We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location in a barrel-vaulted cellar”

Restaurant Medioevo
Ranked #45 of 238 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Medio Evo restaurant is a special location with vaults of medieval times, the 700/800 made with the pink stone of Assisi, rich in architectural elements of the I and III century AC, from the Roman period a few steps from Piazza the Municipality. A careful search for raw materials, all fresh, seasonal, local products KM.Zero and national high quality and the experience and passion of William for good food, come wisely revisited dishes that rediscover the Umbrian tradition and that make up menus that change from time to time depending on the period.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Nice location in a barrel-vaulted cellar”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

They do food well here. We had a very simple mixed salad that had a perfect vinaigrette. Then, mixed griiled veg (green pepper, eggplant, thin zucchini, and radicchio) and mixed grilled meats. We also had very good tagliatelli with artichokes and white beans from the nearby Lago Trasimeno area (that needed onion and salt). Total cost was 50 Euros.

The server was nice and helpful. The background music was very pleasant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    111
    41
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have visited the Medioevo a few times in the past and really enjoyed the experience so decided to go again despite the apparent decline reported in recent reviews. We should have heeded the warnings of our fellow trip advisers. We went on a Tuesday evening (a rather cold and wet Tuesday which didn't help) and were the only ones there. I suppose this should have sounded alarm bells as the Metastasio (similar prices) had been pleasantly buzzing the week before. We selected the tasting menu which we had enjoyed once before. The antipasto was good and the pasta course acceptable although nothing special. The meat course was just about OK - flavoursome if a bit tough and a little gristly in places - severely underdone for my husband's taste, but that was our fault not the restaurant's for failing to request it more cooked. The dessert was very disappointing. Whereas on previous occasions this had been delicate tastes of various desserts, on this occasion we were served three great lumps of different cake. The accompanying wines for the dishes were OK - but nothing like the quality we have been served here before.
We did raise our concerns with the waiter - and to be fair to the guy he did change one of the wines for us and threw in coffee ( not literally!). He described at some length the difficult economic situation Italy finds itself in (and actually was very interesting to talk to on the subject) and the difficulty of running a restaurant in these circumstances. But this does not, I feel, fully explain why two different establishments in the same city in the same price bracket should be suffering such different fortunes. The Metastasio buzzed. This place was cavernously empty despite being in a beautiful room with vaulted ceilings a stone's throw from the main square. One clue might have been the almost surreal experience of seeing a member of the kitchen staff enter the dining room, sit down at a table facing the dining room almost like a teacher at the head of the class and then proceed to bellow into her mobile phone setting up a date for the following evening! A gentle suggestion to the waiter that this was really not the sort of thing one expected in an establishment with pretensions to quality was met with a shrug and the 'reason' that the employee was not Italian and came from a different culture.
This is a place we have enjoyed before but will not be going back - which is a great pity - and in all honesty I could not recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank su51090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I was pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

after some of the more recent reviews I was pleasantly surprised.

The service was good, the food was good both time and well flavoured.

the house wine was decent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing really attractive here”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Food definitely mediocre. Portion not well cooked and of poor quality.
Service slow and badly synchronized.
Wines with a very limited choice and in general of quite low standard.
It a place where you don't really feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brunomirasole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I visit Assisi every year, usually alone. I wasn't alone this year, so I took the opportunity to try at Medioevo a dish I'd wanted for years but had never tried because it was "for two". Why a risotto could only be prepared for two, I could never understand. However, we went and tried it. It was very good. But we were left with a sour taste because of the waiter's attitude of partially suppressed scorn and mockery at my refusal to order a drink (my mom had a glass of wine). The simple fact that restaurants have a huge margin of profit on drinks does not justify slight derisive sarcasm towards customers who refuse to play the game.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ysera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Medioevo also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Restaurant Medioevo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing