We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castello di Petrata
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Umbra(Assisi)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$429
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ideale(Assisi)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
386
133
22
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
133
22
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell maintained gardensbase to explorebreathtaking viewsfood and winecomfortable roomsceiling fanpeaceful placestayed nightsfamily runa great place to stayantipastihillumbrialavendercleanersrelaxationloungers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 552 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Agree with all previous travelers - location is heavenly. Views of Assisi and surrounding villages, hills, orchards are breathtaking. Grounds with variety of flowering bushes and fruit trees are well maintained. Old castle rooms are furnished with period pieces and have renovated bathrooms. Unfortunately, it ends right here.
There seems to be complete absence of management in the hotel. The building was completely abandoned during the night with all inside and outside lights turned off. We were told by the reception person that all administrative rooms will be locked but we will have one outside door opened.
In the morning, breakfast room had no attendance. At the back of the room, in the dusted corner covered by spider nets, some slim selection of items was presented. It included a big number of packaged wheat products (that's in Umbria, where fresh made bread is proudly baked daily), small water bottles, instant coffee and butter packets. There were a few cheeses and cold cuts outside with a few flies on top of them. To get freshly brewed coffee, we had to look for someone outside the breakfast room. It happened to be a bar attendant who also served as cleaning lady/receptionist.
There is a swimming pool on the property with the adjacent "spa rooms". The place was supposed to be for relaxation as the beautiful views of the valley was right below. It was a tractor and a grass cutters who disturbed the peace for more then an hour while we were trying to get some rest.
Additional cons: bath tab is tiny (even by European standards, although bathroom is of a decent size), no A/C (open windows provide breeze but 5AM multiple roosters' morning call lasting for hours forced the windows to be closed), restaurant on property is closed (seems that the focus is on big celebration parties not regular hotel guests), pillows are as hard as bricks and beds are too...
Pros: clean, isolated but close to Assisi (if all "cons" are ignored), huge territory.
The property is in desperate need of a loving owner. It could be a winner provided better care and attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovePlanAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
giuseppina35, Proprietario at Castello di Petrata, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guest
pleased to read your review , always helps us to grow and to understand that not all guests are guests for the Il Castello di Petrata .
In your review there are many contradictions and nonsense . I respond point by point to its arguments :
• The night the Country house is not abandoned , but there is a guardian who watches the hotel. How can you say that the hotel is abandoned? He has had some problems and no one has been able to help you? Is it just your consideration? The outside lights are on, as well as those in the corridors :
• Regarding the breakfast, this is not served in a corner but in a cave of natural stone ( you can see photos ) . The lady that serves the breakfast, Ms. Marisa , the flagship of our breakfasts , is always present , has been committed to serving breakfast to customers in the garden. Our buffet is very rich and the bread is made daily as sweet cakes and tarts.
• Our beautiful garden you do not get with a magic wand, it needs care and work every day. During his stay of 4 days had to endure the torture of one hour of tractor ... A park of 20 hectares of beautifully kept needs these jobs. Perhaps it would be better for your stay in a hotel in town.
• In a beautiful place in the countryside there are the roosters sing at dawn. If you book a hotel in the country can not expect more , a hotel in the middle of the city will never have the roosters that wake up ... this also depends on what type of holiday has decided to book .
• The hotel's restaurant is never closed , it is open from mid-March every day ... This is also a misinformation
• my family bought this castle was a ruin in 1997 , renovated and opened the Country House " Il Castello di Petrata " in 2002 , every stone , every detail has been placed with love and sacrifice. More than a loving owner Petrata needs of guests loving that you do not ruin a vacation to an hour of mowing ... and respecting the work of others.

...in a single review you were able to criticize the noise of the tractor and the crowing of cocks ......
Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Castello di Petrata for two nights but wish we had more time. The staff is very accommodating and helpful, the establishment is very clean, the grounds are beautiful, and the view is breathtaking. We considered staying in Assisi but were so happy that we opted to stay 10 minutes out of downtown and enjoy the quiet and beauty of the Umbrian countryside. The food was pretty good but if you'd like to dine away from the hotel they can give you a good recommendation for other restaurants. We are now trying to talk our friends who are looking into having a destination wedding into getting married here as they have all the facilities for a beautiful wedding.

Room Tip: Check in as early as you can and you might get to pick your room. They showed us the two available and allowed us to pick which we wanted. We opted for a better view rather than a bigger room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Castello di Petrata is a charming small castle perched high on the hills of beautifl Assisi. The staff are warm and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The gardens are a delight to walk around, plenty of deck chairs by the pool and little nooks to hideaway and take in the breathtaking scenery. The rooms are large and rustic with beautiful furnishings. The food is excellent, with breakfast the same. There is plently of parking. I would definately consider staying here again. Well done.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. There is beautiful scenery at every angle.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliana483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Idyllic location in the hills above Assisi. We had a very warm welcome and gained the impression immediately that the management and staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Good facilities at the hotel despite it being a converted medieval building. Exceptionally clean. Breakfast was impressive for continental standards and should even please USA visitors. Beautifully maintained gardens. Opportunity for walking and cycling. There is WIFI and even able to access in our room. Tea and coffee making facilities in our room.
Finding the hotel is easy – approaching from the West on the ss444 just as it appears you are underneath the first part of Assisi at the Ponte Grande – turn left off the road immediately before the bridge and keeping right there will be sign posting from the first part of this road to Castello di petrata.
Assisi which can be easily accessed by car. It is best to park in the main car park below the town and get the elevator up to the old town – parking is not expensive.

Room Tip: It is worthwhile paying extra for the Junior Suite – the room is large.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryO09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Castello Petrata is fantastic. We stayed there four nights and visited Assisi and trekked the surrounding countryside. Very friendly staff, who go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable. Great food -creative and healthy. They even made us and a Dutch couple special dishes (my Malaysian wife was missing rice, so they made a rice dish!) on request.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joelaing7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews