We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food in a Beautiful Setting!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taverna dei Consoli

Taverna dei Consoli
Ranked #10 of 232 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Springdale, Arkansas
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a Beautiful Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We ate dinner at this lovely restaurant after spending the day sight-seeing in Assisi. We did not have reservations, but stumbled upon this restaurant while walking through town. We were glad we did.

The ambiance is wonderful in this restaurant. It is quite elegant and reminiscent of what one would expect in old-town Italy. The lights are dimmed; the setting is perfect for a date or for a nice dinner with friends and family. The service is also fantastic. Our waiter was very pleasant and accommodating in every aspect of the word.

We dined on homemade pasta with wild boar, potato dumplings with gorgonzola cheese and macaroni with cream, sausages and truffles. Everything was quite delicious. It's a shame we were only able to visit once because of our schedule, but we plan to dine here again the next time we are in Assisi. I very highly recommend this wonderful establishment.

For the three of us, our dinner totaled 41.75 Euros. This included the dishes mentioned above, 1/2 liter of Vino Rosso,mineral waters and bread.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    254
    80
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Dining on a main square can sometimes be disappointing or even a rip-off but that was certainly not the case here. The food is excellent and the service very efficient yet at the same time friendly. Not all the waiters speak English but they more than make up for it with their smiles and the menu is in both languages. From the balcony there is a panoramic view of the main square but because Assisi is less crowded in the evenings and virtually traffic free the experience of 'people watching' to the sound of an occasional street musician is an absolute pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brambleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
348 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“terrific location, very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

A gorgeous verandah setting above the main Piazza in Assisi. The service was very friendly and efficient and the food very good. Also there were lots of delicious vegetarian and gluten-free options, including gluten-free pasta. It was a wonderful place to sit and watch the passers-by, the fountain and relax.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dinner on the veranda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Business dinner here in early June - wonderful balcony overlooking center of town. Food quite tasty - didn't see the bill since business dinner so not sure how pricey but food was excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBlade1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Worth the visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The meat was very good, we enjoyed the dinner with a beautiful view, the service was so good and very friendly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele Bettio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna dei Consoli also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna dei Consoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing