We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spartan but excellent, too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Spartan but excellent, too”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

You are staying in a monastery, and it's set up similar to how the priests lived I'm assuming, but there is a wonderful charm about this place, the location is superb, the meals, family style, are superb. You have to walk here from the parking lost on the opposite side of town, but I just loved it here. The view is awesome, the Church of St. Francis, one of the prettiest in Italy. Would I go back, yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WantToSeeItAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    119
    72
    14
    15
See reviews for
111
93
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, England
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

A comfortable family-owned hotel in an excellent location - not another anonymous chain hotel. The facilities were comfortable. The breakfast was good but the dinners in the evening were uninspiring. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was adequate but the decor was rather tired.
Very convenient for all the attractions in the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA, USA
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The best thing about this hotel is the location, right in front of the San Francesco Basilica. We were here during the feast day of St. Francis and the city was jam packed. It was great to have a base that we could walk to everything.The hotel also provides parking in a lot that's about 10 to 15 minutes walk uphill. The room we had was small and spare but clean. The breakfast was OK. Don't miss going up to the rooftop terrace. It's a great place to have an evening (BYOB) drink.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanChg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greer, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Great location; right in front of Basilica of San Francesco...but that is about the only good thing about this hotel. They did have an adequate breakfast and good coffee.
We had to switch rooms because the AC did not work in the room they gave us...and they knew the AC did not work when they assigned the room. The lady at the desk was rude and arrogant and thought we were unreasonable to want a different room by saying that our tour company did not pay for the best rooms...which was not true at all. We booked through Globus and we had fantastic hotels....except for this one. But the location was the best. Thankful we were only there one night. The hotel was very clean. The family that owned the hotel took cleanliness very serious.

Room Tip: Great location....questionable AC if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 10Goads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Quaint, historic, old, clean, nice breakfast, quiet, oddest shower and bathroom ever!! Location is great The view was phenomenal from the rooftop garden! A nice walk to the hotel, if you take it slow...We liked it for what it is!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Desertcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Wonderful location in the middle of a beautiful little town. The room was small, and simply decorated, but clean. Some members of our group complained about the small bathroom, but since it was clean and everything worked, we didn't find that to be a deal breaker for us. The internet was incredibly slow, there was a charge for using the hotel's computer, and the hotel clerk was not very frlendly, but those were small irritants during an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DTS-KBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A well run hotel, it is an old building but fully modernised, it has a lift but some sections still have a few steps to negotiate. Situated next to the Basilica ideal for those who are there for St Francesco’s. Coaches are not allowed through the town so they drop off at the bottom of the hill, luggage is collect but then you have to make your own way up the 400 feet climb to the hotel. Anybody with difficulty walking would need to use a taxi.
The view from the roof terrace must be one of the best in Assisi.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartmart1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 71 in Assisi
733 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#30 of 71 in Assisi
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fontebella Hotel
Fontebella Hotel
#42 of 71 in Assisi
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Hotel Windsor Savoia
#29 of 71 in Assisi
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#26 of 71 in Assisi
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Property: Hotel San Francesco
Address: Via San Francesco 48, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Assisi
San Francesco Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing