We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the town, but this hotel was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a Globus bus tour to Italy.....Assisi is a fascinating and beautiful ancient town, but this hotel was a horror, the worst on our tour...the bathtub was a split level, narrow and dangerous place to bathe, the wallpaper was old and peeling, the furniture looked thrift shop, the beds were thin and uncomfortable....I had heard this was a converted convent, I think they left it as is....the only bright spots were that the AC was decent and the room was spacious.

Room Tip: don't choose any of these rooms, stay away and find a better place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NewJerseyMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Great location! Be sure to get a room with a view - it is spectacular. Room was small but clean and quiet. I would stay here again. Good value for the money. Wi if only works in lobby. Breakfast was very nice!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank BeckyinStPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located, and some rooms have sweeping views of the Basilica and the Umbrian hills beyond. Our room was small but neat and comfortable. The bath was tiny but functional. Just steps from the Basilica so we visited it several times including for vespers. We paid extra for a room with a view and it was worth every penny. We snapped photos from our window at dawn with swallows flying, at midday, sunset and even after dark, as a procession of monks arrived with candles. The fixed price menu in the hotel restaurant was a pleasant surprise. Excellent cuisine and service at a very fair price.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms looking out on the grassy square in front of the Basilica.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Literally next door to the Basilica. Assisi is a small walkable town and any hotel would be convenient. Small and clean rooms and bathrooms. Nice roof top deck.We had a group meal in the restaurant that was so so. Staff is civil but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hokie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If your sole purpose to visiting Assisi is to be close to the church, staying here is as close as you can get.

Otherwise...

The beds were lumpy and the pillows thin. There are no tissues in the bathroom.

The shower is almost dangerous. It was tiny and had two levels. You could easily fall and depending on your height, the spigot might get you in the butt. There is a charge for wifi although it was fairly reasonable. The views from there are terrific.

As a tour group, we had to walk up from a parking area below the church--some of the group struggled to get there. The town is basically closed at 7. I would not stay there again. But I imagine most visitors are there for the religious aspects so most of this is not relevant to them.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Overall a nice hotel. The room was rather small for 2 people and the bathroom was very dangerous especially the shower/tub combo. It was similar to bathing in a watering trough. The drain pan was approximately 18 inches square, so you could try to stand to shower or sit the the 18 inch ledge and put your feet in the drain pan. Very interesting. Also a small step up from the room to the bathroom. very dangerous. Air conditioner unlit very loud, sleeping with the window open you run the risk of pigeons visiting. The staff friendly and food was good. Was only there for about 12 hours including sleep time. The room was clean. What's with no washcloths in Europe!!

Room Tip: adequate for the area and atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The location and balcony view of St Francis and countryside are why we selected this hotel and we were not disappointed. As others have noted, the rooms are dated and little small but clean. We found the single beds to be humorous but we slept fine. It got a little warm when we had to shut the windows to keep out noise. (I believe you have to call to the desk to use A/C.) The bathroom shower/tub had two levels with a steep slope between which I felt was very dangerous. Breakfast had a lot of good options. I would recommend this hotel only for the spectacular view.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 72 in Assisi
790 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#27 of 72 in Assisi
193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#6 of 72 in Assisi
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Hotel Windsor Savoia
#31 of 72 in Assisi
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fontebella Hotel
Fontebella Hotel
#33 of 72 in Assisi
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco

Address: Via San Francesco 48, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: £58 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Francesco Assisi
San Francesco Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing