We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and quiet”

Eremo delle Carceri
Ranked #3 of 81 things to do in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The retreat high in the mountains above Assisi where St. Francis frequently stayed to meditate and pray.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simple and quiet”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Te beautiful forest and the simple grottos and chapels. Needs better sign posting in the grounds. We walked and it was 4km uphill all the way and in the sun. Took us an hour up but 45min down.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,350
    230
    35
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Al
Level Contributor
139 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Taxi up.”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Loved the place. It is certainly peaceful and lovely to see. We thought we would walk as it is only 4K. Think about this unless you are a true hiker - it is 4K straight up!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sanctified place.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wonderful for the pilgrim as a quiet place much loved by Francis. Please remember to bring something warm to wear as even though it was very warm in the town, I forgot how high the eremo is!
A place for meditation and solitude. There are no cafes or tourist facilities there, although the bus stop outside the eremo sells drinks and snacks. One of the highlights for me was a joyful mass involving informal music and the attendence of whole families.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamworth, staffs
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Inspiring”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Worth the drive and the walk, such a place of solitude. Make the effort and share in the tranquility.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbiedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This place is well worth a taxi ride or hike!
I so admire St. Francis' determination to honor God in
prayer and lifestyle.
It makes one appreciate how he inspired sincerity.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 321Josephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eremo delle Carceri also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Eremo delle Carceri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing