario at B&B Gli Archi, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Emma,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We always appreciate opinions which help us improve our job constantly and help us offer our guests a pleasant stay!
We hope to have you again as our welcomed guests.

Best regards,

Silvia and Marinella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#6 of 40 in Siena
3,305 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Borgo Grondaie
Borgo Grondaie
#4 of 125 in Siena
675 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bed & Breakfast Fonte dei Tufi
0.8 mi away
Villa Piccola Siena
Villa Piccola Siena
#115 of 125 in Siena
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Gli Archi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Gli Archi

Address: Strada del Petriccio E Belriguardo 98, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £61 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — B&B Gli Archi 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the B&B “Gli Archi” take you on a trip to Siena’s glorious past. The charming hotel has overlooking the beautiful rolling hills of Tuscany since the 18th Century, and you get to experience the ancient atmosphere for yourself.The hotel is located up high, so you can enjoy a great view of the surrounding countryside, and all the medieval treasures of Siena’s Old City are just minutes away. So whether you take your car, or whether you leave it in the hotel’s parking lot and take the bus that stops 100 meters from the hotel, you can explore all the Churches, piazzas, parks and palaces of this ancient city, as well as the surrounding vineyards of the picturesque Chianti region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your B&B Gli Archi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing