We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty but absolutely horrible stay”
Review of Villa Dianella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Dianella
Ranked #1 of 9 Vinci B&B and Inns
loveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty but absolutely horrible stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I have never left a negative review and upon arrival at the bed and breakfast never dreamed I would be now. First impressions were great!! Beautiful place. That evening which was quite cold there was no heat. The heater was broken and we had been assured it would be fixed by the evening. It wasn't and the water in the bathroom was not warm enough so we had to boil a tea kettle to add warmth. Not so bad. Place was still beautiful.

Next night heat was now on water still lukewarm. More boiling. Samantha had stated if we needed breakfast prior to 830 we should tell her and she would prepare. The next morning we had to leave by 7 for a reservation at the Ufuzzi gallery. We went to the breakfast room nothing had been prepared. Again not that bad. The place was beautiful.

After a long day in Florence we arrived back at our room. We walked in and heard a buzzing noise. There were thousands of flies on the window on the ceiling. I have never seen anything like it. We asked if we could see the other rooms as we were the only people staying there. Samantha kept telling us they all had the file infestation. No warning to us before we walked in the room but they had knowledge of this.

They offered us to go to a business hotel in Vinci for the night. We would still pay but wouldn't have to pay for our room with a thousand flies. Wow. Not great customer service. On the way out the door the owner did not even apologize to me.

Horrible stay!!!!

Further the village it is near is very industrial and not appealing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Villa Dianella Fucini is a beautiful place to stay. The property is absolutely beautiful, the staff was helpful, and the wine was delicious! I agree with some other reviewers that you really do need a car to get there.

Our first night we ate in the local mall. It was really interesting, but good Tuscan food. Vinci is not a fairytale Tuscan city like Asciano, but it was real. The propety is a little secluded and it is worth the drive.

We took the cooking class that is offered and had the time of our lives. The chef was wonderful and the food was delicious and all of my friends and family at home are glad I learned the tricks! I highly recommend it.

We had a beautiful room with a great view, a huge bathroom and a sitting room. the bed was comfortable and the grounds were beautiful!

The only thing that could have made it better is if there was a pool, but that's being really really picky!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Out of all of the places that we stayed during our vacation to Italy, this was by far our favorite. We loved the villa and the landscape. Although far from any restaurants, we loved being a bit secluded. Having a car or taxi is a must to get to the location, but the views could not be better. We loved both of the rooms that we booked, loved the landscape and grounds, enjoyed the wine tour, and breakfast was delicious. If I had to give a negative it would have been that there was a wedding on the night that we stayed which didn't allow us full access of the place, but we still had a great stay. Wish I would have been able to get married here myself! I would highly recommend Villa Dianella!!! Also, enjoyed Samantha - great hostess!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lopez Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great experience staying in a real working winery. Room was huge, but rustic and a bit cold, they, provided a space heater to help. The wine tour was amazing, a must do if you stay here. Beautiful gardens and a great location. No restaurant at the hotel, so you need a car if your going to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed here for 1 night prior to our flight home from Pisa Airport as it is just 45 mins away.

We were we very warmly welcomed by Samantha who showed us to our room.

The beautiful house although set in some very nice grounds is not far from an industrial area the noise of which can be slightly heard in the background. I expected Vinci to be almost within walking distance - it is not!

The room was shabby chic style. The lack of air con(although a fan was supplied) was a bit of apain as the room was hot during the night. The only other negative was that the furniture in the room was very dusty.

There was free tea and coffee outside of the room and a minibar where you could help yourself to drinks and record your usage.

Breakfast was okay.

Overall we don't think we would stay there again

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We first came to visit Villa Dianella in 2008 and liked it so much, we decided to get married there! I have no explanation for the lack of reviews other than the fact that most visitors want to keep it a secret! If you read through the guestbook in the villa, there are hundreds of happy guests. I think the fact that it's off the beaten track is a good thing, and if you like somewhere tranquil and relaxing then this is the place for you.

Villa Dianella is a large villa set in beautiful grounds, surrounded by gardens and vineyards, overlooking the Tuscan hills. It is a beautifully restored Medicean villa, and produces its own delicious wine and olive oil. You can organise wine tastings and tours of the wine cellar, and of course weddings - we can wholeheartedly recommend Your Special Happening - http://www.happening.it/ - who helped us to organise our special day. Over 70 of our friends and family came out to celebrate with us and they are still talking about it.

Location-wise, the villa is a bit in the middle of nowhere and you might worry a bit when approaching it through an industrial estate. The town area, Empoli/Sovigliana is quite industrial, but when you find the path lined with cypresses, and drive up the hill towards the villa, you know you're in the right place. It is beautiful, old, very tastefully decorated in a country/shabby chic style. It is lovely sitting in the gardens and relaxing, and a wonderful place to hold an event such as a wedding or party. There are only 4 rooms and we've stayed in 3 of them (we keep coming back!) - all are very nice. The green room was our wedding suite and the yellow room is also nice - they're large and spacious, and there's a nice central breakfast/sitting area for all the rooms, as well as downstairs/garden areas. In summer, they will lay out breakfast in the garden or limonaia - it's continental, with cakes, yoghurts etc and hot drinks.

As it is only B&B, they don't do dinner, but you can drive to the nearest pizzeria down the road called Il Frantoio - it's a fantastic, atmospheric neighbourhood restaurant. We had our pre-wedding dinner there and it is always very enjoyable (and inexpensive). The town of Vinci is a short drive away and is a nice place to visit if you are interested in Leonardo. If you drive through the town you can get to the olive grove strewn hills above the town, and visit the modest stone cottage where Leonardo was born. Slightly further afield is Firenze/Florence, about half an hour's drive (depending on where you drive to). It's a great place to visit for the day. The easiest way to get there from the UK is to fly to Pisa (Easyjet/BA fly there) and drive. I recommend satnav or getting directions beforehand as it is a little tricky to find if you don't know what you're looking for!

All in all, a fantastic place to visit. We may be biased, but we love it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nao C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartpury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

As we drove up the sweeping drive lined with Cypus trees, we knew we had made a wise decision to stay here! We were greeted by Laura who showed us our two rooms - Lavender and Pink room. Both were huge and each beautifully decorated - shabby chic style with gorgeous views over the surrounding countryside and gardens.

We had booked a tour of the cellars and lunch beforehand (25 euros each), and after settling in, Laura showed the four of us round the many rooms where wine production has been happening for decades. It was absolutely facinating and Laura is extremely knowledgeable answering all of our questions in perfect english. We were then taken upstairs where a table was set out for lunch. Laura explained how to taste the wine that is made there (which is delicious), whilst we enjoyed, homemade pasta with pesto, bread, bruchetta, tuscan salami & prociuttio, followed by Vin Santo & biscotti. This was a truly wonderful lunch. Afterwards, we sat outside in the garden and drank more of the Villa Dianella house wine.
That afternoon, two other couples arrived to stay in the other 2 bedrooms and we all sat together chatting and drinking the wine, sharing stories about italy and getting to know each other. Although there is no restaurant there, there are plenty of local restaurants or as we had had too much wine to even think about driving, Laura arranged for pizzas to be delivered to us and set out the table for us again that evening. They were delicous and we had one of those rare evenings which we shared with new friends and thoroughly enjoyed their company.
We had a wonderful time here and bought a few bottles of their wine to ship back home (thanks Laura for arranging!). We will think of this magical place and what a wonderful time we had there every time we open a bottle!!
This place is very much set up for small weddings and parties - although it only has the 4 bedrooms, I understand that there are many alternative places to stay in for other guests nearby.
I would certainly reccommend this Villa as it is also very well placed inbetween Pisa & Florence.
We are already planning on when to return!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfnirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinci
24.0 mi away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
210 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#4 of 4 in Vinci
163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 4 in Vinci
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel MonnaLisa
Hotel MonnaLisa
#2 of 4 in Vinci
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tassinaia Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo La Gioconda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dianella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dianella

Property: Villa Dianella
Address: Via Dianella 48 | Loc. Dianella, 50059, Vinci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vinci
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Vinci
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Dianella 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Dianella Fucini is a beautiful Medicean Villa of the XVI century plunged in the relaxing and regenerating landscape of the sweet rolling Tuscan hills just a few kilometers away from Florence and Pisa.Its position in the center of the Tuscan region makes it the ideal accommodation for people willing to discover the natural and artistic beauties of the surroundings and to visit Florence, Lucca, Pisa and Siena. The Villa is surrounded by the vineyards and the olive-trees of the Fattoria di Dianella, that produces wine and olive oil, and by the borgo di Dianella that has several halls for exhibitions, meetings and exclusive happenings.There are 2 double rooms and 2 suites decorated in romantic pale colours and provided with all facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Dianella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing