We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and beautiful”
Review of Hotel Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Belvedere
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Welcoming and beautiful”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I just returned from an 18 day trip to France/Italy with a friend. After seeing Paris, Nice, and Milan - I have to say that the Hotel Belvedere in Assisi was the highlight of my trip! The hotel and restaurant staff are wonderful. Many thanks to Enrico, Maria, Pallo and Francesco. Being a family run hotel - they make you feel as if you are an extension of their family. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Everything you would wish to see in Assisi is withing walking distance and the view from the 3rd floor balcony is breathtaking! Will definitely be returning.

If you have the time, also take the vineyard tour/wine tasting at SAIO winery. You can have a picnic lunch in the vineyard with a stunning view of Assisi. The wines were some of the best that I tasted - which is saying a lot since I loved almost every red wine I had in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    29
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our group of 6 had booked 3 nights in Montepulciano but the inn keeper only had us on the books for 2. We had no rooms for a Saturday night and had to scramble to find 3 rooms. We all wanted to visit Assisi so after being told no rooms were available at a number of hotels, the Hotel Belvedere said that they could take us. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful at every step of the way. Our 3 rooms were all on the top floor with our own large terrace to sit and enjoy a fantastic view of the countryside. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff members went over board to help us with dinner reservations, parking and simply providing general information. We would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My sister and I stayed at Hotel Belvedere for 5 nights as part of a group that was on pilgrimage in Assisi. The location couldn't be better, we had a view that took our breath away with its beauty, and the care and attentiveness of Enrico couldn't be beat. The only thing missing was a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinklady313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Ernesto, the Innkeeper at Hotel Belvedere, is a gracious host who makes you feel like family. Our room had a little balcony, overlooking the street and valley, very close to Santa Chiara. The room was a good size yet cozy. And clean. The breakfast is not included, but we added it, which was just croissants, rolls, butter and jelly and cappuchino, or coffee or tea. It was good to have the option, even though it was limited. At times, the street noise was higher, but not outrageously so, and not loud partiers. Let's face it, it's a pilgrimage town, so you get groups early in a.m. and 8 or 9 p.m.leaving town on foot. But nothing terrible. The location, was perfect, with St Francis basilica on the opposite side of town. When asked, Ernesto suggested resturants. One of which was so good we went twice (trattoria Erminio). Would recommend Hotel Belvedere as a good choice for comfort, convenience and value

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeliciaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This hotel was a great find both for location, and for its very reasonable prices. The man who owns the hotel was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the room was very good in every respect. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel as it was billed separately. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marlinSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I couldn't have asked for a better place. Close to Porta Nuova - walking distance from everywhere - a view which still today after I've left leaves a smile on my face. Maria and Enrico were very kind, gentle and helpful. From when I arrived I was given suggestions and as the weather turned, it didn't put one little damper on my trip. No this place is a great place to stay. I'd recommend it and if you want a view which leaves you feeling great all day - perhaps don't forget to ask.

Room Tip: I had number 2 the single and the view was wonderful, and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Some in our party had stayed at Assisi's Hotel Belvedere 5 years ago, and raved about its ambience and view of the beautiful Umbrian countryside. So we were thrilled when hotelier Enrico was able to reserve two rooms with a view for our latest visit. The location is excellent for staying in this ancient town, with all the major sites within easy walking distance. We also opted for the breakfast which is served in the attached restaurant.

Enrico tells us this building was built in the 13th century. We are amazed, having never stayed in a building this old before. But it is fully modern inside. Our rooms are spacious compared to many other European hotels we've stayed at, with ample ledges to place our luggage for easy access. The beds are firm and comfortable, and the bathrooms are large with plenty of hot water for showers. The view from the rooms out over the valley is magical, especially at night with the sparkling lights from the far-off towns. Rooms are not air-conditioned, but ours stayed surprisingly cool due to the building's thick walls and the breezes that waft up from the valley.

The spacious lobby is ideal for sitting, computing, watching the passing scene, and visiting with our genial host. The covered terrace on the third floor overlooks the valley and is set up for comfortable snacking or just sitting in the shade and doing a little reading and trip planning. The wi-fi connection was strongest in the lobby and in the hallway; it seemed to vary a bit in the rooms and was unfortunately non-existent on the terrace. There is no English language television, but you don't come to Assisi to sit in your room and watch TV. Instead, you'll want to join the nightly passeggiata and explore this lovely town under the stars.

Directly across the street is a long line of benches built into the wall for pilgrims and other travellers. On the first night, we could hear the duelling drum corps in the hills; and towards morning, pilgrims chanting and praying as they walked up the street toward the Basilica di San Francesco. So there is a small amount of traffic noise, both motorized and pedestrian, but the trade-off is the location and view -- well worth it, in our opinion.

Breakfast consisted of fresh bakery rolls and croissants with jam, orange juice and freshly brewed coffee/espresso. We supplemented our breakfast with fresh fruit from nearby Da Franco Alimentari (a super-friendly mini market). Enrico was very amiable and catered to our every need; for example, providing yogurt as a breakfast alternative for the celiac in our party. Enrico knows and loves this town where he was born and raised and has many contacts; through these, he was able to arrange a private driver for us to Gubbio (not practical as a day-trip via public transit).

We were reluctant to leave this spiritual town. We intend to look at the schedule of special events and festivals in Assisi, and return soon to Hotel Belvedere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knightspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 71 in Assisi
557 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#22 of 71 in Assisi
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roma Hotel
Roma Hotel
#44 of 71 in Assisi
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Giacomo
San Giacomo
#46 of 71 in Assisi
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Hotel
#20 of 71 in Assisi
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere

Property: Hotel Belvedere
Address: Via B. Aretino 13, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belvedere 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing