We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #77 of 126 Siena B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 July 2009

The hotel was very quirky and charming, with lots of hand-painted detailing on the doors, walls and ceilings, it gave the feel of a Tuscan villa or town house.

Reception is only open in the mornings and afternoons for checking in/out, and the rest of the time you have access via a door code and key. The receptionist was very helpful and pleasant though when we arrived.

The hotel and room was very clean and the shower and bathroom was modern and spacious.

The only downside was that we had a room at the front of the hotel, and this was on one of the main narrow roads into Siena, which meant we were woken in the early hours by the rumble of delivery lorries.

DON'T try driving into Siena, to access the hotel its best to park up by Porta Romana and then walk the 10-15 minutes to the hotel. This is much less stressful than driving round Siena (which is a maze of one way and no-entry streets) for an hours which we did!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2008

What a rare privilege to be able to spend a night in a "cave" albeit one with such modern amenities. Our very gracious hosts were happy to share the history of our particular cave that had once been a church. Fluent English speakers they were also most helpful about suggesting sights further along on our itinerary in Albergobello and Trani. The breakfast was treat to wake up to. I would definitely recommend a detour to delight in this lovely hotel and the sights offered by the town.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trani50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

The staff has limited hours but they are there when you need them. They are also VERY friendly and helpful. The hotel is VERY well located - just off one of the roads that lead to the main square. As with any hotel in an old building the rooms have high ceilings but this lends to its character. Unfortunately the windows are single glazing which means that if you get one of the rooms that face the road you will be woken early in the morning by the road cleaner and any other traffic. Bathrooms are much more than what you would expect in an old building - they are great! The breakfast, although simple, was delicious.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Locanda San Martino is a 2 minute walk from the campo and if you are going there soon look out for Daniel Craig running along the roof tops. The new James Bond movie is being filmed right next door to this hotel. The decor in San Martino is 'deliberately distressed', rag-rolled walls & cupboards with stencilled flowers. We were 'upgraded to a junior suite' so we had a small sitting room. The mini-fridge in the bedroom was useful. Excellent modern shower. Reception staff could not be more helpful and speak good english. Standard city B&B breakfast, plenty of it. Great to be able to nip back for frequent rests after slogging around the steep streets of Siena. All in all great value for money. Don't have coffee in the square itself - it will set you back a fiver - though maybe worth it for what you are looking at! We arrived by train on Easter Monday and had to wait ages for a taxi. Its only a 10 minute walk from the bus station so do-able when you're leaving but a hassle when you've just arrived.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blueshed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2008

Stayed at the Locanda di San Martino back in June 2007. The hotel is within the city walls of Siena, and just a short walk from the Piazza del Campo, sienas main centre, which boasts a wide range of bars and restaurants, with many shops and more restaurants, and cafe bars leading off down small streets.

The hotel is very clean and comfortable, very light and spacious, nice large windows to let lots of air in, good storage space in the rooms, and the bathrooms were spacious and newly fitted- my room had a shower. The decor in the hotel is very traditional, with alot of the paintings on the ceilings being restored.

As I said the hotel is great for location, however Siena does tend to be a very noisy city. Scooters seem to pass the hotel all night every 2 minutes, and when you finally do fall asleep, the bin men come round at 5am, and the glass bottles get collected from local bars etc. So do take some ear plugs, as you very well may need them, the windows are very thin.

Whilst traditional, the hotel has small mini fridges in all of the bedrooms, which are great for storing drinks in etc, and the hotel also offers Wireless internet in its bedrooms for a small charge.

Breakfast was good, very simple, selection of cereals, pastries, cakes, fruit, yoghurt, meats & cheeses, but tasty and fine. The staff will happily make you a hot drink, and this includes espresso, cappucino, latté whatever you like. Yes I'd certainly use this hotel again, fantastic location, clean, comfortable, but don't forget ear plugs!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RNB747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank giusmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicoletta9320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Siena hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alma Domus
Hotel Alma Domus
#20 of 40 in Siena
859 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Siena
NH Siena
#17 of 40 in Siena
1,518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel la Perla
Hotel la Perla
#29 of 40 in Siena
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#7 of 40 in Siena
3,403 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Le Chiarine
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
Palazzo Fani Mignanelli
#76 of 126 in Siena
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via San Martino 14 | Palazzo Zaicchetti, 53100, Siena, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Siena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Siena
Price Range: £39 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino is a charming boutique hotel located in Palazzo Zaicchetti an original medieval structure renovated to offer luxury standards and service. It is nestled in the heart of Siena just 200 meters from the famous Piazza del Campo. The Locanda di San Martino is the ideal place to experience the alluring charm and the atmosphere of this city that has maintained its medieval identity over the centuries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Locanda di San Martino Siena Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Di San Martino Siena Residenza d`Epoca Hotel Siena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing