We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meal”

Antica Osteria da Divo
Ranked #5 of 523 Restaurants in Siena
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a great meal here. Place is very nice, service good, prices reasonable and food very good (especially the beef). I would happily go back...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NTGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,169
    891
    225
    88
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Food in a Cavernous Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Built in a hillside or cellar - it is a great meal in a very old excavation. 3 levels of dining, down into a cellar. It's slightly musty, but it's a great ambiance. Food was wonderful as was the service. Our bartender at our hotel recommended it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caribbean Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best risotto we ever had...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the best dinner we had in our 18 day euro trip. Vey cosy and romantic ambience, awesome service and food is unbelievably good. We still have the memories of their flavors in our minds. This place is reservations only. We had a ravioli and risotto. The risotto was simply awesome and highly recommended. The chef sautéed it in a drum of cheese in front of us and served it steaming hot. The complimentary bread is fresh out of oven unlike most places we have been to. We loved their Spinach rolls from the breadbasket. We had lava cake with pistachio ice cream for dessert which was nice too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Super food, slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a gourmet restaurant, elegantly appointed in a bricklined room. My husband had bean soup to begin, which was only OK. My quail was very good as were the eggs with truffle that I had for the main course. Chocolate cake and frozen yogurt desserts also very good. The problem was that the service was super-slow and by the time the food came one was past caring. We waited half an hour between the antipasto and the main course. For the 120 euro price, we probably would have been happier somewhere else. I rated this restaurant very good because of the general quality of the food, wine and atmosphere. But I personally would not return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic lunch here. Got there right at noon and were seated right away. It filled up quickly. From the outside, it is pretty unassuming but inside looks like it was straight from "central casting". Perfect for a romantic meal. The food and service were excellent. The pici senesi (handmade Sienese pasta with wild boar ragu) was outstanding. We were lucky to get in - reservations are recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Phil_from_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Osteria da Divo also viewed

 
Siena, Province of Siena
Siena, Province of Siena
 

Been to Antica Osteria da Divo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing