We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel San Francesco
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Grazie(Santa Maria degli Angeli)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Da Elide(Santa Maria degli Angeli)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cenacolo(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vignola Assisi(Santa Maria degli Angeli)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Hotel Ideale(Assisi)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
66
132
81
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
132
81
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terrace overlookingc busperfect locationwould definitely stay here againbasilica of stthree nightsquaint hotelglass of winestunning viewsnice breakfasttop floortrain stationfrancisvalleyquiets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour. We loved Assisi, and we needed nothing special, just a reasonable hotel close to town. I've read some bad reviews here. Maybe we were lucky, maybe we just expected less from a hotel that is a part of the wonderful history of this place, but we were perfectly happy with the hotel. The rooms were small but clean, the service was friendly, the food was good.
Ranked against the other hotels we stayed in during the tour, this would be near the bottom. But don't let that fool you. You don't go to Assisi to stay at the Ritz, and this is a great hotel for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had always wanted to come here. Heard so many folks talk about how beautiful Assisi is. Were only staying for a night, and were primarily interested in the town because of St. Francis and St. Clare. Rick Steves noted this hotel as ideal and reasonable. We asked for a room facing the Basilica. Our room was perfect as one opened the window and there was the Basilica right in front of us. AS several have noted the hotel isn't fancy-but comfortable. The front desk lady was most gracious when we arrived in early afternoon. Gave us info about the churches, and also 2 of the better restaurants in the town.Breakfast was simple, but get there before the tour group eats everything-so arrive early for breakfast. There is also a nice good restaurant next to the hotel in which you can get foods and drink throughout the day and night. Again people here very friendly and welcoming. The churches are most fascinating and beautiful. We wouldn't recommend the audio guide to Francis' Basilica. You'll need a guide just to follow the audio guide. Anyway wonderful small hotel, and a great town.

Room Tip: Get one facing the Basilica
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel was lovely. Our room was small and basic but the views from the window more than compensated. Just breathtaking. Breakfast was delightful - chilled fresh fruits being the highlight (for me anyway) - locally grown, fresh and delicious.

Beds were comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the price was good. We only stayed overnight but wished we had booked in for a week.

The location is great - being inside the old Assisi walls means you are close to anything in the township you wanted to go see. There is something special about being in the place at night after most of the tourist crowd has bused out - it is a very special little town.

Highly recommend this place for anyone wanting to spend time in Assisi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Basilica. The photo attached was taken with my camera on the windowsill of such a room. Simply beautiful view...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Hotel cosy and conviniently placed just around the corner from Basilica of San Francesco and has stunning views from rooftop terrace over the Basilica and surrounding countryside. Parking possible not far away from hotel. Good breakfast, elevator, nice staff and everything just like it should be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel San Francesco for two nights in connection with a group tour. When we travel, we travel to see the country and the sights, to do things, not to hang around in the hotel. The Hotel San Francesco was perfect for us. The hotel wasn’t fancy, but it’s location was fantastic. The room was clean and roomy; the bathroom was satisfactory. Breakfasts were typically Italian, adequate. As we were staying in the hotel as part of our tour, we have no idea what the room cost.

Our dinner in the hotel was included as part of our tour; we had a set menu and were not able to make any menu selections ourselves. The dinner was okay, not great. If we could do it over again, however, we’d choose to try a restaurant in Assisi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews