We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off The Beaten Path”
Review of La Fontanella

La Fontanella
Ranked #116 of 245 Restaurants in Assisi
Price range: US$18 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Garden And Beautiful Panorama
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This little restaurant wasn't easy for us to find, but well worth it. We were a party of 7 without a reservation, and Franca welcomed us without hesitation. She served Bruschetta with fresh tomato, and pepper stuffed with fig and wrapped in prosciutto to start. Two pastas...one with pesto, and one with tomato. Plenty of food to go around more than once. We were so stuffed we skipped the salad! We ate in the garden and were the only people there at that time. Our service was excellent, wine was good, atmosphere relaxing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JOAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFontanellaAssisi, Owner at La Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013
Google Translation

Grazie siete sempre i benvenuti......alla prossima
Franca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hidden on a back street in Assisi, this small restaurant and its owner Franca is worth searching out. Franca cooks what is fresh that day--there is no menu, 3 courses, and a view over the valley to die for from the patio area. The day we came we had a beautiful antipasti followed by handpicked mushroom sauce over prosciutto tortellini, and sausages sauteed with white grapes and white wine---all spectacular in their simplicity, as well as freshness. I am returning this week for lunch, since the menu is never the same, it will be a different each day. Call for reservations since she only cooks for those with reservations.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFontanellaAssisi, Owner at La Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013
Google Translation

siete sempre i benvenuti.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were delighted to find this hidden restaurant in the town of Assisi when we visited for the day. It was a weekday and we went around noon. There was almost no one there and we felt very pampered. The appetizer plate was the best we had in the region. Really nice meats and cheeses. As in all of the Umbria places the table wine was very good. Lunch was a very nice pesto dish. We relaxed for an hour and never felt rushed. We will be coming back on our next trip .

Thank izzi2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFontanellaAssisi, Owner at La Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013
Google Translation

grazie, molte grazie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We discovered this wonderful restaurant through a friend and we ate there twice ( or was it 3 times?) during our visit in December
Franca, the owner , is delightful and a wonderful cook
She would probably cook you anything you wanted
The atmosphere is warm and friendly
On reading other reviews I hear about the wonderful views. I guess I need to get back when I can enjoy those but in December it is warm and inviting
I still think about a white lasagna we had. Delicious!
And just the bread with fresh olive oil.... Exquisite
We will be back !

Thank trudles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFontanellaAssisi, Owner at La Fontanella, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013
Google Translation

Grazie mille
Franca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

When I walking in the ancient town "Assisi" .Enjoy and feel the spiritual and tranquility here. I discovered this hidden restaurant in the small alleys.....First, I am obsessed with flowers and the garden. I set outside overlooking the landscape, very relaxed .The home made food is amazing ! The bread ,salad and pasta are fresh , simple but tasty! I would like to come everyday trying many different pastas during my vacation here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SandraKao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fontanella also viewed

Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 
Assisi, Province of Perugia
Assisi, Province of Perugia
 

Been to La Fontanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing