We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Carbonaia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vinci
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Carbonaia
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Vinci
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing location, nestled in the hills, close to Vinci immaculate and well maintained beautiful accommodation, gorgeous pool, large sitting area all around the house, amazing views so tranquil and restful. Perfect break for couples and families alike. Highly recommended. Simone is the owner and host at Casa Carbonaia he is the guide and instructor for the activites. I did canyoning and via Ferrata .He is a member of the Tuscan mountain rescue team - so knows what he is doing. But he is a great teacher - very patient - and explains things well. Safety is clearly key. Can't wait to return

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MUSSONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in house with friends for activity weekend. Position was breathtaking, nestled in Tuscan countryside, the perfect peaceful retreat after adrenaline packed activities. Simone was the perfect host and he went out of his way to make sure we got the most from our time there. Will definitely return with my family as they would love it just as much as i did.

Room Tip: Can be closed off into smaller apartments or available for larger parties as a whole house. My room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Another brilliant trip to Casa Carbonaia. 10 of us went canyoning, coasteering and climbing the via Ferrata on a short break. Full on and fun - would thoroughly recommend to anyone who has a sense of adventure and a love of the beautiful Tuscan countryside. Our host Simone made every effort to accommodate us in his relaxed and friendly yet very efficient fashion! Casa Carbonaia is a secluded piece of heaven and I'm almost loathed to tell you about it! Grazie mille Simone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We found this farm house complex through activities abroad. The owner, Simone is a real star who will do anything to help you have a great holiday. The villa complex is located about 1hour from central Florence and is situated on a hill overlooking the whole of the Arno river. The views are inspiring both at night and during the day.
The accommodation comprises 2 bedroom , lounge, small bathroom and kitchen area. There is also a large garden adjacent to the house to have meals. The BBQ and out door oven are also available for alfresco dining.
The swimming pool is located a short distance from the house, which is ideal. The pool is great for children as the shallow enables them to stand up
The range of activities that Simone does is great. The caving, canyoning, wall climbing are great for first timers and for those with some experience.
The only weakness is that our house did not have air conditioning. We were here during a period of very high temperatures and with no air conditioning the house was uncomfortably hot at night. Simone did give us a fan to help but it was still very hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a house with air conditioning if travelling in August.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for one week - arranged through Activities Abroad (who were great to deal with - some first hand experience and advice about the holiday, the location, and the people. You know it is going to be good when the person at the holiday company has taken his own family there on holiday - more than once).
Simone is the owner and host at Casa Carbonaia. He really is fantastic. A great welcome followed by super hospitality throughout. Nothing too much trouble. Great advice and just very relaxing. The location is excellent - bautiful setting - in the olive groves (incidentally - you can buy the organic olive oil from Simone harvested from the estate) - high in the hills - great pool. Just lovely.
The activities were great. Our kids are 15 and 13. Not sure we really read the small print before we arrrived - but glad we didn't as we might have thought it was going to be too much. But we loved it all - even the caving. The Canyoning was the highlight - although our Son quite enjoyed the montain biking too! Simone is the guide and instructor in all these activites. He is a member of the Tuscan mountain rescue team - so knows what he is doing. But he is a great teacher - very patient - and explains things well. Safety is clearly key. He has a great team too. Till - one of the helps - from Germany - but lives in Vinci - works as a violin maker (went to see his workshop) - but was a lovely guy too and really interesting to talk to.
As I write this all the good memories come flooding back. Oh yes - that reminds me - the final night - make your own pizza in the outdoor pizza oven - eating outside as the sun sets around you - drinking local wine..................you get the picture!!
Would highly recommend Simone, Casa Carbonaia, and Activities Abroad (who we have used before to go on a winter holiday to Lapland - also great).
Go there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinnerup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have had an amazing week at Casa Carbonaia together with nice people from England, Ireland and Scotland. Simone and his crew took always professional good care of us. The torcana surroundings and the old farm just did the rest for a pleasant stay in the heart of Toscana.. Thanks for a great week and we hope to be back some day..
Best regards from Karin, Jacob, Nicolai and Torben, Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjejensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmeath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

We have been staying in Casa Carbonaia on holidays for the past six years,
It offers everything you want for a great holiday,
You have a great train service within ten minutes,
Visit all the the major citys, or just stay in this lovely setting
It sure is a little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelliewellysmelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vinci hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#4 of 4 in Vinci
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Dianella
Villa Dianella
#1 of 9 in Vinci
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel MonnaLisa
Hotel MonnaLisa
#2 of 4 in Vinci
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#1 of 4 in Vinci
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agriturismo Spazzavento
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Piastrino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Carbonaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Carbonaia

Property: Casa Carbonaia
Address: Via Santa Lucia 11, 50059 Vinci, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Vinci
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Vinci
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Carbonaia: a peaceful place, where you can really plunge into nature, walking along unbeaten paths in natural oak and chestnut forest or rather swimming in the big 7x14 meters pool or riding our professional mountain bikes. Our walking or biking guided-tours will allow you to discover the birthplace of the world-wide known genius Leonardo da Vinci. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing