We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleaceful atomsphere”
Review of Hotel La Fortezza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Fortezza
Ranked #21 of 137 Assisi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed at La Fortezza during my first visit to Assisi in January 2012. This hotel is located right off the piazza del comune Easy access to everything. Hotel is quaint and the owner Stefano very helpful. They offer a complete audio guide on Assisi and Perugia, a tour book on Assisi, map and discounts card in stores and restaurants. Extremely clean, basic room with ceiling fan.
What an amazing accommodation this place is combined with the warm welcome offered by the owner, Stefano. You will not find better for your money I am confident of this. The accommodation is so well located right in the heart of Assisi where you'll find well appointed rooms. Excellent breakfast served on the rooftop that leads out to a balcony with best views again to the town and the countryside below, beautiful view, tea and coffee available all day.
Be sure to boom ahead and that way you won't be disappointed because you should make this your stop in Assisi. Enjoy and thanks to you Stefano.
Great location and Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Fortezza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I must say that I'm confounded by the many glowing reviews of "La Fortezza" on this site. I stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway in late January and was underwhelmed. The proprietor Stefano is a lovely, mild-mannered fellow who was very accommodating at check-in and check-out. His presence at breakfast to personally make and serve cappuccino to his guests was a lovely touch. And I am fairly certain that, had I had any difficulties during my stay, he would have been quick to troubleshoot. But as things were, I was simply looking for a cozy weekend retreat from the chaos of Rome, and La Fortezza was NOT the sort of 'comfort food' that I look for in a B&B. My room was just the sort of depressing, dingy budget hotel room that killed the mood for me in Assisi. The ugly floors; smudgy walls; ratty bed linens; dilapidated bathroom (with a low-pressue shower head that still managed to flood the room); and poor sound-proofing did not win my affection. On the plus side, the location right above Piazza del Commune is ideal. Overall, La Fortezza is a safe choice--but not an inspired one.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineSmart20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Thanks to my fellow Trip Advisor reviewers for recommending this hotel so warmly. We just visited Assisi last week and stayed at La Fortezza for two nights.

I would echo the sentiments of the positive reviews here: Breakfast was really nice, the afternoon coffee hour with free espresso, cappuccino, and pastries was a GREAT surprise.

The steps can be as issue if you're not in at least semi-decent shape-- it's I think 85 steps down to the Piazza or 36 up to the road behind. However, the steps are not terribly steep and the path is, as the photos show, extremely pleasant.

The touring kit that some of the other reviewers mentioned comes with a card that gives 10% off at many restaurants. We used the card at i Monaci and Pallotta with no issues.

I would be remiss if I didn't mention Jenny, the hardest working woman in Assisi. She made our stay great and deserves a promotion!

I would absolutely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shinerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel in November 2011 for 4 nights, and I so enjoyed it, that I went back two weeks later with my son and again the hospitality and service were amazing..The steps to the hotel was not as bad as some said the view from the breakfast room beautiful, location perfect,lovely breakfast. Wifi always avaialble!Thanks to those who do take the time to write comments as it really helped me with my 40 days stay in Italy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Fantastic place- right in the middle of Assisi. Locally made cheese and yogurt with breakfast. Even though we were here over Christmas, the staff took care of us. Lots of stairs inside and out- but that is expected when you are in a mountain village. :-) So our gelato calories didn't stay around for long! Breathtaking views from the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwifenmexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel is located right off the piazza del comune. Easy access to everything. Hotel is quaint and the owner very helpful. They offer a complete audio guide tour book, map and discounts in stores and restaurants. This wasn't mentioned in their explanation of services and it should be, it is a great help to first time visitors. Excellent recommendation for a restaurant nearby "La Palotta". The only negative thing I can say is the beds could be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mystique59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed at La Fortezza during my fifth visit to Assisi in October this year (2011). What amazing accommodation this place is combined with the warm welcome offered by the owner, Stefano. You will not find better for your money I am confident of this. The accommodation is so well located right in the heart of Assisi where you'll find well appointed rooms (mine had lovely views to the town and beyond). Breakfast is served on an upper floor that leads out to a balcony with best views again to the town and the countryside below. Be sure to boom ahead and that way you won't be disappointed because you should make this your stop in Assisi. See I was going to keep it all a secret but now I've shared it with you all. Enjoy and thanks to you Stefano and Jenny. Warwick

Room Tip: They may all have a view but I would ask for one as I did.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannadanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 70 in Assisi
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 70 in Assisi
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#24 of 70 in Assisi
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortezza

Address: Vicolo Fortezza 19/B, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Assisi
Price Range: £48 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Fortezza 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fall asleep under the moon, in a medieval house located in the heart of the city. Our comfortable room welcome you with windows stretching up to the roofs of the old houses. The hotel is located in the characteristic Vicolo Della Fortezza," which joins the Piazza Del Comune and Duomo The hotel is formed out of an historic residence and has been restored with a special emphasis on creating a family environment. Made up of 7 rooms, stretching throughout three levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Fortezza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fortezza Assisi
La Fortezza Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing