We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view is worth the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Putting aside the small room and unique bathroom our view of the Basilica and country side made up for the any hotel short comings, especially at night from the roof the view along with the country side sounds and lights was awesome.

Go to Assisi for its history and location and you will have a great visit, don't let the hotels short comings dampen your stay

Room Tip: Take the bus/taxi up the hill to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

Were it not for the location, this place probably would deserve no more than 2 stars. It's rooms are very cramped and the bathroom facilities are poorly designed and laid out. It you try to take a shower, be sure to point the shower head away from the entrance otherwise you will flood your entire room. Find alternatives if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OMNISCIENT_ONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here as part of a group tour. We loved Assisi, and we needed nothing special, just a reasonable hotel close to town. I've read some bad reviews here. Maybe we were lucky, maybe we just expected less from a hotel that is a part of the wonderful history of this place, but we were perfectly happy with the hotel. The rooms were small but clean, the service was friendly, the food was good.
Ranked against the other hotels we stayed in during the tour, this would be near the bottom. But don't let that fool you. You don't go to Assisi to stay at the Ritz, and this is a great hotel for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had always wanted to come here. Heard so many folks talk about how beautiful Assisi is. Were only staying for a night, and were primarily interested in the town because of St. Francis and St. Clare. Rick Steves noted this hotel as ideal and reasonable. We asked for a room facing the Basilica. Our room was perfect as one opened the window and there was the Basilica right in front of us. AS several have noted the hotel isn't fancy-but comfortable. The front desk lady was most gracious when we arrived in early afternoon. Gave us info about the churches, and also 2 of the better restaurants in the town.Breakfast was simple, but get there before the tour group eats everything-so arrive early for breakfast. There is also a nice good restaurant next to the hotel in which you can get foods and drink throughout the day and night. Again people here very friendly and welcoming. The churches are most fascinating and beautiful. We wouldn't recommend the audio guide to Francis' Basilica. You'll need a guide just to follow the audio guide. Anyway wonderful small hotel, and a great town.

Room Tip: Get one facing the Basilica
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This hotel was lovely. Our room was small and basic but the views from the window more than compensated. Just breathtaking. Breakfast was delightful - chilled fresh fruits being the highlight (for me anyway) - locally grown, fresh and delicious.

Beds were comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the price was good. We only stayed overnight but wished we had booked in for a week.

The location is great - being inside the old Assisi walls means you are close to anything in the township you wanted to go see. There is something special about being in the place at night after most of the tourist crowd has bused out - it is a very special little town.

Highly recommend this place for anyone wanting to spend time in Assisi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Basilica. The photo attached was taken with my camera on the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Hotel cosy and conviniently placed just around the corner from Basilica of San Francesco and has stunning views from rooftop terrace over the Basilica and surrounding countryside. Parking possible not far away from hotel. Good breakfast, elevator, nice staff and everything just like it should be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superkatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel San Francesco for two nights in connection with a group tour. When we travel, we travel to see the country and the sights, to do things, not to hang around in the hotel. The Hotel San Francesco was perfect for us. The hotel wasn’t fancy, but it’s location was fantastic. The room was clean and roomy; the bathroom was satisfactory. Breakfasts were typically Italian, adequate. As we were staying in the hotel as part of our tour, we have no idea what the room cost.

Our dinner in the hotel was included as part of our tour; we had a set menu and were not able to make any menu selections ourselves. The dinner was okay, not great. If we could do it over again, however, we’d choose to try a restaurant in Assisi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paolo-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#29 of 70 in Assisi
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Hotel Windsor Savoia
#32 of 70 in Assisi
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 70 in Assisi
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Minerva Assisi
Hotel Minerva Assisi
#36 of 70 in Assisi
131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 70 in Assisi
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Address: Via San Francesco 48, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: £63 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Assisi
San Francesco Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing