We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small hotel in the heart of the city.”
Review of Hotel Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alexander
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A small hotel with limited facilities. It's located above shops with a small flight of stairs up to the first floor reception. Central location in the heart of the city.

We had a lovely, large room on the same floor as reception.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We returned to Assisi for my birthday, spending two nights there after having visited last year, Hotel Alexander was great, there was a little trouble in gaining access, but this was quickly resolved. The hotel is right in the centre, and within easy (as long as you don't pack your high heels, as rather steep walks) walking distance of all local attractions. The room was clean and comfortable, with free wifi, it didn't have much natural light, which was a shame. Breakfast if fine weather was served on the upstairs terrace, which was beautiful, standard italian breakfast of sweet pastries, croissants, meats cheese, bread etc. Really friendly and hospitable owner, map provided of assisi and points of interest included, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Kirstyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went to Assisi only for two days, as part of our Italy journey. We loved the town and the hotel. It has very friendly employees, is well situated, quiet and pleasant. The room is spacious (Botticelli), and the cleaning is perfect. It is newly renovated, and has a pleasant atmosphere. There was no view from our room, but you could allways bring your breakfast or a glass of wine to the terrace on the roof, and enjoy the view. A short walking distance to all mayor attractions and churches. Except for Rivatorta and Sta Maria delli Angeli, were I would recommand the bus. Especially Simone was very nice and helpfull, but all the people at the hotel were service minded and smiling. Nice with free wifi and air condition. Very good breakfast. I recommend to book the hotel directly by telephone to get a better price,

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorgla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with nice big rooms and great views. It is in a very handy location close to good restaurants and some worthy sights which makes it worth the effort of finding it. Our only real concern was trying to find it as it is inside a traffic limited zone which as yet, we of course didn't have a pass for. Book here but ask for advice about your parking arrangements first.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kve83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Top floor has an awesome view of the valley. Nice rooms. Clean. Great location yet quiet. Parking is a fair way away though. This is only a small place though. I was awiken by the mist amazing smell of bread cooking. Assisi is well worth a visit and I recommemd this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaz13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After a long travel day (2 flights from the US to Rome, and then a train up to Assisi), we were thrilled to arrive at our hotel and find it tucked in a peaceful courtyard just off a main square. Our biggest challenge with the room was figuring out that we needed to put our key in the slot by the door to be able to turn on the lights!

Simon was incredibly friendly and helpful (and he was willing to let me try out my minimal italian language skills on him - grazie mille, Simon!) and our room was charming, with a great view of a church steeple and, to the side, over the beautiful valley. Be sure to ask Simon for recommendations for meals and otherwise - we ended up going to the third restaurant option on his list, Ristorante degli Orti (because the first two we passed were full) and it was either the best or 2nd best meal of our whole 8 days in Italy!

We hiked up to Eremo di Carcinera in the morning, so we were also thrilled by the wonderful breakfast spread provided; we will definitely return to Hotel Alexander when we make it back to Assisi (which is a must: we needed more than 21 hours there!!)

Note: One thing we noted about Italy in general, and also this hotel, is that it would be difficult for those with mobility issues. The lobby area is up a set of steps, and then the rooms are up on additional floors.

Room Tip: I only saw our room, but can't imagine that there is a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouEandJoeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We found this hotel as a last minute solution on the web. Nice and clean room but not fully reflecting the pictures of the website. In particular our room was facing a wall. Normal breakfast. Female staff not always friendly. However good value for money and great location very central.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank iCharlie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#27 of 72 in Assisi
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Il Palazzo
Hotel Il Palazzo
#40 of 72 in Assisi
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Dei Priori
Hotel Dei Priori
#23 of 72 in Assisi
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#21 of 72 in Assisi
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Piazza Chiesa Nuova 6, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: £63 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alexander is situated in the hearth of the medieval town of Assisi; it looks out on a small friendly square and stands between the "Antique Town Hall" and the "Paternal Home of St. Francis". From this position is possible to reach quickly all the main monuments: the hotel is near "Piazza del Comune", the main historical town center, 70 meters from the "Basilica of St. Clare", 500 meters from the majestic "Basilica of St. Francis". Entirely restored and renovated in 2009, Hotel Alexander has 9 rooms all finely furnished and equipped with every comfort. The Alexander Hotel, entirely restored and renovated in 2009, has 8 rooms (6 standard and 2 junior suite) all with private bathrooms, tastefully furnished in modern style and very well cared in the selection of details and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing