We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel Sorella Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorella Luna
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location close to the basilica of St Francis. It is quiet, very clean, well appointed. The staff are just wonderful. Breakfast is very good for Italy and the rooms have everything you need.
It is best to park in the underground car park and locate the hotel 1st as the streets are very narrow to negotiate with a vehicle. It is only a 5 minute walk from the car park.
A wonderful place to stay in Assisi.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a larger room they have suites available. You would only require this if stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    130
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
86
248
32
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This is a lovely small, friendly hotel in a narrow street in Assissi about 3 minutes walk from the basilica of St Francis - a stunning location - once you have found it!! We drove round for ages trying to follow the map and very unhelpful road signs until we left the car in the underground public car park about 7 minutes walk from the hotel. You enter up some narrow steps from the street to the reception to be greeted by a charming man who speaks very good English. He was most helpful with the bags and made us feel welcome. I have mobility problems when it comes to walking a climbing stairs and he gave me a room on the ground floor. The hotel is immaculately clean and modern and the rooms are well equipped. My only issue was that this room with disabled access although very good had a single bed which was actually a settee made up as a bed. I don't know why they could not have had a proper bed with a sprung mattress which would have been more comfortable. The breakfast room was lovely as was the selection of breads, salamis, cheeses and yogurt etc. My two travelling companions reported that their rooms were very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I found this hotel through tripadvisor.co.uk and was most satisfied with my stay there. The reasons:
a) Although being set in a historical building it is very modern, bright and polished inside.
b) While my (single) room was on the small and the bed on the narrow side it was, however, very attractive, stylish and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also up-to-date.
c) There is a rich selection of very tasty breakfast items.
d) The staff is easy-going, friendly and helpful.
e) There is free internet service.
f) It is only a stone's throw away from the Basilica di San Francesco and also conveniently located if you arrive at the bus terminal.
In sum, I found 59 Euros in high season to be a most reasonable rate - considering also what I paid at a number of other places.
The only people to whom I would not recommend this place is those with a walking disability. Because it is elevated from the street level and built on several levels there are flights of stairs to walk up and down (this actually holds true for quite some parts of Assisi).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardMainz_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Spent two days on vacation. Were looking for lodging wiin the city, but close to parking lot, and this is it. Two hundred meters from parking lot (10 euros a day, if ticket stamped by hotel). Two hundred meters from San Francesco church. Excellent location. Service is fair, rooms are a little bit samll, but we are in Italy. Breakfast is fine. Since facilities are new, eveything looks ok, however, room did not have enough places to acommodate all staff ( drawers, etc). Warning, if you have problems to climb stairs, do no go to Assisi, and if you go, you will find morr stairs to reach to the hotel. One minor issue to be easily solved: internet was hardly available in the room ( router too far away? Room 212).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juiz de Fora
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Sorella Luna is a solid hotel choice in beautiful Assisi. The hotel has been recently refurbished and as such rooms and bathroom are modern and comfortable although a bit on the small size. I do not share the opinion of others who said that breakfast is not good or that there was enough for everybody. It is ok without being remarkable. A nice touch is the computer with Internet access for guests although sometimes the conection did not work well... Location is ideal being very close to the Basilica. All in all, Hotel Sorella Luna offers a good rapport price/quality for those staying in Assisi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klapkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

This is only 200-250 metres from the basillica of San francesco on a street fillled with cafes and shops. The room is well appointed and clean with mini bar, safe and television. Although the bathroom was a little small, it was modern and clean. The hotel doesn't have a lift -so big bags may be a problem but the receptionist gave us a hand with our bags. We drove to Assisi and dropped the bags in the lower square near the basilica, my partner stayed with the bags and I drove the car to the car park (otherwise it would have been an uphill walk with bags in tow. The street only has space for one way traffic which is controlled by traffic lights and there was a spot approximately 15m uphill of the hotel where you could potentially temporarily park to drop bags off. Parking in the public car park was $10/night.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ll1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beirut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we are still travelling in europe after Hotel Maxim - bologna and Hotel Pellegrino e pace - loreto we arrived to hotel sorella luna -Assisi we stayed two night 12and 13 Mars 2013 in room 202 in this very nice hotel next to the basilic st francesco . we arrived by train from anco to assisi. arriving to the assisi train station we took the orange bus direction the basilic for 1.20 euro per person one way . arriving to the big place just under the basilic (place jean paul2) we went up little bit to find this hotel between the houses .
Luigia was there to welcome us even she send to us a welcoming e-mail informing us how to arrive to the hotel .the hotel is nice warm big white room , clean very confortable to stay in it. free wifi you can renew it every 24 hours . you feel happy when you go inside this hotel . the breakfast was very nice . this hotel is really near the basilic just 100 meter and you can go round very easily
we will come again and we will advice to our freinds .
please when you pass in assisi go and check this hotel

Room Tip: any room is nice we got one facing the street . genial
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONIREINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luigia A, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Sorella Luna, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Google Translation
Gent.mi ospiti, che cosa dirvi?
Avete già detto tutto voi!
Grazie di cuore per la vostra gentilezza, spero di avervi ancora nostri graditi ospiti.
Un cordiale saluto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella Luna

Property: Hotel Sorella Luna
Address: Via Frate Elia 5, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorella Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an exclusive position in the historical centre of Assisi just 100 meters from the Basilica OF San Francesco and strategically for visits on foot to all the historical and architectural beauties of the city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Built in a medieval building dating from the 1400’s, it was completely in March 2012, combining all the modern comforts with the particular beauty of the ancient structure.Unique for its comfort and welcome, it offers guests a rich buffet breakfast which can also be served on the splendid terrace overlooking one of the most enchanting lanes of the city leading to the Basilica of San Francesco.Free access to Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Internet point.Facilitated access for persons with disabilities. Parking at special prices nearby the structure.External laundry service on request.Our staff can organize or provide advice about tourism or food & wine itineraries in the Umbrian territory, excursions, guided visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sorella Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing