We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“somebody tired in the kitchen”

Ristorante da Cecco
Ranked #38 of 232 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“somebody tired in the kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was expecting a simple but authentic trattoria dinner. I was disappointed with a minestrone that tasted of nothing and looked suspiciously symmetrically chopped. Surprised that no "New Olive Oil" (december is the month of the Olio nuovo) . Tired food and tired service, but not so tired price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank vittoriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    159
    57
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a little restaurant that we found while walking in the beautiful streets of Assisi. We had a bad experience on an elegant restaurant the previous night and were wondering where to dine that night. It was the best thing happened to us. Is a trattoria type of restaurant, very rustic ambiance but beautiful. Small, very cozy and family oriented. The owner serves her clients and is a wonderful, courteous lady, her husband takes care of the kitchen. Everything is homemade and delicious. We dine twice at this place. Try their cannelloni ....are to die for. If you are planning to visit Assisi don't go to other place, you will love it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chispi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
194 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stopped in here for lunch because it was close to our hotel and I'd seen here on TripAdvisor. It did not disappoint. I'd have to say this was the best meal we had in our two days in Assisi. We both got pasta dishes and they were superb. I had a ravioli with gorgonzola and walnuts, and it was just phenomenal. The wine was very good as well. We happened to get there right before what looked to be a big lunch rush, so the service got a little slower, but they were legitimately busy. I noticed that everyone else there was Italian (which is so often not the case with highly rated places) and there were a lot of families with children and people who seemed to be known to the staff. I thought that it said a lot that there seemed to be "regulars" and locals that go there. I'm so glad we stopped there and if we're ever back in Assisi we'll definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TylerAnne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
827 reviews
535 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide recommended this little place. Everything homemade and the atmosphere amazing. Owner a gem although the waitress was not too friendly. Food was dust delicious!!

Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A Gem in Assisi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here today based on
a suggestion and was not disappointed. Place is cute and the bathrooms are clean. Food was fresh and delicious. Try the mushroom ravioli with a truffle sauce and of course you must get the tiramisu. Glad we decided to
eat here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante da Cecco also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Ristorante da Cecco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing