We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil hideout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Zuppa Inglese B&B
Ranked #45 of 141 Assisi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My friends and I stayed at La Zuppa recently and were truly charmed by this lovely little house on hills outside Assisi. Laura and Alessandro have done it up very tastefully and it feels like a real home. Ideal for those who want to get away to a quiet place and enjoy the natural beauty that surrounds. Assisi is a short 10min drive. There is also a little stream that runs below the property.
The rooms are well appointed with lots of fresh light and air and beds are very comfortable. The running water in the bathroom has the smell of sulphur but it did not bother us at all. There is an interesting array of tea bags to choose from if you want a cup of tea in the middle of the day and the breakfast is delightful. I highly recommend this place...specially for a contemplative, quiet holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jyoti-and-Kakoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed in many b&b's and I have to say this has to be one of the best. The location is absolutely idyllic, the house a dream and Laura is a treasure! The room was perfect and spotlessly clean, the location is so peaceful and tranquil and the home cooked breakfasts are truly wonderful. We had an exceptional welcome when we arrived and both Laura and Alessandro are so very kind and helpful we could not have asked for more. You will not want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bletch_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Laura and Alessandro are the most welcoming of hosts. The accommodation is comfortable with the feeling of being in a private retreat.The breakfast spread was sensational and prepared for us with care...Laura is an amazing cook ... using fresh herbs and strawberries from their garden... and all locally sourced products.....we stayed three nights and really appreciated the peace and quiet of this beautiful house in the forest.
Our highlight was the beautiful three course dinner that Laura cooked for us.... heavenly flavours!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is probably the best accommodation I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Laura and Alessandro are kind and generous hosts and Laura is an amazing cook. We were treated to 4 course breakfasts both mornings we stayed and as I am coeliac, everything was gluten free - Nutella crepes, Apple cake, bacon and eggs and more. The setting is about 6kms from Assisi and worth every second of the short drive. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was good and there was a little sitting room across the hall that we could use. You won't regret staying here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed here for two nights on our travels through Umbria and Tuscany. What a gem! Laura and Alessandro could not be more charming and welcoming hosts. We were very much treated like family. Laura is a superb cook who let my daughter (a budding chef) help in the kitchen. The breakfasts were excellent and beautifully presented. The home and rooms were charming and tastefully decorated. The price was very reasonable.

Alessandro speaks perfect English and Laura is actively learning. Alessandro and I shared a lovely conversation well into the evening sipping on some of his homemade Nocino (almond liqueur usually served at Christmas). What a treat!

Just a few things one might note; this is located in the hills and woods about 15' outside of Assisi, so ask them about their other property if you prefer to be in the city center. The wifi is a bit spotty in the bedrooms, but we could usually get it to connect with a slight bit of effort. There are 3 bedrooms. My daughter and I stayed in the one with twin beds. I am just over 6 feet tall, and my feet stuck out over the end of the bed. This didn't really bother me and I still slept quite well In what was otherwise a very comfortable bed. However, if you are a little tall, you might want one of the other two bedrooms with a full-size double bed. That all said, I hope to return to Assisi someday, and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Zuppa for 4 nights for our honeymoon in August 2013. I cannot recommend this beautiful, calm sanctuary enough. It is everything and more you could wish for in a romantic, relaxing getaway. The house itself is fabulously restored, the rooms are all airy and Umbrian with exposed brick work and original features. Laura and Alessandro are so fantastic, nothing is too much trouble and Laura is such an amazing cook! We didn't feel like going into Assisi one evening and she seemed to effortlessly rustle us up a four course dinner, which was exquisite. Her spaghetti with truffle sauce is a local delicacy and it was so good! The cherry on this jewel of a cake that is La Zuppa was the 'Cascata' (Waterfall) practically at the bottom of the garden, in the forest, which we had to ourselves. We also got to go for a welcome swim and a spot of lunch at La Casa, just up the hillside on Laura's reccomendation. It's her friend's Hotel/Spa who are also lovely and welcoming. I can't wait to go back! Thank you Laura & Alessandro. x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaDolceVitaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent three days here in awful weather recently. On our arrival we were tired cold and wet. Laura prepared a wonderful two course meal as we felt like staying put. As we follow a cruelty free diet ( vegan ) we were concerned that this might be a problem. However the meal was delicious as was every breakfast that followed.
La Zuppa is about ten mins drive to Assisi. It was nice to return to the greenness of the surroundings each day. ( even if it was usually raining ). Thank you both for your smiling faces and your warmth. X

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linmcclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
8.3 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
681 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#21 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
141 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Cavalieri
Hotel Parco dei Cavalieri
#1 of 2 in Petrignano d'Assisi
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country House Serena Residence
4.5 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
6 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#1 of 1 in Rivotorto
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Zuppa Inglese B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Zuppa Inglese B&B

Address: Vocabolo Santa Maria di Lignano 47, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"La Zuppa inglese B&B" (The Trifle) is a charming and romantic B&B in Assisi (Umbria, Italy): set in Monte Subasio Natural Park, it is isolated enough to enjoy the silence and peace of the forest, although well connected to get to Assisi town center in 10 minutes drive.The house is just 50 metres far from a waterfall on the River Tescio, ideal for bathing and relaxing. Its patio includes a table, chairs and parasol for breakfast outdoors.Internet Wi-Fi and parking are free. Each room at "La Zuppa inglese B&B" has its own modern bathroom with a hairdryer and toiletries. The bathrooms have slightly sulfurous water from an underground spring, typical of this side of Monte Subasio Park. All rooms enjoy a view of the surrounding greenery.We are also very happy to cater for vegetarians. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your La Zuppa Inglese B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing