We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location... terrible staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #77 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Location is excellent (3-4 minutes from Piazza Il Campo) but still in a very quiet street so one does not hear any noise, plus depending on the room one can have excellent view on the city (mine was 301). My room had a big bedroom and a small living room with a nice bathroom. The style is old but very charming and confortable. Breakfast is very low and not that rich. Desk help leaves at 8 pm so when I arrived my keys were in an enveloppe inside the hotel (thanks to other guests I could get in the hotel!).
I stayed one night in the hotel, and around midnight there was no more electricity nor water. In the morning when trying to ask the lady at the reception about the problem she starts yelling in italian (no English!!)
Globally speaking: good and confortable hotel but do not expect to have a helpful staff there..

Room Tip: Room 301 (living room + view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locandasm, Direttore at Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mr Antonio C.
Please note that the reception is regularly open from 08:00 to 20:00. After 20:00 there is a night service. For arrivals after 20:00 guests just need to ring and we give an access code to the hotel, which we did regularly with you on your arrival.
The power went off at 23:30 for a small storm on Siena, which made a black-out in several areas of the town. Everything was restored within 10 minutes.
About the water, no customer has notified the lack of it (from your room you needed just to dial "9" to speak with the night service and we would be activated immediately.)
As soon as the problem has been reported to us by other clients we have solved it immediately (almost 5 minutes). In any case, also this problem was a result of the small storm on Siena not depending on the Hotel.
The person with whom you spoke was a housemaid, not a receptionist, and she simply said that the staff of the reception would arrive at 08:00.
At check out, there was any complaint from you, otherwise we would have the opportunity to apologize personally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Few issues -
Only Internet in lobby - 2
Buggy rooms - 2
Asked us to dump trach prior to departure - don't think so -1
Cramped Bath -2
Breakfast OK - 3
Pool - Cold -But a pool -3
Dinner - one of the best - amazing pepper steak - 5!
Location - 4 - Went to local medieval festival - fun - nice for traveling around
If they would focus on refinement of facility this would have been a 4

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELKgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We arrived in the very nice entrance lobby, and were met by the smiling young man on reception which was being decorated. That was the end of our pleasant experience. Our damp smelling room was shabby with broken tiles, dirt in the corners, scuffed and chipped paintwork, dangling tv wires, an electric socket that regularly fell off revealing the wiring. The bathroom was tiny, too small to put toiletries anywhere. We had to have the air con on all night to mask the street noise as we were at the front of the hotel, however our friends at the back had to put up with drunken shouting women. The staff were surly and bad tempered, particularly when asking for extra pillows. The wifi was limited and could not cope with more than one person per floor using it. Our so called safe was so small and light and portable we dared not leave anything in it. Breakfast included a bowl of tinned fruit cocktail - in Italy! The only good thing about the place was its location and the fact the sheets and towels were clean, but quite frankly it is not enough. Pay a bit more and stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I (middle-aged woman travelling solo) stayed here three nights in January. Hotel had a great location near the center and my room was clean, quiet and comfortable. They serve breakfast to you in your room! Friendly proprietors. If you can, I highly recommend taking bus into Siena (rather than train). Much more convenient - and about a 15 minute walk from hotel. Siena's bus station has great service to hill towns.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navis44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Location and lovely views from rooms at the back are best features. [Room 401 has added sitting room] You can spread out in the clean spacious rooms but furnishings, including cupboard space is very simple, minimal. Breakfast: includes American canned fruit cocktail - should give you an idea. This is a B&B, so don't expect hotel staff type service. Desk help leaves at 8 pm. Attitude of staff varies by who is on duty. There is a small elevator for luggage & 1 person. However, via San Martino is charming and near the Campo away from noisy mobs. [But rooms at front can be dark and get scooter noise at night]
Spent 4 nights as a base for area which was fine. Traveled with our adult son who did change his room to higher floor at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a lot by location - higher up & at back is better. Room 302, good single, 401 had ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

when I arrived, the receptionist, a very angry young man, basically barked at me. No help with the lugagge either..... the place is dark and ugly . The breakfast was terrible, the lady who served it appeared to also be in a bad mood,bed was hard,
The rooms are big, but that's about it. Would not recommend it to anyone, couldn't wait to leave, just a bad experience overall.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palzzofani, Direttore at Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Mr or Mrs Mistery (?!?),
Your opinion is very important for us to improve always the quality of our services. But we don't know your name, when you stayed with us, even in which room type. Have you a recipt of your stay? or a booking confirmation? or anything that can prove that you have been our guest?
mysterious criticisms are not helpful to anyone. it is impossible for us to help a mysterious client
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Rude front desk clerk, breakfast is served at 8 so if you need to catch a train before forget it. Rudeness and lack of service seems to be the spirit here, since the lady at the breakfast room was also very rude. This should not be so highly ranked, I found it to be a dump, excrept for the bathroom which was decent

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#29 of 40 in Siena
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
#76 of 126 in Siena
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via San Martino 14 | Palazzo Zaicchetti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino is a charming boutique hotel located in Palazzo Zaicchetti an original medieval structure renovated to offer luxury standards and service. It is nestled in the heart of Siena just 200 meters from the famous Piazza del Campo. The Locanda di San Martino is the ideal place to experience the alluring charm and the atmosphere of this city that has maintained its medieval identity over the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di San Martino Siena Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing