We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pretty, great location, good value”
Review of Fontebella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontebella Hotel
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very pretty, great location, good value”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The hotel is centrally located, between the St Francis basilica, Commune, and St. Chiara basilica. The furnishings and bath were upscale, very comfortable, and the room had a beautiful view of the countryside. The breakfast buffet was fine, with lots of choices: cereal, eggs, pastries, and sliced meat. The fruit juice was from concentrate out of a machine, as was the coffee, neither of which were great, but a relatively minor point in the scheme of things. Overall it was delightful experience. We reserved at hotels.com for 99 Euro a night, including breakfast. A great deal, we thought. They have parking for 10 Euro/night, which we used and was a huge plus compared to the alternative of parking in the public lot at the bottom of the hill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    123
    59
    22
    18
See reviews for
107
119
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

A smallish hotel with lots of charm and character located near the historic Assisi monastery and basilica. Rooms are tiny, especially the toilets. Some clothes hooks behind the toilet door would have been nice to hang our clothes while we were taking our showers. Hotel receptionists were very friendly and helpful in giving directions and tips for exploring the town. Hotel is located on a cobble-stoned street that leads up the hill to the town and basilicas. Opposite the hotel is a small cafe that serves takeaway pizza and sandwiches. Great place to pick up some food and cappucino, especially since the hotel does not have any F&B outlet. The owner is a very friendly Italian, but speaks limited English. If you fancy a hearty Italian meal, just walk up the street about 200 metres and you will find a couple of nice Italian restaurants that serve excellent pastas, meats, seafood and wine. Do stop to take in the wonderful and stunning views of the surrounding countryside while you are tramping up the hill. Do visit the Basilica of San Francesco that partially collapsed due to earthquakes registering up to 6.1 that struck the area in 1997. 4 people were tragically killed in the collpase, including two friars. Assisi is a place of quiet meditation and solitude - very peaceful. Many Roman Catholics visit this town because it was the birthplace of Saint Francis who founded the famous Franciscan religious order in 1208.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keltin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Four nights at the Fontebella in Assisi in September. Open windows, comfortable room, wonderful breeze and fabulous view! Fontebella was a great interlude in our recent trip. This beautiful hotel was quiet, comfortable and inviting. Staff was very helpful with everything. Free WiFi in common areas was appreciated for those necessary Skype calls to home. Nice little bar to get an aperitivo or a drink after a long day of up-and-down sightseeing. Boy, would I have loved to have small balcony to sit on and take in the view of the valley...I had to suffice with leaning out the window in the comfortable lobby area! Breakfast and dinner in the hotel restaurant was lovely. Window seats in the restaurant have a fab view as well. Ask for a window table! NIce people, lovely, quaint hotel with easy access to all of Assisi!! Worth your time to stay..no disappointments here!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had no idea where to stay on our first visit to Assisi. After research, we chose this charming hotel with a magnificent view of the Umbrian hills. Be sure and ask for a room facing this stunning view. The room was spacious and comfortable. The halls are quite dark with automatic lighting . You might want to bring a flashlight. Even though they advertise cable TV, there was not one in our room. The view from our room made up for that. It is within walking distance from the basilica and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Request room with view of Umbrian hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewOrleansFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent one night in Assisi during our recent visit to Italy. This hotel is located right in the center of everything! The hotel is quaint. The room was huge! There were three beds below and a very nice loft with a double bed. This was also the most economical hotel we had in Italy. The proprieter was nice and talked to us and the men at the desk were outstanding. The breakfast was very good as well!

Room Tip: Ask for a room wiht a loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassillonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY,New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the place to stay if visiting Assisi, Wonderful staff,Andrea was just so helpful! Beautiful rooms! I have never had a better view of Italy than right from this hotel. Very yummy breakfast too!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie1NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

On arrival in Assisi at the hotel we were shown into our room, we could not believe the size of it!
The manager immediately showed us another larger room at a much larger cost, which we immediately accepted! It had the most glorious view over the Assisi valley!The staff were very friendly, the hotel was in a very handy position. My advice to any traveler is to stay in Assisi for several days if possible as we found it a very spiritual place! There is even an archeological excavation site and we were the only two visitors there. St Francis of Assisi's cathedral is an absolute must!! The tiny little church started by the Saint was preserved and the cathedral build over the church!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Assisi have the views, and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemaime A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
724 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#26 of 71 in Assisi
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#23 of 71 in Assisi
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#25 of 71 in Assisi
303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Hotel Windsor Savoia
#34 of 71 in Assisi
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontebella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontebella Hotel

Property: Fontebella Hotel
Address: Via Fontebella 25, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fontebella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately 7-story Hotel set in 16th century palazzo featuring Franciscan simplicity & terrific views of lovely countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontebella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontebella Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing