We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, cheap, cramped room, ok service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #77 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The best part of the hotel is the location. It is located near Porta Roma. If you are driving, you have to park near here in the blue spaces. The room was on the ground floor, which was a bit cramped with the bed, but comfortable enough. We were a bit disappointed with the service as we wanted to find a few wineries to try out on our own and the service staff kept pushing the tours that they had. The breakfast is OK. Free internet WiFi is available but very slow. We would probably look for another place in the same price range.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrusam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in May of 2012. Although not luxurious, we found this hotel charming and clean with excellent service. The location is perfect for walking around historic Siena. The staff were very helpful about recommendations for hotels and tickets for attractions. Our room was located on the street side and yes it was noisy at night, but I don't think you can stay in historic Siena without noise at night given the way the streets are basically narrow alleys.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in February 2012- Great Place. Sure its not the Hilton but then I knew that. This place is clean, comfortable, warm, lots of hot water and a good sized room and bathroom, close to all the sights, 5 mins to walk to Piazza Gramschi (Bus Station) 2 mins to campo, 5 mins to the Duomo, 5 mins to the nearest gate to the walls, maybe 20 mins to the train station (outisde the walls), 5 mins to the supermarket. Vanessa, Roberto and Elena were wonderful and kept me plied with Hot water so i could drink the copious amounts of tea that i drink...........Not noisy at all but I asked for a room that was quiet. Yes, i could hear them in the breakfast room in the morning but that was 8am not 6am or anything hideous............All good- highly recommend. 5 Mins to Nannini and Grom as well...........what else could one ask for?
thanks again and I will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mste161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I chose this hotel because it was very well situated in the heart of the historic centre. We arrived in Siena and carried our bags down through the narrow streets. It´s not far away from the bus stop, as we were coming from Rome. We just had to cross Il Campo and walked a few blocks from there. As I had asked specifically for a room with a view, our bedroom was in the fourth floor........but there was NO LIFT. This really becomes a problem when you arrive at night tired after having walked for ours round the city. It was clean and the breakfast was ok. I think there must be better hotels for this price. I would choose another hotel if I come back to Siena.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silbeRosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locandasm, Direttore at Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Rosario,
thank you for your comments. At the beginning we were confused because you just posted your review few days ago and actually we do have a brand new lift from september 2011. Then we noticed your stay was in May 2011. Further we would like to inform you that finally we had the special permitt from the Monuments and Fine Arts Department to install the lift in our historical palace. You can have a look at our official website for a picture. We hope you can stay with us during your next trip to Siena.
Kind regards
Pierluigi Sassano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We were quite happy with our stay at Locanda San Martino. It is a simple, small, hotel, so someone expecting the services of a large hotel will be disappointed. We had three rooms, all on the back side of the hotel, and found them quite pleasant. The "classic" rooms are somewhat small, but the junior suite has more space and a separate sitting room. Vanessa in reception was quite helpful. Breakfast was good, and the beds comfortable. The street in front is narrow and has some traffic, so I can see how room on the front side could be noisier. While it is reasonably walkable from the bus station, it might be worth taking a taxi if you have much luggage.

I would gladly stay here again, and would recommend to friends, though with appropriate expectations.

Biggest annoyance was the general flakiness of the (free) wi-fi.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curmudgeon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

The hotel is centrally located right next to the Piazza del Campo. The street is nice and calm. Staff was very helpful and kind - first night we arrived we were given great room, cozy and beautiful. Also taking into account that hotels located in old medieval buildings are usually cold I need to note that our room and the whole hotel were very warm!
Our prima colazione (breakfast) was also incredible. Very nice gentleman who was taking care of us beginning from our check-in was attentive and caring. For breakfast we had fresh fruits, juices, excellent local pastry and bread and incredible cappucino!
Grazie mille for this stay!La prossima volta ritornero in Locanda di San Martino :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP_Assistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We had also heard great reviews of the hotel. It was indeed a great location, close to the center of Siena and the Campo. Breakfast was great - good quality and quantity. Unfortunately two things stick in my mind when rating the hotel:
- furnishings and finishes were tired, worn and looking shabby
- the biggest challenge was the noise from outside and inside the hotel at all times of the night from passers by, returning guests and (service) vehicles driving by.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel as we stayed in a very noisy room at the front. There is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbsolutelyDubrovnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#30 of 40 in Siena
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
#76 of 126 in Siena
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via San Martino 14 | Palazzo Zaicchetti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino is a charming boutique hotel located in Palazzo Zaicchetti an original medieval structure renovated to offer luxury standards and service. It is nestled in the heart of Siena just 200 meters from the famous Piazza del Campo. The Locanda di San Martino is the ideal place to experience the alluring charm and the atmosphere of this city that has maintained its medieval identity over the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di San Martino Siena Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing