We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience, La Stalla is about more than just the food”
Review of La Stalla

La Stalla
Ranked #33 of 237 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: US$17 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our family style restaurant, with its blackened stone walls from the hearth, serves delicious traditional Umbrian food. Enjoy a variety of dishes from the wood-fired grill or the many other entrees available. Closed on Wednesday.
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
“Fantastic experience, La Stalla is about more than just the food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was maybe my favorite restaurant in all of Italy. The food was good, nothing that will blow your socks off, but solid. It was the atmosphere and experience that really set this place apart. Very few tourists here, lots of locals. You might be sitting family style if you go here (we did), which was fine by us. English is barely spoken here, but the people are very friendly and accommodating. An accordion player and violinist came through for a few songs which the whole restaurant sang along with. It was almost the Italian version of a Hofbrauhaus.

Highly recommend going to this place, but go later (8pm or so) to catch the rest of the local crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    456
    172
    74
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torre Del Greco, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Italian meal!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

If you wish to taste the experience of Umbria food , you are going at right place! BBQ meat (all kind) , nice pasta dishes and great dessert! The atmosphere is great in summer as in winter ..... staff super friendly and helpful! The price accessible and honest.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pepprom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL LUNCH”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This restaurant is slightly outside the town..The cab driver managed to take us the 'long and scenic route' for 20euro's...but it was worth it! he asked for the return journey and was waiting for us on time..The ride back was equallt as long but over the other side of the town..for another 20 euros... still among four of us it was worth it..

Walking fromn the town can be done but its uphill all the way and would take some time at a leisurely pace

Arrive at the restaurant early it fills up quickly - They only take cash
The welcome and service excellent...lovely non formal atmosphere..Open fire BBQ
House red great.

The food was probably the best simple cooked that I have been fortunate enough to experience
Its great...well worth the visit - only wish we could of revisited

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a wonderful experience!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we decided to walk here for lunch after it was recommended by several people. we got directions - only a 600m walk. of course, that is all uphill! Once we were there, we enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. I would definitely say if you are in Assisi, you need to eat here. nothing is rushed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you want a silver service, if you are in a rush, if you love Zizzi or Prezzo (or any "Italian" chain restaurants), if you love tourists menus, etc... Well that's definitely the wrong place for you

Sit back relax and enjoy the whatsoever food available on the menu and the authentic italian way to run a restaurant

We have been there the first time 20 years ago and then every 10 years, this place didn't change and we never been disappointed
If for any reason you are a couple hours driving from Assisi is worth the trip, if not and you are in Italy you have the excuse re-visit the town

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ayaenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Stalla also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Stalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing