We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel a Stroll away From Historic Assisi”
Review of Grand Hotel Assisi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Assisi
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Perth western australia
Level Contributor
443 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel a Stroll away From Historic Assisi”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

You cant go wrong with this hotel whilst staying in Assisi.The Hotel and grounds are immaculate with sweeping views over the lower Assisi and walking distance from the ancient town of Assisi.The rooms are very small but well appointed and spotless.The beds were the worst Ive slept on being very hard and I had a restless night.The buffet dinner was amazing and again the buffet breakfast was huge.This is a large hotel and caters to groups so there will always be alot of people coming and going.Not small and intimate.The staff at reception were fantastic and very proffessional
In our room we had a TV but the remote didnt work.No tea & coffee facilities.There was a fridge somewhere in the room but we didnt see it or need it.The worst thing was the card to the door.It took at least 10 mins every time to get the door to open.Very frustrating.The hallway smelt awful of dirty people over the years.Not pleasant.Some rooms had view but ours didnt but at least you had a doors access to the outside.Overall I would recommend it though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing down the hill onto the stunning countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caddyandbellA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    249
    111
    39
    12
See reviews for
139
250
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were on a group tour in October 2012. This was one of the best hotels we stayed at. It was such a same that we only stayed for one night. The lobby was fantastic most especially their bar. The restaurant was great, the servers were good. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lolyn217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Such a beautiful hotel, with nice lobby, beautiful garden. Very pleasant stay.
The almost excellent stay was spoilt by a Big Sized female waitress ( 40 plus, without glasses ) in the restaurant during breakfast who was rude. She used her finger and unfriendly tone to chasten some China guest about putting break in the toaster. I think, she totally spoilt their stay.
The other staff were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiderman4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed overnight at the Roseo during a pilgrimage tour of Italy in NOV 2012. This property was the nicest of the 4 places I used during the two weeks. The restaurant food and service was great. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olefaithful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Room was nice but small as usual in Europe. Wonderful view from window which opened. Wonderful and ineresting lobby. Room numbering a little confusing since one floor up contained rooms numbered 500. Food at hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on a Riviera Tour. We arrived in the dark and left in the morning, so we missed the opportunity to take advantage of what looks like a lovely location. The hotel itself had a large lobby area with an unusual decor of what appeared to be trees growing through the hotel (must be faux, but rather lovely) and several comfortable seating areas.

Our room was quite small, but clean and rather cozy, though scarcely enough room to store our luggage in the narrow hallway from the corridor. I will say they made the most of the space in the room with shelving built along the wall that was nicely attractive. #15 of the Travelers Photos shows a room that is identical to the one we were assigned. There was a tiny TV placed on a corner shelf on a raised level. We had no time to watch TV and were truly there only to have a place to lay our heads after a day of travel and a stop in the charming town of Assisi, so it was of no matter to us.

The bathroom was equally economical in space, but it did contain the rare bathtub, which was most welcome. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were excellent and the staff managed to keep the food replenished despite the numerous tour groups dining simultaneously. Overall, the hotel was nicely maintained and immaculately clean. Wish we had time to use the indoor swimming pool, which looks quite lovely - or to enjoy what appears to be a tranquil and lovely setting.

The hotel would be a good choice for those in the area to visit the Basilica, as it is in close proximity - a short drive - and for those wanting a relaxing and fairly serene location, but not for those who plan to spend a lot of time in the room due to the small size. We found everything to be in working order and definitely adequate for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsb040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I spent 3 days in Assisi in August 2012 with my husband and my daughter (3 years old). Our staying at Roseo Hotel was really great. The hotel is modern, well kept, very nicely decorated, has a beautiful garden with olive trees and a view over the valley. There is an indoor swimming pool, very nice in the summer. Rooms are comfortable, with WIFI access. What we mostly enjoyed, however, was the service: we have rarely seen a hotel staff so corteous and professional, extremely attentive and responsive to our needs, patient with the children. Our forfait included breakfast (a copious buffet) and a seated dinner (food based on local specialties and extremely well prepared). The hotel is located outside Assisi and its location, although nice and quiet, is not the easiest to find. However, given what it offers, it is worth while looking for it. The hotel also offers a free shuttle service to Assisi, which makes going into town much easier.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorella101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
1.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#5 of 71 in Assisi
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Assisi

Property: Grand Hotel Assisi
Address: Via G. Renzi, 2, 06081, Assisi, Italy (Formerly Grand Hotel dei Congressi Assisi)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Umbria, Grand Hotel Assisi welcomes you in one of the most fascinating cities of Italy, a symbol of history, art and religion for the whole world. Easily accessible, Grand Hotel Assisi dominates from Mount Subasio all the beautiful Umbrian valley, with a single glance that ranges from Assisi to Perugia and Foligno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing