We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot for lunch!”

Osteria Piazzetta dell'Erba
Ranked #4 of 237 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top spot for lunch!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Group of 7 diners with a variety of dishes all excellently prepared with super fresh ingredients and presented on the plate in a very modern fashion. Portion size is very good. Very friendly and attentive service with waiters having some English. Nice little terrace to sit outside and characterful inside dining.
Good value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    789
    302
    56
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well-Deserved Praise!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had dinner here twice when we were in Assisi this month. The food was the best we had in Umbria. Not a large menu, but what was offered was prepared very well. On the second visit, my husband and I mentioned to the waiter that we'd like to share all of our dishes (the antipasto, the pasta, and the second). We were surprised and pleased to see that the staff took the time and made the effort to divide each course between two separate plates, one for my husband and one for me (rather than just handing one of us an empty plate). Honestly, no restaurant has ever done this so beautifully for us before. What a lovely surprise that was. And another lovely surprise was the dish that was presented gratis before our ordered courses began arriving. One night it was a plate of fava beans in their pods, cheese wedges, and two small squares of focaccia, and the second night it was suppli (fried, filled rice balls, something like croquettes). Apart from the food, the wait staff was exceptional. It was professional and friendly service, quick but not so as to rush you, and with genuine smiles and panache. I can't say enough for this place. It's small, a little off to the side in the main square in Assisi, but well worth the effort to locate. Don't miss it. It's fine dining in an area that is full of tourists, and the price is very reasonable for the experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sfogliatelle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castel San Gimignano, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A chance discovery, this was one of the best meals I have ever eaten! Excellent service, wonderful ambience, delicious food and inexpensive. Go there if you are in Assisi, it is well worth the visit!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock
Level Contributor
225 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Authentic Umbrian”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We came across Osteria Piazzetta dell' Erba by walking out of the main piazza in Assisi and going up one of the side streets and that turned out to be a great decision. When we sat down we looked around to see what other people were eating and asked our server what each was. To our surprise the dishes were predominantly local Umbrian fare and not your typical tourist dishes that you would expect in such a highly visiited location such as Assisi. The food was outstanding and the service first rate. My suggestion would be to bypass the restaurants with views of the piazza in favour of this one which will give you great food and great service something the others will be lacking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cammer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic lasagne”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Any chance to get the recipe for the lasagne with eggplant, tomatoes and barrata? It was delicious. I shared my meal with others at the table and they were equally impressed with the light pasta and super light sauce. It is unique to me, and I would love the recipe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Piazzetta dell'Erba also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria Piazzetta dell'Erba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing