We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not live up to expectations”
Review of Grand Hotel Assisi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Assisi
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
533 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The good - attractive grounds, nice pool and great deck with beautiful views. The bad - food so-so, very rude desk staff, moldy smell in the hall (but not in the room), broken hairdryer, room safe did not lock, thin bathroom towels and no towels at the pool. Crucifixes in all rooms and many pictures of Saint Francis helped the atmosphere. The rooms, although fairly small, were comfortable.

Room Tip: Be sure to check that your safe and hair dryer work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    247
    110
    38
    12
See reviews for
139
243
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We (my parents and I) stayed for 2 nights, part of a pilgrimage group. The room was clean and spacious & everything was fine. And the garden! It was lovely to walk along the footpaths, at the end of which you are rewarded with a stunning view of Assisi in the valley below. Priceless! We had breakfast and dinner here. Food was OK. All told, a lovely hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiaJohorBahru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Awesome hotel, nice bar, nice pool, gorgeous gardens. Restaurant was very good also. Only negative about this place is its very secluded so you are dependent on the hotel bar and restaurant for the evening.

Room Tip: Get one of the garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevinKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This hotel was the BEST. All amenities were great - room, internet services, front desk, porterage, dining, ALL. Its lobby had these quaint little corners worth taking pictures of.

Best of all, our room had a view of the city. The Basilica of San Francesco was seen from our room window. Made for the perfect pictures in the early morning and during sunset.

I had the best time in this hotel and if I do come back to Assisi this is the only hotel I will book in.

Room Tip: Choose the room to the end of the hallway to have a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Great hotel, great staff, great manager. Took a group of 165 for a three country event tour with Dr. Wayne Dyer and this property was an excellent choice. Service was friendly and spoke English well. They are well connected and will get you whatever your heart desires in this beautiful region of Umbria in Assisi, Italy. Hotel is modern with a full service SPA and an enclosed pool with terry cloth lounging chairs and plenty of spaces throughout the property to sit and enjoy the fantastic views of the Umbria valley. At night, everyone gathered in the lobby to enjoy cocktail from their full service bar. Food is very good served buffet style with a varied selection of cuisine to choose from. Rooms are moderately sized - actually a good size for European rooms in this region. The top end suites (a total of six) with terraces are MUST haves. Talk about a room with a view. The hotel is just 10 minutes from Assisi in Taxi or many walked. It is a hike though as you are on top of a hill. There is internet usage. The bathrooms are clean and updated. No shower curtains in the bathrooms though which was surprising and the towels are linen which is quite a drying challenge but that was the only thing that I can question regarding this amazing property. Lots of spaces outside also to talk and enjoy the skylit nights of Umbria. I highly recommend this property and will bring my business their way again without any hesitation. It is the place to be in this region.

Room Tip: Choose the top end suites located on their own wing in this property with the Terraces. These are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IbisKaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel is outside the walls of Asissi. It has interesting modern public areas. Our room was very small but clean with well-organized functional space. It is the first hotel that I've ever stayed in that had a crucifix in the room. As usual in the Italian hotels we stayed in - the beds were extra-extra firm. The towels were linen - like trying to dry yourself off with a dishtowel. They did have an alarm clock - the only hotel that provided one during our tour. They had two computers in the lobby for public use. Pretty views of a beautiful area of Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel was surprising in how modern it was and the unexpected features of it - for one, a pool! It also has a nice bar, a restaurant on the lower floor and many nice outdoor sitting areas for chatting with friends or for solitude. A car is necessary because it is outside of the town and walking would be a challenge.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be about the same in size and location does not matter - you are in the coun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank km0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.9 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.1 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Assisi

Property: Grand Hotel Assisi
Address: Via G. Renzi, 2, 06081, Assisi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Umbria, Grand Hotel Assisi welcomes you in one of the most fascinating cities of Italy, a symbol of history, art and religion for the whole world. Easily accessible, Grand Hotel Assisi dominates from Mount Subasio all the beautiful Umbrian valley, with a single glance that ranges from Assisi to Perugia and Foligno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing