We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the quintessential italian experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Agriturismo Podere La Fornace
Ranked #9 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Corte Madera
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“This is the quintessential italian experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We love LaFornace! We've stayed twice, in July 2007 and May 2010. Both times with large groups that I've organized and we've be fortunate enough to have the property to ourselves. (I have, however, recommended LaFornace to independent travelers and they have had wonderful experiences.) Having traveled to Italy about 9 times, Umbria is our favorite spot and LaFornace our favorite place to stay. You will need a car, and while you are in the countryside, you are in no way remote. There is so much to do in the area and so many wonderful locations to visit that unless you're fortunate enough to be able to stay for a long time, you'll want to go back to see the places you missed. Assisi is 10 minutes away and you have a lovely view from the property. Florence is a 2 hour train ride, (I recommend the train as parking is a real problem), Gubbio is an hour away through the hills, Tuscany is very close, Perugia 20 minutes, DeRuta 20 minutes, Bevagna, Norcia, Orvieto, Todi, Spoleto, on and on....

The apartments are configured for just about any number of people, from couples to families with children. We have stayed in LePannocchie both times we've been there because we were traveling with an adult child and needed to have private access to the bathroom. There was plenty of room and it worked very well. I would like, however, the next time if there are just two of us to stay in LePaperette because the view out to Assisi is lovely and the little terrace very charming. I recommend that you check out the floor plans and see what would be best for your group.

The staff is fabulous. If you are lucky enough to be there when the owners, Bianca and Fabrizio are there, you're in for a treat. The 'ever in motion' Ambra will make sure that you are taken care of. Her English is limited, however, her daughter Melissa is fluent, so you shouldn't have any problem communicating. She really just wants to be sure that you have everything you need.

Breakfast is available for an extra charge, but all rooms have refrigerators and most have kitchens with espresso coffee pots, so you can make your own. (I brought a little hand held "frother" from the US and made cappuccinos every morning.) Other meals are not available on the property, however, if you have a group, you can arrange for a chef to come in and cook for you. This is very reasonable and a nice touch at the end of a long day of touring. Many restaurants are available at just a short drive away from pizza to fancy. We usually would have a nice lunch out and a light dinner in the evening. Wine from the owners vineyard is available for a VERY reasonable price, so there's no need to run dry and they sell their own olive oil as well as farro, (a wonderful Umbrian grain).

LaFornace is a wonderful place and we can recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliedbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    41
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taranto - Italia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The premises at "La fornace" will remind you of many smimlar ones locaten in Italian regions of Umbria and Toscana. But here, just a cople of miles from Assisi main attractions you'll get for a reasonabe price, excellent self-catering apartments in the rich Umbria countryside, an extended and grassy garden, an adequate swimming pool and a management happy to help you (all our additional requests were accomplished without charge). We did not use but appreciate the wonderful guests lounge as well as the weekly oil and wine tasting session, held every friday evening. Definitely an excellent place to stay at. No A/C available but generally night temperature are fresh and wind is always blowing from mount Subasio as midnight.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr.conte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarragona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2010

I went to Assisi for a conference and then stayed a few days in La Fornace afterwards with my partner. Its really relaxing, set in beautiful countryside about 5-6 km out of Assisi (not the 2km mentioned on the website). We didnt have a car which was fine as we didnt want to go too far in any case. We rented bikes and went to Assisi, Santa Maria degli Angeli and other small towns around. If you plan to stay longer than 3-4 days it would be better to rent a car to go to Perugia or further a field. There is a small town about 15 mins walk away with a decent osteria, pizzeria, supermarket, bank and a bar for gelati. If you want lots of nightlife La fornace is not for you. If however you want to do some serious relaxing and get your own little piece of Italy without the throngs of tourists blocking your path then La Fornace is the place.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank johnnoelclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigadoon, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2008

We stayed in I Papaveri (The Poppies) which was a two bed, two bath apartment, and quite comfortable for two couples and a small child. Did not try the breakfasts but self-catered, and the kitchenette was adequate for this and for simple evening meals of pasta etc. No oven but a gas burner stovetop. Good-sized fridge and dishwasher. Seating not very comfortable, just dining chairs and the sofabed. Rooms are not serviced daily, there is some soap and loo paper in the bathrooms to start you off, but for extra supplies you would need to visit the supermarket . Hairdryers in bathrooms. Towels changed twice weekly, sheets once a week. Hard pillows. Insect screens on windows. Good storage space in bedrooms. Pool and games for children so could be a good base for a family holiday (with some sightseeing) in Umbria. The apartment was up a flight of stairs, which might be of concern fro the mobility-impaired, or if you have a lot of luggage. There is a laundry with washing machines (2 euros) but no dryers. The proprietors kindly brought in our washing from the outside lines when it rained while we were out. As mentioned by other reviewers, very little Engish spoken by the owner, which wasn't an issue for us.
Loaction is very peaceful, but for restaurants you would need to go into Assisi. Close to Podere la Fornace is a small truckstop diner, PicNic, which we didn't care for. In Assisi we enjoyed lunch at 'Il Palotto', where the tasting menu with accompanying wines is wonderful - but plan on an afternoon nap afterwards as the wine is generous.
We thought that Podere la Fornace was very good value at 185 euros per night for the apartment.

  • Liked — Pleasant rural location and value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

Dates – 6/22-6/26
Price – 85 EUR + 5 EUR per person for breakfast

Location – 10 min drive from Assisi (need a car); good for exploring Tuscany and Umbria

Comfort – Big comfortable bed; nice big bathroom; no AC (hot)

Cleanliness – Very clean

Noise – Quiet

Staff – Hard to communicate in english; not readily available

Food – Breakfast was below average (not worth 5 EUR per person)

Amenities – Pool, free WiFi, beautiful grounds, some toiletries

Commentary – Booked directly; we stayed in one of the double rooms (apartments are available); property is an agriturismo

Highlight – Peaceful, beautiful property
Lowlight – Breakfast and communication barrier with staff

  • Liked — Gorgeous Property
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TeamTapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2007

Podere La Fornace is a beautiful property. We had the La Quercia room/apartment was a bit oddly laid out, but very comfortable. The outside spaces are very nice, although we didn't use the pool because things were cooling off.

Despite Karen Brown's book saying that the owners speak English, the innkeeper during our 4-night stay spoke almost no English (not an issue for us, but it seems to be important to the Karen Brown reader). We also had a lot of trouble booking because they were very slow to respond to emails.

It's about 3-4 kms from the main parking lot at Assisi (not the 2 km it's website claims).

Note: we just got back from 23 nights in Liguria, Tuscany and Umbria and will write reviews on every place we stayed to help those going, just as this site helped us plan our trip.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavilan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2007

Four of us--myself, my husband, and our daughter and son-in-law--stayed in a two-bedroom apartment at La Fornace for five nights in October 2007. The property is down the hill and a couple of km from Assisi, in the countryside, with lovely grounds and outdoor facilities. It was windy and cool during our stay, so we didn't use the pool or outside facilities. We arrived by rental car in early afternoon, and our accommodations were ready, and immaculately clean, on the second floor of one of three buildings. The owners did not appear to be there during our stay; Ambra and her daughter checked us in and assisted us. For the most part, we were left on our own.
The apartment was a little disappointing, in that the living area was small and sparsely furnished, with a small, uncomfortable sofa and no other place for sitting around and socializing. There was a small desk/dining table and 4 chairs. The kitchen facility did not include an oven, but did have a dishwasher and refrigerator. The gas stove emitted a strong gas odor when in use, so we didn't do much cooking at all, just breakfast.
The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and well-furnished.
There was no computer access onsite. There was a booklet in the apartment with some local information, but there were no services from staff in terms of restaurant referrals, local maps, etc. We are very independent travelers, and knew what we wanted to see and do in the area, so this wasn't a problem for us. In order to speak with Ambra or her daughter, we called them or rang their bell; they spoke almost no English and we spoke almost no Italian, but we all were very good humored and were able to communicate as necessary. Ambra is lovely, and was as helpful as possible.
This would be a great accommodation for families, especially in the warmer weather. With a little more furnishing in the living area and a repair to the stove gas, our apartment would have been perfect. We were happy to be in the lovely countryside, off the beaten path of tour buses and crowds. Podere La Fornace was an EXCELLENT BASE for our explorations of Assisi and the small towns of Umbria.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Ojaigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assisi
7.8 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
4.8 mi away
Agriturismo Le Mandrie di San Paolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Castello
Agriturismo Il Castello
#13 of 111 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.7 mi away
Agriturismo Colle degli Olivi
1.3 mi away
Agriturismo la Panoramica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Podere La Fornace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Podere La Fornace

Property: Agriturismo Podere La Fornace
Address: Via Ombrosa 3, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Agoda so you can book your Agriturismo Podere La Fornace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere La Fornace Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing