We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta Romana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Porta Romana Hotel
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very pleasant place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Very cozy place with a lovely vista and an easy walk to the heart of things. A very helpful and delightful staff. Priced right.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    145
    60
    17
    11
See reviews for
44
201
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
haarlem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

As many others report, this is a well-located hotel for getting out with a car into the Tuscan countryside. The walk to the old town is not a problem.
Staff are very helpful, especially with recommendations of restaurants where they eat out themselves. Clearly a family-run hotel which is nice in itself, but there is a tendency to become over-familiar at times.
Breakfast is reasonable in most respects. However, it is prepared in what was also described upon our arrival as "the bar for a drink". This area is also full of playthings for the quite charming grand-daugther of the family. There is no real kitchen to prepare even cold food!

We indeed had one of the widely-praised rooms with a view of the Tuscan countryside, although this was not spectacular by any means.
BUT, one pays for the quality of the room. In this regard this hotel has a negative price-quality ratio. The room itself was small and poorly equipped with regard to cupboards and shelving, etc. Worst of all was the very small bathroom in which one could not "swing a cat". The shower was an utter disgrace. Very small with doors which did not close properly, and there were signs of rust on the shower doors. There was no shower sink as such but merely floor tiles laid in order to run-off the water. This was most disappointing.
On the first day of our stay, our room was not cleaned at all and the bed was not made. Apparently this was the case of more rooms. This was explained to us in terms of changing the cleaning staff. This is not acceptable in any situation.
Overall, we found that this hotel charges far too high a price for the quality of the accommodation on offer given the poor quality of our room itself. Other two-star hotels in Bologna and Perugia were of a much higher standard for a much lower price. One of them had a much better view of the surounding hills, while our room had a large balcony from which we could enjoy the view in the evening.
Therefore, we will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

very nice hotell!!!
loving it!!
I was there for couple of days.. nice staff, very clear, and I think that it's not too easy to find a place cheap and so confortable..
I will come back in july, the stuff gave me a lot of ideas and suggestion where to go , what do you..
I loved also the neithbord ...
very good
!

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lucas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at Porta Romana Hotel for 5 nights during the Christmas holidays mainly because of the holiday pricing we were given and its location. Porta Romana allows easy access to the highways both north and south to explore Tuscany by car. It is also an easy 3 block walk into the walled city. The room is small and the bathroom is even smaller. The shower was interesting, moving doors to create a shower space that was very, very small. There is only wifi in the breakfast area, which was a surprise to me. A major issue that we had to deal with was the heat. Evidently, the heating system is on a timer and it runs only for so many hours and then shuts off for some number of hours. In the middle of a very cold winter in Tuscany, we spent several hours in our room, VERY cold.
Breakfast were adequate. The staff was pleasant but with little English. It worked for our needs, but we didn't spend much time in the room. The views upon waking in the morning were very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junbug4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed there while travelling around Tuscany. This hotel has got car park which is good if you have got a car. The staff are good host and helpful. The only thing is rooms are too small and a bit noisy but we did not mean it since we stayed just two days. The view of Tuscany hill is amazing!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozgurmerve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

The hotel has its own parking, which is included in the price. This is important if you are travelling by car and do not want to stay inside the ZTH. From our window we had a very nice view of Sienna. Also the guys at the reception were nice and breakfast was the regular average Italian breakfast. There is a bus just in front of the hotel to the historic center.

However, the room was small (no elevator). The double bed was poor without two separate mattresses. There was a lot of noise in both mornings. All in all, I guess, the sleep quality is the most important thing, and if you do not sleep well, it ruins the next day. Therefore, I would not choose this hotel for light or medium sleepers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kangarooInAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

When we got there we had been put in ground floor room overlooking carpark. We asked to change and were given one on first floor with spectacular view but very small. Staff were friendly and helpful. Internet was slow and intermittent. Breakfast was average. The coffee was filtered and had frothy milk added to look like a real cappucino. Rest was fine. Parking was good and location walking distance to center of Siena

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#5 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#6 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#7 of 40 in Siena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#17 of 40 in Siena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sangallo Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Romana Hotel

Property: Porta Romana Hotel
Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 35, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Romana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Porta Romana and the green hills of the sienese countryside are the perfect background for our Hotel. A XVIIIth century building recently renewed and equipped with every modern comfort. A perfect blend for the ones who wish to enjoy one of the world's most fascinating cities. The Hotel, overlooking a stunning hillside scenery, is located 15 minutes walking from Piazza del Campo. Large private parking. Telephone, Sat TV, Wake-up call, Laundry service, Bar, Jacuzzi hot tub and private parking free for direct reservations, Free WiFi Internet access, Pets admitted, Panoramic terrace and solarium, gay-friendly, Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Amex and Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Porta Romana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing