We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel in an awesome little city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lieto Soggiorno
Ranked #30 of 142 Assisi B&B and Inns
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel in an awesome little city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

My best friend and I booked hotel Alexander in Assisi last year via booking.com and a few days before our arrival we got a call from booking.com informing us that the hotel was overbooked and we can choose any other hotel we want in the same star and they will book for us at no additional cost even if the hotel we choose was more expensive. We did not want to spend our holiday checking emails and communicating with booking.com so we decided to thank them and book ourselves. We searched a few hotels and decided to Lietto Soggiorno (despite it being 2 stars) because of the great reviews we read.

We did not regret it. The hotel is a gem in Assisi. Very small but feels like home. The owner and probably his relative/daughter are running the hotel themselves. They are very friendly and make you feel like you've been invited to spend a holiday at a relative's place.

The location is excellent, St. Francesco Basilica is at the end of the street upwards (8 min walk) and Santa Clara is at the end of the street downwards! The hotel is central to all other attractions and little shops in the city. Breakfast is delicious and the owner sits and serves guests himself.
The double room was small but cozy and we did not have any problems placing our 2 suitcases in it. The bathroom is also small but you have a shower, toilet and sink. I dont remember if there was a bidet.

The only negative thing I found in the hotel was the lack of air condition in the rooms. If you go in the summer, it is quite hot and uncomfortable.

We are going to Assisi again end of October and I am booking in Lietto Soggiorno since the weather will not be hot any more!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmamassoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    56
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
54
104
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This place is exactly what you would think of a Bed & Breakfast in Italy. The lay out of the property was unique and we really enjoyed the owner. He knew it was our honeymoon so he surprised us with some snacks and champagne. The location is in the middle of the city and a great spot to start from each day. We traveled during a very hot time throughout Italy so we made sure to get the room with A/C. Coming to a B&B like this is the true way to experience Italy so you need to be open minded about differences from a hotel in the US vs. a B&B run by a local in the heart of a medieval village. Over all Assisi was a highlight of our trip and this B&B is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is in a perfect spot for exploring Assisi, as it is near the main piazza and since Assisi is entirely on a hill, it is half-way down to the basilica, and half-way up to other churches and sites at the east side. The "suite" is great - large and well-equipped, except for that quirky shower. Just be sure to use the bathroom for everything else first, then have at it with the shower! We were in Assisi during a heat wave so used the shower a lot...and there is no air conditioning in the room, but we got some relief (not enough during the day) from a fan. Assisi is like a pizza oven; the stone buildings and streets absorb the heat all day, then radiate it out at night!
The breakfast was not extensive - the only fruit was a basket of apples. But we weren't hungry anyways because of the heat. The service was fine, and we were brought a tray with cold drinks when we checked in.
One glitch: when we went to check out, we were told the credit card machine wasn't working. We'll never know why (or if), and it could have been a problem since we were heading to the train station. The lesson is to always carry enough euros to settle your bill in cash if necessary...

Room Tip: Ask for the "suite"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We had an amazing stay at the hotel. Vincenzo is absolutely the sweetest man we met in Italy. We got into Assisi very late on the night of our check-in (close to midnight) and he waiting up for us with a warm greeting. He upgraded our room to his charming suite to celebrate our honeymoon, and made sure everything was perfect for us. The room was beautiful and large, the breakfast was filling and tasty. We even ate at his daughter's restaurant a few blocks a way and had a delicious dinner there as well. We love the Hotel Lieto Soggiorno, Vincenzo, and Assisi!

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which is very large and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed at this lovely small hotel in November. Vincenzo, the owner, was very warm and welcoming. He speaks a little English and I speak very little Italian, but we communicated just fine none the less! He helped us unload our luggage and then rode with us to the parking lot a couple of minutes away. Assisi is not easy to navigate by car, so it was a relief to have him accompany us instead of just giving directions. On our walk back to the hotel he suggested a couple of restaurants and wine bars we passed along the way. We had our choice of two rooms when we arrived, both were small but very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The room we chose also had a daybed so we had a place to put our luggage, etc. The shower in the bathroom was small, but typical for Italy. We were served a satisfying breakfast each morning by Vincenzo. Assisi is a beautiful little town and the hotel is very centrally located. I highly recommend a visit to Assisi and a stay at the very lovely Hotel Lieto Soggiorno.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We were not driving, but traveling by train, so we had no concerns with parking. We arrived to a warm greeting, after which we were informed that we had a choice between a two room suite or the honeymoon suite with the arch over the bed. We chose the latter, and it was impressively comfortable. We were then brought complimentary water for all three in our party. Breakfast was personal with a good assortment of items. Being in the center of Assisi it was a bit of a walk from the bus stop, but well worth every step. We encountered some extraordinary difficulties with our reservations at our next destination after Assisi, and the Vincenzos when out of their way to try to help us resolve those concerns by making phone calls and other contacts on our behalf. We will without question be staying with the Vincenzos when we return to Assisi.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJfromRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

My college-aged son and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on a 10 day road trip. The owner Vincenzo, his wife, and their darling little dachshund Carlotta, couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly. We had a nice room with twin beds and a lovely large bath with an enclosed shower. Breakfast was large and plentiful in comparison to the usual continental fare with meats and cheeses. The hotel is conveniently located in town and we had two lovely dinners at restaurants recommended by Vincenzo. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFgal_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#31 of 72 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#24 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#25 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Case Brizi
Case Brizi
#14 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casina Colorata
La Casina Colorata
#21 of 142 in Assisi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lo Scudo
Lo Scudo
#72 of 142 in Assisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lieto Soggiorno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lieto Soggiorno

Property: Hotel Lieto Soggiorno
Address: Via Arnaldo Fortini 26, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lieto Soggiorno 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center near San Francesco cathedral and Santa Chiara church. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lieto Soggiorno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing