We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis walking distance to Siena”
Review of Porta Romana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porta Romana Hotel
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is a wonderful, quiet B&B just steps from the Porta Roma entrance to Siena. It is off a busy road, but you would never know when you arrive through the gate and are met with miles of fields and gardens. We saw deer and pheasants, lots of song birds. There is a huge lovely terrace to enjoy in the warmer weather. The rooms are on the small side as is the shower, but adequate and we found the bed to be comfortable. The wifi worked well in the rooms and was very quiet at night. I imagine that if the hotel was full, there could be noise from people coming and going to rooms as the stairs are tile. The free parking is a huge plus as anyone with a car in Italy will appreciate, parking is very scarce and expensive. We found the breakfast to be about average for Italy and plenty of delicious coffee. The owners are very friendly and accommodating as well as speaking flawless english.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back where the view is.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happpycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for Porta Romana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Came for the Palio di Siena - Siena's Palio Horse Race so all hotels inside the city gates were full. This was a good choice with free parking just outside the gates. Fabulous jacuzzi with a view, but the rooms and beds were basic as was the breakfast. Uphill nice walk to city center.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Marienlyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Plusses---car park, Tuscan view from some rooms, and an easy 15 minute walk into the center of Siena. Hate to disagree with majority of reviews and the omnipresent Rick Steves, but this Hotel is basically an over priced Hostel plus. No disrespect to Hostels---which I understand have been Guccified recently--and may surpass Romana, but the room, toilet, non-existent and absurd shower, plus the barking breakfast overseer, did not make for a pleasant 2 day stay. Possibly other rooms were superior, but I did not see them.

Room Tip: Do not book without asking for a photo of the room and bathroom you would be given
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A very easy place to find with convenient parking. A short walk to the historic city center.
Great views of the Tuscan landscape from the hotel site. Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Comfortable rooms provided a good value. Breakfast was adequate and it was nice to be able to get a glass of wine to enjoy while sitting on the patio. I would return here without any reservations.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room if you want a better view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAjulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We are 2 experienced travelers and we have marked this place with "Excellent". Good location, not far from the center, and that's because - very quiet. Wonderful nature around the hotel. One day by the window I saw a small deer. Birds, butterflies, lavender flowers allows to feel summer with all your soul. The hotel is good for relaxation. Good staff, good English. I'm sure, we'll stay in this hotel again during our next visit to Siena.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a truly pleasant 2-night stay here in August. The view across the Tuscan landscape is outstanding. It's a 15-20 minute walk to Il Campo. Hotel has a nicely-appointed outdoor area to sit and relax. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. Good space and bath area. Good value; we couldn't ask for more. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2klobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our stay could not have been more perfect. We were part of a motorcycle tour of central Italy and Porta Romana was one of out stops for two days. The view from our room was something we had only seen in pictures or on TV. To open the window and be greeted with the Tuscan sun was absolutely beautiful. The staff at the desk were helpful and could not have been kinder in helping one of our bikers - one of 14 in our group - who had broken his foot along our tour.

The small bar area was great for a few of us to wait with local wine and beer in the offering. They offered great suggestions for sights to see, dinner, which was fabulous just within walking distance for our friend and called taxis for us to get to the city walls without any hassle. Breakfast with fresh picked tomatoes from the garden along with my boiled egg brought a great start to another day of riding. We would recommend this place and stay again in a Tuscan heartbeat! Thanks Vincent for making our stay memorable and our dinner at Stefano's a gastronomical delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second or third floor with a beautiful view. We just lucked out.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Caterina
Hotel Santa Caterina
#5 of 40 in Siena
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#9 of 40 in Siena
520 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Elda
Hotel Villa Elda
#12 of 40 in Siena
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo di Valli
Palazzo di Valli
#2 of 40 in Siena
673 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Colonna
Hotel La Colonna
#10 of 40 in Siena
585 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#8 of 40 in Siena
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta Romana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Romana Hotel

Address: Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 35, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Siena
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Romana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Porta Romana and the green hills of the sienese countryside are the perfect background for our Hotel. A XVIIIth century building recently renewed and equipped with every modern comfort. A perfect blend for the ones who wish to enjoy one of the world's most fascinating cities. The Hotel, overlooking a stunning hillside scenery, is located 15 minutes walking from Piazza del Campo. Large private parking. Telephone, Sat TV, Wake-up call, Laundry service, Bar, Jacuzzi hot tub and private parking free for direct reservations, Free WiFi Internet access, Pets admitted, Panoramic terrace and solarium, gay-friendly, Credit cards accepted: Visa, Mastercard, Amex and Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porta Romana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing