We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old hotel, great location near center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #82 of 127 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I (middle-aged woman travelling solo) stayed here three nights in January. Hotel had a great location near the center and my room was clean, quiet and comfortable. They serve breakfast to you in your room! Friendly proprietors. If you can, I highly recommend taking bus into Siena (rather than train). Much more convenient - and about a 15 minute walk from hotel. Siena's bus station has great service to hill towns.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Location and lovely views from rooms at the back are best features. [Room 401 has added sitting room] You can spread out in the clean spacious rooms but furnishings, including cupboard space is very simple, minimal. Breakfast: includes American canned fruit cocktail - should give you an idea. This is a B&B, so don't expect hotel staff type service. Desk help leaves at 8 pm. Attitude of staff varies by who is on duty. There is a small elevator for luggage & 1 person. However, via San Martino is charming and near the Campo away from noisy mobs. [But rooms at front can be dark and get scooter noise at night]
Spent 4 nights as a base for area which was fine. Traveled with our adult son who did change his room to higher floor at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a lot by location - higher up & at back is better. Room 302, good single, 401 had ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

when I arrived, the receptionist, a very angry young man, basically barked at me. No help with the lugagge either..... the place is dark and ugly . The breakfast was terrible, the lady who served it appeared to also be in a bad mood,bed was hard,
The rooms are big, but that's about it. Would not recommend it to anyone, couldn't wait to leave, just a bad experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palzzofani, Direttore at Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Mr or Mrs Mistery (?!?),
Your opinion is very important for us to improve always the quality of our services. But we don't know your name, when you stayed with us, even in which room type. Have you a recipt of your stay? or a booking confirmation? or anything that can prove that you have been our guest?
mysterious criticisms are not helpful to anyone. it is impossible for us to help a mysterious client
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Rude front desk clerk, breakfast is served at 8 so if you need to catch a train before forget it. Rudeness and lack of service seems to be the spirit here, since the lady at the breakfast room was also very rude. This should not be so highly ranked, I found it to be a dump, excrept for the bathroom which was decent

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Small friendly hotel with a great location. As in very old buildings surrounded by narrow streets be prepared to some noise from outside traffic and neighbors showering. Rustic in a romantic way.
If you arrive by car try to enter city from southwest. We came from Florence through north gate and was lost in the labyrinth one way streets for 45 minutes. With courage and determination you can manage the almost impossible passages and tight turns. We had to park our car outside old city wall for the nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view. Nice view over the city. Otherwise you see the opposite buiding 5 meters a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Like title says this hotel sits in a quiet street about 3 blocks from Plaza Campo. Really interesting layout in a 500 year old building. Room was small even though it's booked a deluxe room. Hotel staff wasn't very friendly on checkin nor checkout until I mentioned TripAdvisor. Overall not a bad stay but could have been better with more accommodating staff. For the global travelers that rely on Wifi for communications back home don't count on this place. very week signal

Room Tip: upgrade to the suites if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JayWeitekamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here only one night but what a great little hotel. The location was good and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Roberto really went out of his way for us. Charming hotel and very clean. would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#28 of 40 in Siena
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
I Terzi di Siena
I Terzi di Siena
#57 of 127 in Siena
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
I Tetti di Siena
I Tetti di Siena
#21 of 127 in Siena
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa di Alfredo
Casa di Alfredo
#73 of 127 in Siena
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa di Osio
Casa di Osio
#56 of 127 in Siena
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
#75 of 127 in Siena
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via San Martino 14 | Palazzo Zaicchetti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £42 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino is a charming boutique hotel located in Palazzo Zaicchetti an original medieval structure renovated to offer luxury standards and service. It is nestled in the heart of Siena just 200 meters from the famous Piazza del Campo. The Locanda di San Martino is the ideal place to experience the alluring charm and the atmosphere of this city that has maintained its medieval identity over the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Stayforlong S.L., Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di San Martino Siena Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing