We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were recently in this hotel. Our room was in another building separate from the reception building. Our room overlooked the countryside and the view was gorgeous. We were on a tour. Dinner at this hotel was included and was nothing to rave about. Definitely not Italian food! Breakfast was included and was good, although not sure why they try to provide American breakfast foods like scrambled wet eggs and half cooked bacon when the European breakfasts of breads, cheeses and meats, fresh fruits, cereals and yogurts are typical for Europeans. We found this at all hotels we stayed in on our tour. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Bathroom small and shower really small if you were a large person!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down the hill!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Giotto Assisi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

As "refugees" from an unsatisfactory hotel in Assisi, we had the good luck to find a reservation at Hotel Giotto for 4 nights during the week of the recent papal visit. Luca, the receptionist was very helpful and we found the hotel staff uniformly delightful. The hotel has a striking view out over the Spoleto valley and its terrace lounge is not to be missed. Sunsets are particularly thrilling. The room was modern, clean, spacious, and fully equipped. The one drawback was that chairs being dragged over the metal terrace in the late evenings were clearly transmitted to our room below. Our meal at the hotel's L'Estasi was memorable. Not only was the food delicious, the service from Constantino our waiter was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. He gave us several culinary tips, treated us to a fabulous Umbrian desert wine, and sent us off with a complimentary gift of Umbrian pasta. Grazie!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0516ValR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This hotel was fabulous. Room was very nice and the views of the valley below are incredible. The staff was very nice. It was our 25th anniversary and they put a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine in our room with a nice note. The location is nice as it is on a quiet street, but minutes walking to the center of town. Highly recommend paying the little extra to get the rooms with the patio...it was incredible.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the Room with the patio
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Assisi was one of our favorite towns in Italy! It emanates holiness and peace--just like it's most famous Patron Saint Francis. Our stay in Hotel Giotto was fantastic. We booked a room with a balcony and we were graciously upgraded to a room with a terrace. The view from the Hotel's Patio and terraces are breathtaking! Hotel Giotto's customer service is impeccable, and their restaurant's food and service was excellent. Staying here is a must if you travel to Assisi--you will not be disappointed. We can't wait to go back to Assisi and stay here again at Hotel Giotto--we think Assisi is one of the most "special towns" we have seen traveling in Italy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Assissi is a jewel; the streets are atmospheric and not too crowded by comparison with some other towns. This hotel is in a very good location for the basilica of St. Francis and the views are spectacular, especially from the veranda areas off the bar. Room was pleasant and well equipped although the décor was a little dated. Only complaint was with the noise; our room face the street and we were surprised, given how narrow the streets are, how much noise came from passing vehicles in the early hours of the morning. Would thoroughly recommend both the town and this hotel.

Room Tip: Probably best to have a room at the back where possible for both the view and to reduce noise. Rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Although it is a bit of a walk uphill to the property, it is worth the effort. It is lovely. Everyone has spoken of the view and the rooms and food. But do try out the spa for a massage. It is wonderful and so very relaxing. Fifty minutes was only 60 euro and so worth it. Also just across the street from the hotel is a small shop selling wines, olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The owner is formerly from Chicago and very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinGal920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel has amazing views over the valley. I would advise staying on a upper floor for the views. Our room was a spacious corner room overlooking the valley, the bathroom was of good size,the wifi worked sporadically, but it was included. We enjoyed sitting on the patio with a glass of wine watching the sunset. The restaurant was ok. Close to everything in the old city. Would I recommend it ? Yes, if one gets an upper floor view room. Our room was 603. The elevator only goes up two floors so we had to carry our luggage up two floors but the view was worth it.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mauisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
471 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
659 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 70 in Assisi
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 70 in Assisi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giotto Assisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giotto Assisi

Address: Via Fontebella 41, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Assisi
#1 Green Hotel in Assisi
#4 Spa Hotel in Assisi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Assisi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#7 Family Hotel in Assisi
Price Range: £95 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giotto Assisi 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giotto in the center of Assisi The location in the center of Assisi, different types of rooms, beautiful suites with all the comforts, COFFEE SHOP with a panoramic terrace overlooking the entire Umbrian valley , RESTAURANT with more than 600 seats offering typical revisited dishes, specialist in EVENTS and WEDDING. A CONFERENCE CENTER with advanced equipment and finally a SPA, directed by professionals of WELLNESS, ideal to find the balance soul - body. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Giotto Assisi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Giotto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing