We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Country House!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of County House Il Roseto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
County House Il Roseto
Ranked #2 of 142 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fabulous Country House!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Our group spent 2 nights at Il Rosetto en route to Lake Como from the Amalfi. The rooms in general are really spacious for a B&B, good quality bedding, immaculately clean, have good quality air conditioning and all are ensuite. Go for a superior double and you will have excellent views from your window of Assisi - this town viewed from a distance is like something out of a fairy tale!
An added bonus is the swimming pool which was great to cool off in after a day up in the town.
Il Rosetto is in very close proximity to Assisi and the bus stop is just across the road - take it to the last stop (at the top of the town) and work your way down through the town to the Basilica then it’s just a short walk back to house (down hill). You can also drive up and pay for parking and the road is pretty wide, or you can just walk into town as it is not far.
Our host Massimo made us feel welcome from the very first moment; he speaks very good English and is a real character always having fun with the guests.
Assisi is a wonderful town which is maintained to an excellent standard, it has great views of the countryside, the Basilica of St Francis, numerous excellent churches, loads of shopping and great restaurants.
Il Roseto - highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    51
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
89
278
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at the Roseto a week ago and had a lovely break for 3 days. Massimo and his Family made us very welcome and provided us with a charming room. It felt like being at home with someone attending to all your needs. Location and views are fantastic within walking distance of the charming town of Assisi. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterCN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were there in late May for four nights, and each day was delightful. Thanks go to Massimo, his wife and chef Rosita, and the grand dame Mama Guilia, all of whom were simply wonderful. Our room, the beautiful gardens, delicious dinners, and the views of the old town of Assisi combined to make our stay a very special memory we will long remember.

Room Tip: We loved room 3, with its second floor balcony giving us a wonderful view of the old town both day a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanford1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Il Roseto as the first stop from our trip from the US. We were exhausted and Massimo upgraded our rooms (3 of us traveling, my husband and his sister). We do not care to drive when we travel so we walked from the train station, but Massimo said we should have called him instead. The nicest thing about the trip was the driver he arranged for us. The property is a little bit of a walk to the center (although there is a bus) - but with only one day in Assisi the driver was ideal. They made us eggs for breakfast - but do note you have to specify what you want as when you walk in you find some basic items, but they very quickly flxed what we needed.
Both our rooms had a big terrace with a beautiful view of Assisi where we enjoyed a glass of wine. Do note that there is a little store within walking distance who carried good wines. It was convenient to have dinner at the B&B as we were too tired to go out, so another plus although there were a couple of restaurants within walking distance. Thank you Massimo and his family for a great stay!

Room Tip: We had upgraded rooms which had the terraces. Do note that the upstairs room has low ceilints, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at il rose to recently and had a wonderful stay. Massimo and his wife Rosita are wonderful host. They made us feel at home. We ate dinner at their restaurant both nights and the food was delicious. Everything was perfect. We will definitely go back to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyandEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days/1 night stay at this lovely country house when we visited Assisi in early December. Conveniently located, the serene and peaceful surroundings set the tone for our stay.The clean, rustic country styled rooms had a very cosy ambience and overlooked the view of Assisi but sadly, as it was very foggy for 2 days, we missed out on the stunning views. Nonetheless, the day we arrived, we eagerly set out to explore the city of Assisi which we reached by foot within 15 minutes. As there was an in-house restaurant, we made dinner reservations with Rosita, our friendly & gracious host, for that evening. Without any regrets, it turned out to be one the best Italian dining experience for us coupled with the homely atmosphere which really warmed us up. Compliments to Rosita, who prepared a tasty and delightful 4-course traditional meal for us and even changed the main course menu for my husband to suit his special diet. We also had the pleasure of the company of the owner's affectionate mother, Guilia throughout dinner. The fellowship we had with her, Rosita and their sweet daughter was amazing and although they spoke very little English, we still had a lively interaction and ended up learning a few Italian words. To celebrate my husband's birthday, he was surprised with a sliced chocolate cake topped with a birthday candle, which really made his day. The next morning, we were spoilt for choice with a yummy breakfast spread of tart cakes, croissants, bread, breakfast cereals, jams, tea & espresso!! There were other special touches which made our stay very memorable. As we planned to leave Assisi much later than expected, without any prompting, Rosita suggested we keep our luggage in a guest room which we can come back to collect and even freshen ourselves up before our departure. Such a thoughtful gesture sets them apart from other establishments. We are appreciative of the attention shown and as Guilia bade us goodbye at the gates, we hope to return to this beautiful place again. Truly, this short but meaningful holiday In Assisi will always be fondly remembered and treasured by us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CnHLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The room and presentation of the country house was lovely. The staff were friendly, and the experience of residing with the family, was a memorable experience. We were given ideas for day trips and things to see and do even in the bad weather we encountered. Massimo was a real character and knew how to create atmosphere.

We took advantage of the half-board option, choosing to dine each of the three nights we stayed. The first night, we were accompanied with a few other guests and the four course meal was exceptional. The second evening, it was just us, along with some family or friends of the owners, and again, the food was lovely but the presenation and quality was noticeably lower than the night before. On the third and final night, we were the only two guests dining and the quality of the meal was below the standard paid for.

We have rated the service low due to our difficult check-in and check-out experience. We made prior arrangements in writing through email for a midday check in and upon arrival were advised that the room was not ready, as the guests were only just leaving. Despite advising we had received written confirmation of the early check-in (and preparedness to show this), we were told that early check-in was simply not available and that it had to have been our misunderstanding. To rectify the situation, we were advised to wait for half an hour in the reception area while the room was made up. We were advised the room was ready by a shout out down the hallway, to which we promptly heading in that direction, only to find that the lady was busy checking out other guests. We waited awkwardly in the hallway for further directions to our room, only to be ushered towards our room with a gesture. Fortunately, we knew we had booked the top suite, so we could locate our room ourselves. There was no introduction to our room, or explanation provided on the operation of the multitude of electronics in the room.

When checking-out we had difficulties with the agreed amount of our stay, which we also had written confirmation of via email. Again, it was put back on us that it was our misunderstanding of the rate policy, despite having written confirmation of the deposit made and balance owing. We spent 20 minutes discussing at great the length the rate calculation, until the secretary was called and it was sorted. We were also charged for drinks in the mini bar (ie. water and soft drink), despite being advised upon arrival these were complimentary. If this was our misunderstanding, there should be a price list available in the room for the mini-bar.

Unfortunately, the overall rating has been brought down by poor customer service and inability to take account for adminstration mishaps.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swarvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosetoAssisi, Proprietario at County House Il Roseto, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for your review. We would like to explain you and tripadvisor's readers what really happened. We never guarantee check-in before 2 p.m. (and will never do it again): in your case we wrote earlier check-in than usual because November is low season and we normally have check-outs at 11 so by 12.30 a room (if just one) is ready. Unfortunately, despite we advised them, guests occupying your room wouldn't leave by 11 a.m. so we run out to be A LITTLE late. Please note that you had to wait less than half an hour. The problem is that I was not there upon check-in (I came half an hour later) and my wife does not speak any English so maybe check-in was not so complete and full of information as you would have appreciated. We are sorry about that. However, nobody told that minibar was free of charge (bar is full of beverages of any kind). It is never free of charge. And sorry also about misunderstanding upon check-out, but right after I called my secretary everything was sorted out and you paid exactly what you were expected to pay and nothing more or less. As for dinner, it is different every night because we like to make our guests taste different meals and typical dishes, so maybe your complain about the third night is about the fact that you were alone (but it is not ouf fault), the quality is always the same.
We work with passion and take care of our guests and we are sorry that in your case we did not meet your expectations. We hope you will come again to our place so that we can offer you a better treatment (with check-in from 2 p.m.!). Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.3 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza
Hotel La Terrazza
#2 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County House Il Roseto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County House Il Roseto

Property: County House Il Roseto
Address: Viale Patrono d'Italia, 77, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House il Roseto is situated between Assisi and Santa Maria degli Angeli, with wonderful view of the city of Assisi. Il Roseto is conveniently located, both Assisi and Santa Maria degli Angeli can easily be reached on foot. Free watched parking, big rose garden with swimming-pool and Jacuzzi. 8 rooms and suites with ensuite bathroom, Jacuzzi, TV even in bathroom, private terraces with breathtaking views. A typical restaurant is available every day with the best selection of wines and local food. Restaurant prices: 25 euros per person, drinks not included. A lovely peaceful place a few steps from Assisi, ideal to reach all the most important attractions in Umbria. Recommendend for leisure and business clients (all business facilities available, no conference facilities). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your County House Il Roseto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing