We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostess & wine but $$$$”
Review of Bibenda

Bibenda
Ranked #1 of 239 Restaurants in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Book your WINE, CHOCOLATE, OLIVE OIL TASTING now, Taste your esperience! The rustic-chic WINE BAR BIBENDA ASSISI is relaxing and warm atmosphere to enjoy your stay in Assisi. Here you could taste ASSISI and UMBRIA WINE produced by top wineries pared with tasting plates of the very best artisanal food : OLIVE OIL, COLD MEAT and CHEESES like wild boar, deer salami or black pork, well-aged cheeses, such as Canestrato from ASSISI (that cheese recently won the title of "BEST PECORINO CHEESE" at a major European competition). Doesn't that all sound yummy? We offer a CERTIFICATE INTENSIVE SOMMELIER COURSE and WINE TASTING ASSISI and UMBRIA WINE to individuals or groups in ENGLISH or RUSSIAN.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hostess & wine but $$$$”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I dropped into Nila's wine bar and we're immediately impressed with her knowledge of Italian wines and her commitment to the industry and she is a very charming & hospitable hostess. The selection of wines was extensive and our wine and bruschetta were very good. However, the cheese plate was skimpy and came with a only a small amount of marmellata (we had many much better cheese plates during our four weeks of Italian travels) and the price was excessive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Herbie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,393
    169
    54
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hector, New York, United States
1 review
“Wonderful wine bar, service and hostess”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Annually I bring culinary groups to Italy and Assisi is especially a treat to visit.
Bibenda and Nila are stop you absolutely have too make.
The personalized wine service, charcuterie and cheese are well matched with her knowledge and warmth. Of course I always delight in the case of wine I have sent home. Her selections are from small producers that don't generally export their wines. So back home I love to open them with friends and try to recreate the moments spent in her wine bar

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A "must stop" for wine lovers while in Assisi!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Once again, Nila was the hostess 'Par Excellence'! Welcoming us like family, preparing a fabulous assortment of meats and cheeses to complement our tasting, and offering a great selection for us to sample and purchase. Bibenda Assisi has a stock of wines for all palettes. Nila listens to your preferences and provides you with a selection that will excite your taste buds. In addition, Nila's background and connections will always result in a top shelf paring. You must stop by Bibenda Assisi when you are in the hiltop city of St. Francis! You will be rewarded with an exceptional experience!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Private Tasting/Antipasto”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were 5 riders finishing a bicycle climbing day from Bevagna, encircling Mt. Subasio and finishing in Assisi. We had arranged with Nila in advance for locally produced showings of sagrantino from Monte Falco, a stone's throw to the west. We were dazzeled with an Azienda Agraria Moretti Omero Bianco, "Nessuno" an organicblend of 75% Grechetto and 25% Malvasia Aromatica. The antipasto was beautifully set and contained the finest cheeses, torta al testa, and cured meats including prosciutto from Norcia,sopressata,cinghale,venison and goose. And Nila speaks Italian, English, German, Russian, some Polish and her native tongue, Ukrainian. I learned of the centillino decanting method for our rosso wines as well.
Find her. The best is here. I also ordered acase sent to the States, and she sent two followups to make sure the delivery went as planned.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Discovery”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My sister and I came across this Wine Bar while strolling through beautiful Assisi. The Wine Bar was wonderful - soft, jazzy music playing, outstanding, inviting ambiance, and Nila - the perfect hostess. She prepared cheeses for us, and guided us through a delightful tasting experience. We ordered almost 20 bottles of assorted wines to ship home. The selection was perfect - and Nila's knowledge of each wine was definitely an enhancement. Highly recommended!
JoniKC, Santa Barbara CA

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonikc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bibenda also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Santa Maria degli Angeli, Assisi
 

Been to Bibenda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing