We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural hideaway in the hills of Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brigolante Guest Apartments
Ranked #27 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Assisi
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural hideaway in the hills of Umbria”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Once we found it, we were very happy with the location, the accommodation (appartment Focolare), and Rebecca's helpfulness. The surroundings and views of the mountains were extremely picturesque and the location was perfect for exploring Umbria. We liked the casual atmoshpere on the farm and the comlementery wine, fruit, veggies, and home-made jam were a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
42
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Brigolante self catering accommodation is only six km from Assisi, so you can easily visit each day and yet bask in the wonderful rural atmosphere each evening. With a well equipped kitchen, we dined al-fresco most nights, in the peace of a working rural farm, with views of Subiaso.

The hostess gives a welcome that is second to none and she goes out of her way to ensure that you have everything that you need, even after receiving the complimentary farm produce to start you off, we were encouraged to 'help yourself' to the farm vegetables in season.

Hiking trails are on on the doorstep, catering for all levels. Recommended cycling routes pass the farm. This is a top location to sample Umbrian country life, whether you want to be visiting Assisi, further afield or just relax in a quiet farm environment.

Room Tip: 3 self catering apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I stayed for a week in La Stalleta at Brigolante apartments, largely on the recommendation of previous TripAdvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed.

The apartment was immaculately kept, and the property truly welcoming with all sorts of country goodies for weary travelers...breathtaking views, a garden full of veggies and herbs for the picking, various homemade liquors, friendly farm kittens, tons of information and recommendations for local sights, and perhaps best of all, the pealing bells of Assisi's churches providing a soundtrack on the hour. We also appreciated the washing machine in the apartment, and the use of laundry lines out back. Rebecca was so friendly and accessible by cell phone at all times.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy/Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

A short drive outside the historic walls of Assisi, gave me a picturesque, tranquil country home for my week stay at Brigolante apartments.

http://www.brigolante.com/apartments/focolare/

I received such a warm welcome from the owner and hostess, Rebecca. Rebecca, an American, married into an Italian family, who has owned and worked this land for centuries. Her knowledge of the area and her ability to communicate that knowledge in English was invaluable!

Her attention to detail was evident in all aspects of the stay.
There were eggs from the agriturismo's hens in a basket in my kitchen along with the garden's luscious tomatoes and sweet, green peppers along with a jar of homemade cherry jam; a cruet of the farm's own olive oil, a bottle of their vineyard's own wine and an abundance of fresh herbs available for my taking. All thoughts of cholesterol have to go out the window when you are offered the opportunity of farm fresh eggs fried in homemade olive oil. What a treat!

My apartment was spacious and so comfortable. The kitchen had everything I needed. There was a TV with BBC in English to get my news fix. There was a huge bathroom with a full size whirlpool tub and shower - very welcome after hauling my heavy luggage. There was even homemade soap and lavender sachet on the counter with plenty of towels. Lawn chairs gave me a place to view the star-filled night sky.

The agriturismo's guests were invited to a family dinner outside on the large porch where we were served a meal made from the farm's bounty -ending with that wonderful indulgence of Rebecca's tiramisu! The dinner gave all of us a chance to get to know each other while we chatted about our travels around Umbria and hearing of life in Italy from Rebecca and her family.

This was one of those experiences I like to call 'postcard moments' - where a glimpse of life in another country is 'lived' versus the typical vacation activity of visiting monuments and attractions as an observer.

The only drawback of my stay.........it was hard to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alaskaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A beautiful place winth kind and genlte hearted people. We been twice and will go again,. Diner was incredible! Course after course, all from the farm with Grandma's tender loving care.. It was a personal meal. It brought flavors of Italy out in a way like no other. I like staying on a working 500 year old ( and dating back even farther), farm! We combined it with a cooking class from Latizia on onother day. Again highly recommended for it insight into the ways and traditions of Assisi and again its flavor and personal style.. We also attended the local fesival for three days with a gradure and tradition like no other. We saw medival traditions up close and personal with over 1,000 members of this community participating and judges who were professsors at local universities in mediva history, music and art.. Our trip to Assisi was the highlight of our three weeks in Italy. Paddy Cottrell, Seattle

Room Tip: Book early- all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaddyLakeForestPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

This is the kind of place that if you were in a selfish mood you would tell no one about in case it was too popular when you chose to return. It's also the sort of place that invites reminiscences about the best holiday ever.
First off the descriptions of the property are bang on. It has just the right amount of luxury and still feels like a home.. We felt we had all the privacy we needed and yet still felt welcome and a part of the family and farm. Rebecca goes out of her way to figure out your needs and then leaves you alone to enjoy yourself. Her family dinner was above and beyond and thoroughly delightful. We enjoyed meeting her inlaws and the family.
We had a car [a must unless you are a superb walker and very solitary] and explored by day,returning each evening to La Stellata to sit, read, enjoy a glass of wine and our dinner. The catering is easy, thanks to a wonderful pasta shop ,cheese shops10 km away and an abundance of fresh produce locally....and did I mention the fresh basil from her garden? We enjoyed some great hiking, beautiful alpine flowers, superb art ,history and architecture....and of course lots of good food.
I hope we get back next year. I may never get much further in my exploration of Italy if every trip starts with a return here but I'd still be happy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roscoeBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotacachi, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

My partner and I like a quiet place to stay, from which we can drive out to explore, and be comfortable when we just want to "hang out". Brigolante was perfect! Our little apartment was lovely and comfortable. (And the price fine.) The country setting, just outside Assisi, was beautiful and charming. Our hostess Rebecca was also perfect for us - attentive and helpful when wanted, and friendly. The weekly dinners she provided "en familigia" were superb, and the opportunity to share with family and other guests very fun and appreciated. If we return to Umbria, Brigolante will be our choice!

Room Tip: Il Focalare has a little fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianSantaMariaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
5.3 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#15 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
132 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Parco dei Cavalieri
Hotel Parco dei Cavalieri
#1 of 2 in Petrignano d'Assisi
297 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country House Serena Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Sorgente del Subasio
La Sorgente del Subasio
#2 of 5 in Rivotorto
62 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
6.7 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigolante Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigolante Guest Apartments

Property: Brigolante Guest Apartments
Address: Via Costa di Trex, 31 | Vicolo della Fortezza, 2A, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Brigolante apartments are located both in the center of Assisi, Umbria and on our family's Agriturismo just outside of town. Our town apartments are in a historic palazzo right on the main Piazza del Comune, overlooking the square and the valley below. Our country apartments are in a 16th century stone farmhouse just outside Assisi in the Mount Subasio Park. Each of our six vacation apartments in Umbria provide self catering accommodations for two to four guests, making them perfect for couples, families or small groups traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brigolante Guest Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigolante Guest Apartments Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing