We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms moderately priced”
Review of Hotel Sorella Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sorella Luna
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here a couple of nights in January, 2014. Great time to visit Assisi by the way, sans crowds. The hotel seems to have been recently re-done. Totally modern baths--with heated towel racks no less and much larger than average (for Italy) showers. The front desk staff was most helpful in arranging a walking guide for the in-town sites and a knowledgeable tax driver for visiting San Damiano and the Eremo dei Carceri--both were great and enabled us to see pretty much all the important things in one day. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. Perfect location just steps from Saint Francis Basilica. You can stroll back up there at night, or for a late Mass, without any pre-planning. Also only steps from Piazza Giovanni Paolo II where buses from the train station stop and where there is a taxi stand.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Rosetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

The rooms were gorgeous so modern and pretty. I'm so glad I stayed longer than originally planned.

Wifi was fantastic and location of the hotel was perfect.

I adored Assisi, such a beautiful town.

My only complaint would be that it could on occasion get a little noisy as I was right next to the stairwell.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

located just metres away from the basilica, this is a minuscule yet perfectly accomplished structure, with 12 bedrooms and lots of peace.
the renovation works and decor of the old building have been carried out with taste and care. Architectural greys, magnolia and metal features add a contemporary edge to the history of the walls.
prices when I booked were very very competitive. Well done.
A special note of merit for the breakfast, usually very disappointing in many hotels. Here they make the effort of outsourcing artisan breads and local produce, fresh yoghurts, artisan cakes. Eggs also available.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vittoriaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I was traveling alone and this place was so friendly, nice, inviting. The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was nice/cute and very clean. The breakfast was awesome. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was good. They had comfy couches in the lobby to sit/wait while waiting for the taxi. The only surprise was that on Nov 30 (low season) I could only find 2 restaurants open after 6pm that were close to the hotel (walking in dark so didn't want to go far).

Room Tip: my room had a window to the main street where travelers walk up to Basilica of St Peter. I was awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sh_and_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This hotel is a lovely place, very close to the basilica. It's very clean and has a modern feel in a city where that's a little unexpected. It was a little difficult to find with our GPS but the Google maps app on my phone finally got us there, and once there it's a great location. There is no parking right by the hotel so you unload and then use a nice underground lot that is not too far away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are quite a few steps (more or less depending on where your room is located) but someone brought our bags up for us, so it was not a problem. The room is on the small side, but hey, you're in Italy. It feels brand new and has anything you would need; a mini-fridge, tv, desk, safe, full length mirror, hair dryer, shelving and a place to hang some garments. It's an open-style closet area and is more than sufficient for a few nights. If you are staying several days and want to fully unpack, it might be a little small. The bed was very comfortable; firm but not so hard that it feels like you might as well be laying on the floor, which I've experienced several times in Italy! The bathroom is again, modern and up-to-date with a nice sized shower. The bathroom itself is not large, but the space is used wisely so it's no problem. Also, I don't normally use hotel toiletries but I loved the way theirs smelled so I tried all of them and liked them a lot. Just a nice touch of something a little better than the norm, I thought. The breakfast is your typical Italian fare, cold meat slices and cheese, a few different pastries, yogurt, juices and coffee, but they did have some delicious home made jams that kicked it up a notch. They may have had eggs too, but I don't remember for sure. The breakfast room is nice and sunny, very clean too. I also noticed in their information packet that they can do a boxed lunch of some sort. We didn't partake, but I thought it was nice that they had the option. I would happily stay here again and would recommend this establishment to anyone who wants a clean place with a friendly staff and who appreciates some modern touches in an ancient city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TylerAnne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at the Sorella Luna during the recent papal visit to Assisi and were totally charmed. It is clean, modern, tasteful, and spacious. The location is steps away from the Basilica of San Francesco on a narrow Assisi street. Breakfast was delcicious and served in a charming room. The staff could not have been more helpful. As car traffic was prohibited during the pope's visit, we had trouble dropping our luggage at the door. Luigia immediately launched herself out onto the hilly road to carry our bags up. Then Alessandro helped us get front row viewing of the papal motorcade as it passed by. Luigia, Alessandro, and Camillo could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 0516ValR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful location close to the basilica of St Francis. It is quiet, very clean, well appointed. The staff are just wonderful. Breakfast is very good for Italy and the rooms have everything you need.
It is best to park in the underground car park and locate the hotel 1st as the streets are very narrow to negotiate with a vehicle. It is only a 5 minute walk from the car park.
A wonderful place to stay in Assisi.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a larger room they have suites available. You would only require this if stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donnaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#9 of 70 in Assisi
775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
3.4 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 70 in Assisi
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 70 in Assisi
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sorella Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella Luna

Address: Via Frate Elia 5, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: £53 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sorella Luna 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an exclusive position in the historical centre of Assisi just 100 meters from the Basilica OF San Francesco and strategically for visits on foot to all the historical and architectural beauties of the city, a UNESCO World Heritage site. Built in a medieval building dating from the 1400’s, it was completely in March 2012, combining all the modern comforts with the particular beauty of the ancient structure.Unique for its comfort and welcome, it offers guests a rich buffet breakfast which can also be served on the splendid terrace overlooking one of the most enchanting lanes of the city leading to the Basilica of San Francesco.Free access to Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.Internet point.Facilitated access for persons with disabilities. Parking at special prices nearby the structure.External laundry service on request.Our staff can organize or provide advice about tourism or food & wine itineraries in the Umbrian territory, excursions, guided visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sorella Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing