We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, Comfy, NOT Costly!”
Review of La Buca di San Pietro - CLOSED

La Buca di San Pietro
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Typical restaurant with fresh house-made pasta, Chianina meat, fresh fish, pizza, house confectionery and nice wines liste with tuscan, italian and internationals choices. The restaurant Buca di San Pietro is located in historical building " Casin de' Nobili ", in the heart of Siena.You can see " Il Campo " square through his window with an icredible view.We are waiting you for a very nice cooking.Cesare Lorenzoni
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Close, Comfy, NOT Costly!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Delicious offerings (especially the ribollita!) and open late. We found La Buca -- and a WONDERFUL waitress (thank you Zelja!) -- on the first night in Siena. Late arrival meant a tough search for open restaurants (plenty of places to buy slices or paninis, but FEW restaurants) when we stumbled upon Buca. We were not disappointed! Tasty, full-flavored pizzas, a delicious ribollita, and good house wine. You can't go wrong, and the prices are VERY affordable (5-7 euro for most starters and primis). I saw a couple of small tables inside and we sat at one of the three tables outside so it might be difficult for larger groups.It is right of the campo, so very easy to find.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labucadisanpietro, Proprietario at La Buca di San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Cliente, thank you for the review and for the time you dedicated to write it. We hope you will have possibility to enjoy our food again. Thanks to your honesty and kindness we are trying to change if something was not as you aspected. Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We will be happy to have you here again. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    28
    22
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, california
2 reviews
“A pleasant discovery”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

It was certainly an unexpected discovery for a very pleasant meal at a restaurant that was literally by del Campo, so one would honestly expect it's a tourist trap - and maybe it is. However, of the several places we ate in Siena, the food here was really good! But the most memorable part of that experience was the fantastic service by our waitress, Željka. She is attentive and will honestly suggest some meals that are good or a "must try". Despite the fact that I was satiated by all the pastas and pizzas that Italy has to offer, she recommended a great local, Sienese soup and a pasta dish that I actually quite enjoyed. I definitely recommend this place and make sure you ask for Željka.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tarsisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labucadisanpietro, Proprietario at La Buca di San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Cliente, thank you for the review and for the time you dedicated to write it. We hope you will have possibility to enjoy our food again. Thanks to your honesty and kindness we are trying to change if something was not as you aspected. Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We will be happy to have you here again. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
“The surprise highlight of our Siena trip!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

After a week in Florence, Siena and Pisa, my 21 year old daughter and I voted this as one of our most memorable meals! The food was fresh, tasty and beautiful to behold. The location, right under one of the ancient arches near the amphitheater/center, can't be beat. The plus to dining here is that you get to beat the heat!

My daughter had a beautiful simple mixed salad and simply exquisite Seabass soup!

I thoroughly enjoyed their Bruschetta and handmade Pici (freshly made Sienese specialty noodle).

They were generous with their desserts and coffee.
They had a tourist lunch special--so all this yummy food turned out to be a great deal, too!!
We stumbled upon this restaurant by chance and are SO glad that we did! Next time we visit Siena, we're making a beeline for this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarmicRelief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labucadisanpietro, Proprietario at La Buca di San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Cliente, thank you for the review and for the time you dedicated to write it. We hope you will have possibility to enjoy our food again. Thanks to your honesty and kindness we are trying to change if something was not as you aspected. Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We will be happy to have you here again. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service, food, and location!”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was visiting the city for a few hours with a friend. We were walking around lost and looking for a nice place to eat. This restaurant was more than I could have expected. The food was excellent! Our server was a really sweet Bosnian woman that gave us so much attention. This was the best service I had at any restaurant during my time in Europe. My friend felt the same way. The server was even kind enough to tell us where she thought we could find our car again. I will be looking forward to the next time that I go back there. I will make sure that I spend a few more meals there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labucadisanpietro, Proprietario at La Buca di San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Cliente, thank you for the review and for the time you dedicated to write it. We hope you will have possibility to enjoy our food again. Thanks to your honesty and kindness we are trying to change if something was not as you aspected. Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We will be happy to have you here again. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful restaurant”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The service was truly a positive experience. Our waitress, Zeljka (Jellica) was fun and engaging. Very positive! Appetizer (carpaccio with truffles)....great! Pasta was egg noodles with truffles, my wife had pasta with tomato sauce, garlic, simple, the daily deal...delicious! Homemade pasta, homemade sauces. Dessert was a cookie variety (my wife). I had the tira misu (unlike a standard tira misu with the great cream base).
Restaurant is located in one of the stairwell going down to the Piazza del Campo.

Great restaurant and tourist experience. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesjkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
labucadisanpietro, Proprietario at La Buca di San Pietro, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Cliente, thank you for the review and for the time you dedicated to write it. We hope you will have possibility to enjoy our food again. Thanks to your honesty and kindness we are trying to change if something was not as you aspected. Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We will be happy to have you here again. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Buca di San Pietro also viewed

 
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing