We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No 1 for a reason”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
S.Wales
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No 1 for a reason”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here at the end of a walking holiday & it was the perfect place to relax. The rooms are crisply modern but comfortable & the staff were all friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening and we were very impressed with everything. The breakfast was extremely good too.
The best bit was the spa though. What a fabulous space. You really feel like you are in a genuine Roman Bath. The pool is fantastic with all sorts of funky waves & bubbles - you almost don't need the jacuzzi. The steam rooms were amazing too. I didn't have any treatments but looking back I wish I had.

I really would recommend this hotel and spa - it was simply lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddiefatpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    120
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
77
574
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Imagine yourself sublimely enjoying the ambiance of the white and cream tones and clean lines; soaking in the old Roman stone thermal spa; dining on delicious artisanal cuisine; basking in the sun in the rosemary and lavender herb garden with a view of the rolling hills as the clouds spill over Monte Subasio just behind. This is a stunning mix of appropriately balanced modern luxury combined with the antiquity of the original Roman site and convent. The staff are very pleasant and welcoming and were extremely accommodating to every request that was made. We will certainly return. We stayed in room #12 and were very pleased with the suite.

Room Tip: The rooms with best views are facing the castle (rather than facing the inner garden) but unfortunat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Our group of 7 (including three teenagers) stayed here as a splurge for one night in August on our way to Rome from Tuscany. It was a wonderful, unique experience.
We took advantage of the spa's 4 temperature rooms, hot tub and thermal pool on multiple occasions. Use the 4 rooms in the order they recommend as it helps you to acclimatize yourself to the different temperatures. Look for the hidden jets all through the thermal pool (there are buttons on the walls and along the sides of the pool operating some unique massaging jets). They do not provide shampoo and bath gel in the change rooms so bring your own or ask at the spa desk before you go in, My son and daughter had basic cleansing facials but were not "blown away" by them. They offer more extensive facial options that are probably better but they are very expensive (180 Euros).
We also ate dinner here and the food was excellent (although one of our servers kept giving the wrong dishes to the wrong people). The breakfast that is included has great variety and the service is good.
We had three suites that overlooked the garden terrace. The beds were luxurious and the bathroom well appointed. Even the "extra" bed that was supplied for my 18yr old son was very comfortable with a thick mattress. Book well in advance for a discounted price and guaranteed underground parking option.
I would visit the Nun again if I returned to Umbria. It was truly something to remember. (They should add a fitness room though)

Room Tip: We had suites 7,8,9 with a wrap around walkway overlooking the garden terrace. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This wonderful hotel is a real five stars ! First, the renovation of the building is a success, preserving the old walls of the monastery and even the traces of the roman baths and adding all the modern, design confort everywhere. Second, the food is excellent, tasty and original. Congratulations to the chef ! And last but not least, the thermal baths are beautiful, elegant and most pleasant. You can also enjoy different massages. The staff is very professionnal and helpful and the location is ideal. We couldn't find something wrong in that place !

Room Tip: The room 16 is smaller but is the only one to have a balcony and large view on the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Arno66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

This is a dream of a place .... As soon as you see the building you know you are in for a treat. This place is heaven , the lobby , the staff , the rooms and the SPA. We have travelled always staying in 5 star luxury and boutique hotels , but this one was the best. We stayed in a room with a 1000 year old original fresco. It's an only Nunary converted in a 18 room super luxury hotel , and believe me no expense was spared when building. The have selected the best materials and the best builders. They have thought of everything ....Everything!
The staff was amaaaazing , precise , efficient and very pleasant. If you Re in Italy and are close , you must detour and stay there !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were intrigued by the descriptions on the Internet. It couldn't be that good !We were wrong ! It surpassed our expectations by far ! It is a gem in all respects.DO NOT forego the wonderful Spa. We stayed five glorious days predominantly because and for the Spa !We came by train from Rome What a horrendous experience ! THREE very difficult changes, however once we reached Nun Assisi, all our troubles faded. We ordered a taxi back to Rome. Expensive but worth every "penny".

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a balcony and got one with a magnificent view. Yes there are stairs but eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOVAssisi_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed for 6 nights whilst our kids were in Assisi on a singing tour.

Before I start on the hotel, a couple of other comments. If you hire a car from Perugia airport get an automatic with a reasonably big engine - don't settle for a manual cheap Punto with a dodgy gearbox and a small engine, it will drive you and people following you nuts as you often almost grind to a halt on the steep hills and sharp turns. The roads around Assisi are surprisingly small and difficult to navigate, so a Sat Nav is also a must.

Assisi "up the hill" is beautiful and calm with interesting churches, narrow picturesque alleyways and comfortable bars and restaurants.

One other tip, if you go to Florence (c 2 hours away), the centre is mad so if you can stomach the cost, the airport is about 15 minutes from the centre and you can park in the short stay and get a taxi each way, that way you can enjoy the city without further driving stress. (Total cost about 60 Euros).

So to the hotel. It is an old convent and has been refitted in a very modern but tasteful way. The rooms are not massive, but are comfortable with well appointed bathrooms, air conditioned and large comfortable beds.

The Spa is also amazing - I am not Spa fan and did not indulge in massages (my wife had two and thought they were great) but did do the Nun thermal path which takes you through a series of rooms from warm to steam to sauna, to fridge, followed by a pleasantly warm pool with massage jets etc. If you stay at the hotel this is included in the price and is a very relaxing and refreshing way to spend a couple of hours.

I thought the restaurant food was great, when we at it was reasonably full and had a nice atmosphere; my lamb was excellent as was the beef my wife chose. Breakfast was also included in the rate and we enjoyed a leisurely breakfast each day, including morning fresh squeezed orange juice, savouries, ham, cheese, smoked salmon and pastries, along with freshly ground coffee.

We did use the garage and I was OK with the supplement. The garage is small however, max 8 cars and it can be a squeeze. To stop people moaning about the cost I would suggest the room rate becomes inclusive but that people have to pre-book on the basis that space is limited. There is a local parking lot right outside.

So this is all very nice, but why 5 stars? well on top of this was the service, never intrusive, but always just right - help wit travel, parking tips, where to go in Assisi and even a lunch recommendation booked for us at Ridibis in Bavagne - well worth a trip. nothing was too much trouble and all of the staff had the same attitude to helping you and making for a relaxing stay.

It's a brilliant base to use if you are visiting the region and even Rome is drivable if you wish. I would love t come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assisi
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
7.9 mi away
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
Borgobrufa SPA Resort
#1 of 3 in Torgiano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
20.5 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum

Property: Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Address: Via Eremo delle Carceri 1A, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
#1 Spa Hotel in Assisi
#2 Family Hotel in Assisi
#8 Business Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Relais Nun is located in the spiritual heart of Assisi, in the highest part of the historical center with magnificent views of the both the Rocca Maggiore and Minore on the soft contours of Mount Subasio. It is an exclusive 5 star resort that came about from the careful restoration of the ancient monastery of Saint Catherine, which was originally constructed in 1275 for a community of Benedictine nuns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum Hotel Assisi
Nun Assisi Relais And Spa Museum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing