We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service in beautiful Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti
Ranked #2 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Let me take your doubts away ; Santa Maria degli Ancilotti is your place to stay if you're looking for something in Umbria.
Good/clean apartment, nice view, fine swimmingpool in a well-maintained garden. You can use the common area/kitchen (good coffee!). It's close to some very interesting cities (Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio, Spello, Montefalco, ...).
You can eat an excellent - Umbrian style - diner, prepared by "la Mama" and the rest of the family. It's not cheap but considered the quality, well worth the price. If we had place left in the car, we would have taken "la Mama" back home...
On top of all this, there the charming and helpful service of the host Alessio (thanks for your help with the car, Alessio!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

You will not have a better experience of Italy than Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti and recently updated with excellent modern bathrooms. This is our third visit but we are well adrift of many visitors who have been returning for many years.You can read all the other reviews and I can only add that the proof is in the number of repeat customers. My wife and I will certainly be back again next year.
Thank you Allesio, Ines, Susy, Paolo & Rosanna

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Classicred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

What a fabulous place. Welcome and attention to detail couldn`t be better. Allesio is a fantastic host and really tries to make sure you have a good holiday, whether by pointing out places to visit or by recommending restaurants in which to eat. After our first night`s meal we did not worry about eating anywhere else as the food, location of the restaurant both inside and out is amazing. All food is prepared by the family using local fresh produce. Good traditional Italian cooking. Five courses of wonderful and imaginative food. Our suite was also very good, bedroom, bathroom and sitting/dining room. Tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge stocked with soft drinks and beer, replenished daily. Chocolates beside the bed each night. Lovely pool area which was great for relaxing after a day`s sightseeing. The hotel is well placed for visiting Assisi, Perugia and other hilltop villages in Umbria. There are lots of things to see in the area without travelling too far. Indeed there are walks from the hotel which take you through the quiet lanes and into ancient villages. Most of the other guests when we were there were retuning customers; I am sure we will be back too. Thank you Allesio, Paulo and family for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday staying here. This is the only place we can truly relax and feel safe and well looked after.
It feels like a home, and looked after by the family.
The family do all the cooking, and use best quality fresh food, and it is almost like a dinner party, sitting on the patio,or inside the delightful restaurant if the weather isn't up to dining outside. We almost felt like a guest in their home and thoroughly spoilt! Alessio is there to make sure our holiday is relaxing ,and any problems, he will be there, and go out of his way to sort them!
The rooms have all been re done, with superior decor and taste, and very comfortable.
We shall be back, but will need to diet beforehand ,as the home cooking is amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaA61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here for the 4th time recently and we have enjoyed each one of the times we have stayed.It is a family run hotel which gives it a very welcoming feel.
Every time we have stayed we have been looked after extremely well.Alessio in particular looks after his guests and makes the stay so enjoyable.
The rooms (suites really) have all been refurbished to a very high standard this year which makes the stay even better.
The food served at the hotel is excellent and as a result we ate there every night. It is all prepared by the family who are great cooks!
The hotel is in a wonderful location not far from Assisi with stunning views over the valley.
Overall we'd rate it as excellent and woul recommend it to anyone looking for a great relaxing holiday in Umbria.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_ElaineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited again and could not believe the excellent work the family gave have done in revamping all the apartments the standard is 5 star.as usual Allesio and Ines made us more than welcome with their hospitality ,amazing food and comfort.for peace and quiet and sheer relaxation this is the best place to stay in Italy.

Room Tip: Hard to choose all rooms are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1945alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

In May our group of friends (9 seniors) had our yearly week's vacation together. Revisiting Italy, we travelled to Assisi, where we had booked at the hotel Santa Maria degli Ancillotti. We could not have chosen better!
Upon arrival we were made very welcome. All rooms were actually two room suites - and newly refurbished. This has been done beautifully - down to all the details. The beds were good and we slept very well, awakening to bird song - and churchbells from far away.
We all had lovely terraces - a perfect place for a strong morning coffee... and for relaxing after a day of touring, right next to rows of olive trees and with a perfect view all around.
We very much liked the fact that all of the buildings are surrounded by real farm equipment and many other farm objects (this having been a farm with a long history). Everywhere, inside and outside, you will see the care and time that must have gone into the decorating, at the same time never giving the feeling of artifice.
The swimming pool and everything around it looked great - and the real vikings who swam in 18 C water at that time, told me it was wonderful......

We had breakfast on the restaurant terrace - again with a view - and dinner every night in the restaurant. It was so good not to have to make any choices - and to be curious to find out what was being served that evening. We learned after day one - don't eat a big lunch because you will want to eat all of the dinner.... There are five courses - new combinations every day - and we can only say that we loved every bite! The food was excellent and innovative while giving the first class ingredients the principal part. It also was Umbrian!
I can add that we also loved every mouthful of the wines we had - many from nearby Montefalco.

All of this is made possible only by the wonderful family who run this place. Alessio, his wife, mother, father and sister - all have our warmest thanks for the absolutely perfect week we had. We all wish to come again and Santa Maria gets our highest recommendations.

For the cathedral in Assisi, I would like to recommend a guided tour booked through the website of the church.Apart from this - there are many daytrips possible, even to Orvieto - which we recommend. There is little traffic - so time spent walking around in the countryside or up to the small village is also a possibility.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122baltus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
4 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
3.5 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#6 of 72 in Assisi
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
694 reviews
3.7 mi away
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
#7 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
239 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#20 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti

Address: via Santa Tecla 42, 06086, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Assisi
Price Range: £100 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Santa Maria Degli Ancillotti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing